Chevron Left
Aboriginal Worldviews and Education に戻る

トロント大学(University of Toronto) による Aboriginal Worldviews and Education の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
159件の評価
80件のレビュー

コースについて

Intended for both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal learners, this course will explore indigenous ways of knowing and how they can benefit all students. Topics include historical, social, and political issues in Aboriginal education; terminology; cultural, spiritual and philosophical themes in Aboriginal worldviews; and how Aboriginal worldviews can inform professional programs and practices, including but not limited to the field of education....

人気のレビュー

MA
2018年8月20日

A fantastic course. I learnt so much and the instructors were fantastic. I think this course is so necessary for all settler Canadians, not just those involved in or interested in education.

PB
2020年10月12日

Course material was extremely informative and very interesting. The professor and speakers were excellent! I will definitely recommend this course to both friends and colleagues.

フィルター:

Aboriginal Worldviews and Education: 1 - 25 / 79 レビュー

by Kinusan D S

2019年5月7日

This course is outdated, material needs to be refreshed. There is no coverage of the Inuit and Metis - mostly First Nation.

by Colleen T

2020年6月3日

This course is quite short and does not include any course notes to follow along with the videos. It does contain great information but I do feel the course is somewhat dated (2010) and contains many links to youtube videos but not all of the links still exist. In hind-sight I would not have paid the course fee to do this course. If you are looking for a similar course I highly recommend the Indigenous Canada Course by the University of Alberta offered through Coursera.

by Jonathan G

2019年12月14日

Very dry and boring class for aboriginal studies. It would've made more sense to be more engaging rather than just predictable, dry historical facts. It would also have made more sense to have an Aboriginal professor of the Huron nation actually teach the course. Since when does a French Canadian man empathize with the suffering of Aboriginal people??

by Colton W

2020年5月22日

This course has great intentions and decent content.

But this course is NOT set up well.

The lay out of the course is clunky and full of broken links.

I have zero idea how they have a 4.7/5 star rating unless they refuse to publish negative reviews.

I have taken a course through Coursera before without any issues, but this one needs an overhaul to be worth your time.

by Melanie K

2020年4月30日

I didn't want this course to end, and I guess it's up to me know to keep the learning going. It was very timely to learn Indigenous world views around food resiliency, cooperation, respect for the land and all our relations during the pandemic when we are now seeing the issues around some of the systems we have in place that came about due to the privileging of the settler/colonizing worldview. I am very thankful to all the contributors, including those from the supplementary material. I appreciate hearing that settler/colonizer isn't a fixed identity and all of us are needed to go forward in good way. Thanks again for offering this vital learning opportunity.

by Gabriella D

2017年4月12日

Great course information and content ! Very interesting ! Unfortunately there is a peer graded assignment which 3 classmates must grade. Although two of my classmates gave me all passing grades one classmate gave me all 0's and didn't really justify why; which made me have to re submit my assignment. Thankfully 3 other amazing classmates saw the quality of my work :)

by susan p

2019年3月19日

This course should be required for everyone . Not only did I come away with understanding and compassion but also with validation that how I felt we learn best actually is a good way. thank you for enlightenment and your teachings. I am honoured to have taken part in your gift to us.

by Irina D

2019年1月26日

I absolutely loved this course! I only feel bad that it was so short! And I hope that there are other courses about Indigenous Peoples that I can take to continue my learning. Jean Paul Restoule, thank you so much! Chi miigwec!

by Colton H

2017年6月20日

The course material is useful, indepth and eye-opening. A great course explaining various views. I have a much better understanding of the culture and challenges.

by Lisa L C

2017年3月22日

I found this course was very interesting and a great learning tool and I am glad I would recommend this course to people Ni:Awen

by Frederick A

2020年11月25日

This is a great course. As a citizen of the USA I learned a great deal about both indigenous and non-indigenous Canada. Good to know where the indigenous populations are concentrated--mostly in the cities, as I discovered.

by Liz A

2020年10月5日

I have just returned to complete the quizzes for this course. It was mind blowing.. I took it on a whim (I thought it would be about Australia) It forced me to consider the impact of Residantial (Boarding) schools on myself, and its relevance to my own culture - let alone the culture of peoples, that people from this side of the water ended up treating so appallingly. This set of a whole journey of recovery - a POWERFUL response to the emotional impact of facing up to this aspect of our shared history. It was important to me to revisit the course - sadly my comments from previously have gone.. as there were a lot and it really stirred me up. In a good way. The awareness that we are all in this together is very much alive in me even more than then, but I think its been a process of also feeling that responses like actually studying are much more productive than guilt or shame or horror at what human beings can get up to - particularly when they immerse themselves in a narrow world view, that places themselves at the top, and everyone else as a lesser being. Thank you for making this course. I'd expected it to be more about culture/education instead its impact for me was about power/politics etc but no less good for that! Its rich in links and information and I would recommend to anyone regardless.

by Gina H

2020年11月18日

Aboriginal Worldviews and Education has provided me with the Aboriginal perspective of the history of several Indigenous People from pre-contact to current times. This history of what Indigenous Peoples have endured is painful but they're ability to survive and rebuild their culture is amazing! This I am so grateful for. It has given me a different way to look at approaches in teaching and learning with a rich array of examples. I found the organization well done, the lectures, reading material and videos all contributed to my own learning process. It is an excellent introduction into Aboriginal Worldviews that make a great start for non-Aboriginal people to see not only a different view of colonial history from Aboriginal perspective but also different ways of learning and teaching as well as communicating in order to make us a more inclusive and holistic society not only in education but in the medical field, the government and all other aspects of life!

by Sue G

2020年9月1日

I audited this course because, like everyone, I am stuck at home due to the pandemic, and I felt like it would be a good use of my time to learn more about Indigenous worldviews. I’m Canadian, and I feel like it’s the responsibility of every Canadian to try to better understand the history and current reality of Indigenous peoples in Canada. (I am not an educator, nor in any way professionally involved with Indigenous issues.) I loved this course and learned so much from it. It helped me to understand the history better, to better understand Indigenous worldviews and the perspectives of Indigenous peoples today, and to get a better grip on the current reality in Canada, and what justice might look like. Thank you so much to Dr. Jean-Paul Restoule and OISE / the University of Toronto, for making this amazing course available.

by Sarah J M

2018年2月19日

This course was well worth the enrollment fee. High quality material shared by an excellent professor. Made me more knowledgeable about aboriginal issues in Canada, helped me see from an aboriginal perspective, and really highlighted what a poor job our educational system in Canada does at including aboriginal content in the curriculum and how inaccurately it portrays aboriginal and colonial history. More people should take this course - it's enlightening, stereotype-destroying, and makes you think very critically about the subject matter.

by Lisa-Marie S

2020年10月2日

Really enjoyed the class and found all the extra course material very beneficial! I have recently been hired as the Elder Support Worker for Homalco First Nations in Campbell River, BC on Vancouver Island and am so grateful for the content I learned because it has really helped me to find common ground with the Elders and enabled me to be more comfortable asking culturally sensitive questions. I hope that you continue to develop more great courses such as this!

Respectfully,

Lisa-Marie Szonyi

by Maya G

2020年5月3日

I am taking the course from Israel. I am very interested learining from Indiginouse cultures and it was a great explanantion to understand where things stands. I am planing to pursude my career on enviromental education and indegounes cultures. As Iam already working from an ecovillage and permaculture education. This course made me decide that this is the path I want to follow. Thank you so much for this course to coursera, University of Toronto and Jean Paul.

by Sharon C

2020年9月20日

Thank you very much for allowing me to be part of this course. I am grateful for the lessons learned. I am happy to see the movement gaining momentum and the youth especially saying "I matter and I am standing up to make a difference" Thank you Jean-Paul and the assistants. Thank you to my colleague who recommended the course. I know that I am a lot wiser because of it.

by Neus C C

2017年5月13日

I found this course both enjoyable and thoughtful. The lectures focus on a variety of social topics to help learners get a general idea, but to me the exercises were most enlightening to really understand other foundations and ways of education.

Also, I usually do not engage in forums very much, but other people in my session raised very engaging questions :)

by Mary S

2020年4月16日

Thank you for putting together a thought provoking and informative class about the Aboriginal Worldviews and Education. Though I am not in the educational field, I found the topics interesting and compelling. I learned a lot about a topic that I am unfamiliar with that and will be looking for more content to learn more about aboriginal cultures.

by Arnie M

2020年8月6日

Being an Indigenous person myself from India, Asia, I always face this academic void to pursue courses where I can learn about Indigenous culture and issues all around the world. This course is my Beginning and I will definitely draw upon it in my further journey of exploration.I

Istrongly recommend this course.

by Irene S

2020年11月3日

I want to thank the University of Toronto for giving me and others around the world the opportunity to attend this course. It was so interesting. It increased my cultural baggage and my humanity a lot. Thanks also to Prof, Restoule for his clarity and the evident commitment in his job.

by Marion T

2020年8月9日

An excellent overview of very difficult issues. I would have appreciated a complete references list on a stand alone document. also the video transcripts could be bundled into one pdf so that students can compare the texts back and forth.

Thank you for the chance to learn this!

by okonta j o

2020年6月13日

This study is beyond my imagination,,as it exceeded my expectations and renewed a passion to study and learn more about indigenous people and their very unique cultural identity. The course is worth more than than any price tag you can ever imagine

by jessica h

2020年11月8日

This was the best course. I loved the way the information was presented and the additional resources lead me on a wonderful journey of learning and contemplation. I hope that one day I will be able to take some of these classes in person. Miigwetch!