Chevron Left
Age of Jefferson に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による Age of Jefferson の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
286件の評価
89件のレビュー

コースについて

This course provides an overview of Thomas Jefferson's work and perspectives presented by the University of Virginia in partnership with Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. Together, UVA and Monticello are recognized internationally as a UNESCO World Heritage Site....

人気のレビュー

HM

Jul 25, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

PL

Oct 13, 2017

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

フィルター:

Age of Jefferson: 1 - 25 / 87 レビュー

by Charles E M

May 09, 2018

Thanks to this course I understand a great of the legacy of President Thomas Jefferson, and why my first cousin seven times removed, Congressman Thomas Wynns of North Carolina, was such a staunch supporter of this president. Thomas Wynns helped to begin the University of North Carolina at Chapel H

by Aubrey P

Oct 01, 2017

This was an awesome class because of the teaching methods, use, discussion and analysis of a variety of primary sources documents to dig deeper int understanding Thomas Jefferson, the man, plantation-slave owner, the politician and his thoughts about education and religion. It was very balanced in historical approach. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning more about understanding all elements that Jefferson pulled into the writing of the Declaration of independence.

by Amanda D

Jun 17, 2017

This was a great course. It was very informative and enjoyable. I liked the professor a lot. I am American and thought I knew a lot about Jefferson already, but this course really helped me consider the man from a lot of different angles and gave me a lot to think about.

by Manuela E

Oct 02, 2015

Being Australian, I knew nothing about Jefferson so I came to this course with no expectations. I found it fascinating as it explained not only about Jefferson but about the American model of Government and Americans unique view of their nation. It is sometimes puzzling to an outsider to see this super nationalism and allegiance to the Constitution and Declaration of Independence. As an aside, I wonder what Jefferson would think of the apparent obsession with the literal words of the Founding Fathers with respect to things like gun control. Very interesting indeed.

Mr Onuf is an excellent lecturer. You brought the topic alive

Thanks

by Ilanka

Sep 01, 2018

I enjoyed the course, though initially I expected more factual information. It's more of an emotional overview and, surprisingly, it allowed me to get a feel of that epoch. Lots of issues I found answers to. Great thanks to the entire team that worked to put this course together!

by Margaret C

Mar 11, 2017

Really insightful course giving a really amazing insight to the past political climate of the US, but also really shedding light on the current climate as well.

by Sharon I

Jun 12, 2017

I learned so much about Thomas Jefferson and his actual views and role in the Declaration of Independence. This course also helped me to form my own view of the issue of Mr. Jefferson and slave ownership that I can also apply with other Founding Fathers. This brief course has made me a better history teacher as well and I was happy to be able to share my new understandings with my students this past school year. It was especially satisfying to learn from a professor who is expert in this field and from the very university that Jefferson founded.

by Michael H

Apr 25, 2017

Jefferson is a fascinating, controversial, brilliant, and hugely important figure - unquestionably a "Founding Father", if you will - in our nation's history. Professor Onuf brings to light the key aspects of Jefferson's thinking, work and accomplishments, prompting this course participant to want to further explore all that he did, the challenges, and especially the people, who he was up against, his relationship with Sally Hemings and how that influenced his views regarding slavery, and much more.

by James F

Feb 21, 2019

I think it was a very interesting course . I really enjoyed Mr. Onufs lectures he is great .

by racheal h

Mar 04, 2019

This course helped me understand a man much admired for his vision and how he put it to work for America , with Democracy and Love . It goes along well with "The Written Constitution" Course that I took as well.

by Amanda

Aug 27, 2017

Absolutely LOVED this class. Professor Onuf is passionate, realistic and on the money in terms of explaining to the masses who Jefferson was and what shaped his thought process through and post-revolution. HIGHLY enjoyed this class

by Jomals M J

Feb 28, 2016

Great course

by Robyn J

Oct 08, 2017

Mr. Onuf's knowledgeable, impassioned presentation, together with the readings provided me with so much. At age 57, this was my first look at the Declaration of Independence and other important historical events. The material both challenged and encouraged me and I highly recommend this course. It's sad that we are not learning this as part of our primary education, which is where it should begin in earnest. I am looking forward to more courses on Jefferson and other history courses and would love very much to a student of Mr. Onuf's again. I am looking forward to receiving more information on the courses offered at UVA.

by James E

May 07, 2017

Thank you for an interesting, informative course.

by Ekaterina P

Aug 01, 2016

The lectures are so thought-provoking and enlightening... Thank you very much!

by Charles H

Jul 05, 2017

Professor Peter S. Onuf never deliver his course with a text, but he did with passion. Thank you sir for your guidance

by Marci A B

Oct 30, 2015

Outstanding overview of one of the most important figures in American History.

by kenneth j j

Apr 25, 2016

g

by Marco B

Oct 06, 2016

Great Course! A profound analysis of Jefferson ideal and wish for the nation to be. This course demonstrate how great, clever and wise Jefferson was. Now I can better understand what JFK said during a Nobel prize winner reunion at the White House: This is the highest concentration of intelligent in this house since Jefferson had dinner alone. Thank you for sharing this course on the net.

by Becky E

Dec 29, 2016

Excellent class! This is an overview of who Jefferson was, what he really thought and believed in, what his contradictions were and why they existed, and how the perception of him has changed through different historical periods. I thought I knew a reasonable amount of information about Jefferson and the revolutionary period, but I learned so much about the historical and cultural context of the time and how it shaped Jefferson's thoughts!

Given our current judicial system's split over whether the constitution should be regarded according to the 'originalist' intention or whether it is a living document, I was surprised to find that Jefferson himself saw it as a living document, to be reshaped by each generation. Understanding why he thought that is really essential to understanding how to think about the problem today. So this isn't just history, it's current events!

I was concerned that the course seemed to be all lecture, but by the second week I was hooked. Dr Onuf is a compelling speaker, and tries to convey who Jefferson was, the world he existed in, and get you to think about Jefferson in all his complexity. The reading material is all pertinent, and (thank you!) not overwhelming. This course is "right-sized" for an online forum. I think you could spend about an our or maybe two per week on the lectures and reading material, and do fine. You would do yourself a favor to view each lecture twice though, as there is a lot of material in each one.

I would consider retaking the course for review, and would definitely take another course from Dr. Onuf. This was terrific, and I don't say that lightly.

by Dana C

Jun 21, 2017

One of the most thought provoking classes I have ever taken. Professor is very interesting and promotes looking at Jefferson with new eyes. I was challenged and I really enthralled by the class and it helped me to contrast Jefferson and Hamilton better to understand the conflict between them. Bravo!! I would take the class again anytime.

by Kelly

Nov 28, 2015

Exceptional course! I would have enjoyed several more weeks. Dr. Onuf's style and methods in presenting the material made it possible to understand Jefferson in a way I have not understood him before. Wonderful teacher. Thank you.

by Cheryl L D

Oct 11, 2015

As a former student of UVA, it was wonderful to see the place again, listen to some of the stories we heard around "grounds" -- no campus here -- back when I was a teenager. I have followed Jefferson's life story, but Professor Onuf still manages to tell me some things I didn't know. Well researched lectures.

by H. M

Jul 25, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

by Hans G

Mar 25, 2016

I take my hat off for the passionate professor Onuf. It was a big pleasure to attend his lectures. They deepened my understanding of the American Revolution.