Chevron Left
After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure に戻る

コペンハーゲン大学(University of Copenhagen) による After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
483件の評価
136件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

人気のレビュー

JY

2020年4月14日

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK

2018年10月12日

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

フィルター:

After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure: 101 - 125 / 137 レビュー

by Mohamed A

2020年4月16日

really insightful and progress and honest.

by Amr A W

2017年10月11日

Excellent course. Greetings from Egypt. ;)

by CHRISTINE M

2017年9月28日

Very interested this course. Thank you.

by Maria A V

2018年1月2日

Excellent course, excellent professor.

by Ruben B P

2017年8月31日

Extremely good class from Dr. Afsah!

by Ahmer J K

2017年11月18日

Excellent, though provoking course!

by Saad A W B

2019年10月29日

Many thanks...Very fruitful course

by Virgil H

2020年5月3日

Incredibly interesting lectures.

by JOHN Q

2017年9月20日

fun and interesting course.

by Andrea E

2020年6月19日

Excellent and brilliant!

by Sujata A

2019年2月27日

Lucid and informative.

by Katharina W

2019年2月26日

I gained enormous ins

by Glenn H

2020年5月7日

Interesting course.

by RAID A R S

2020年5月28日

Excellent course

by Abdulaziz S B

2020年1月26日

Excellent .

by Ali M H

2022年1月6日

very good

by Mahmoud E

2019年4月15日

very good

by Mona A A

2020年7月7日

good

by Antoine C

2018年1月20日

Aw

by VARUN P

2020年6月8日

The course seemed to be interesting in the starting and end but was quite boring for some time in the middle. I myself found some terms used in the course difficult as being a student from a science background. All the topics and aspects were fully covered with an unbiased approach. I would be glad to learn more from you in the future.

by Aude P

2017年12月28日

It would be better to add more illustrations, and when pictures are shown, to comment them. As it is, it is hard to read the picture caption, and listen to the speaker (even harder when one has to read the transcript)

There are some mistakes in the english transcript

by Sara A M

2018年3月29日

the course is very good,I learned a lot of information I didn't know before .

although sometimes I felt that there is generalizations, and sometimes the instructor was biased.

I think they also should add the model answer and the justification

by Ana S

2017年9月29日

The course is very interesting. It's important to understand the world we live in and it's important to understand the reasons of its current state. It's a light course, but it provides an interesting overview of the Arab exception.

by Claire B

2022年1月18日

The content of the class was very interesting ! I thought it would rely more on historical events, maybe remind more the arab Spring events. But that is my personal expectation !

Thank you for your work, Professor

by Christine J

2020年6月30日

I found the course very interesting and appreciated the references to Arab, European and American authors and scholars. However, the course does not at all emphasize the differences between Arab countries.