Chevron Left
Agriculture, Economics and Nature に戻る

西オーストラリア大学(University of Western Australia) による Agriculture, Economics and Nature の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
319件の評価
111件のレビュー

コースについて

Sound economic thinking is crucial for farmers because they depend on good economic decision making to survive. Governments depend on economic information to make good policy decisions on behalf of the community. This course will help you to contribute to better decision making by farmers, or by agencies servicing agriculture, and it will help you to understand why farmers respond to policies and economic opportunities in the ways they do. You can use this course to improve your skills and knowledge and to assess whether this is a subject that you'd like to study further. The course includes high-quality video lectures, interviews with experts, demonstrations of how to build economic models in spreadsheets, practice quizzes, and a range of recommended readings and optional readings. Assessment is by quizzes and a final exam. The key economic principles that we’ll learn about can help us understand changes that have occurred in agriculture, and support improved decision making about things like agricultural production methods, agricultural input levels, resource conservation, and the balance between agricultural production and its environmental impacts. There are literally thousands of agricultural economists around the world who work on these issues, so there is a wealth of knowledge to draw on for the course. Watch a brief video about our course here: https://youtu.be/Y8OGswUXx48...

人気のレビュー

QA
2020年7月18日

Very rich syllabus and highly interesting course. Thinking of applying for MSc. in Agric Economics, I never give it a thought until I took this course. Thanks to the University of Western AUSTRALIA.

RP
2021年7月3日

The whole course gave me economic insight of the agriculture. Also, prepared me to see the agriculture projects and products from the economic perspective's. I thoroughly enjoyed the sessions.

フィルター:

Agriculture, Economics and Nature: 1 - 25 / 111 レビュー

by Naing M T

2017年12月22日

Excellent course and presenter! I is very useful to revise important economic and environmental concepts and also to learn more agriculture. It is very useful for me.

Thanks Prof. David

by Soham A

2016年8月7日

It's a beautiful course! Not only did I learn more (than I estimated) about economics and agriculture, there was also a nice balance between theory and practical applications. The recommended readings are relatable and reinforce the content of the videos. As a teacher, Dave is careful to present both sides of any issue (for example, he presents both gylphosate as the largest used herbicide, while maintaining that it is also very controversial). Pannell Discussions are a delight to read, since they deliver the intended content without sounding like research papers, which sometimes they may actually be based upon. It's wonderful to see such researchers having the patience to blog about such issues online! At a more subtle level, things like the location choices (farms for the agricultural weeks and buildings for institutional/policy weeks), altering background music - all made enriched my experience!

Ofcourse, I think I will still have to brush up my concepts from time to time (since an online course can not replace internalization of a subject through rigorous comprehension and examination), and ofcourse I have quite a lot more to "learn" in this area (who doesn't? :P).

But the course was a very informative, balanced and highly interesting introduction for me!

by Quam A

2020年7月19日

Very rich syllabus and highly interesting course. Thinking of applying for MSc. in Agric Economics, I never give it a thought until I took this course. Thanks to the University of Western AUSTRALIA.

by Yusuf T

2019年2月6日

As an agro-food value chain and private sector development consultant and pharma and agro-food industries operations executive, this course "Agriculture, Economics and Nature" presented by Prof. David Pannell has improved my experience and knowledge. Prof. David Pannell really well-prepared the course lessons. I highly recommend this course if you want to learn modern and sustainable management of agriculture, its economy and conservation of the nature and biodiversity with key challenges and pathways, take this course on Coursera. Thank you Prof. David Pannell, University of Western Australia and Coursera.

by Comfort A

2020年7月6日

I have a passion for agriculture and providing quality foods for the less privileged. With this course I have discovered that being a good farmer goes beyond planting your seeds into the soil, but ensuring you have a good economic and agricultural plan to sustain you in all market settings.

Thanks David Panell for your insightful lectures.

by Roshan P

2021年7月4日

The whole course gave me economic insight of the agriculture. Also, prepared me to see the agriculture projects and products from the economic perspective's. I thoroughly enjoyed the sessions.

by Seema T

2020年6月26日

This was a fantastic learning experience. Professor Pannell is a brilliant teacher, researcher, reasoner, economist! This course was interesting, relevant and useful - I highly recommend it.

by Amos O

2020年4月4日

A wonderful course indeed. Vital concepts in agricultural economics, environment and policy aptly explained. Recommended for anyone interested in getting a grasp of the subject.

by Ehab G

2019年3月8日

This course is highly informative for a beginner. The materials provided are so useful. I enjoyed the whole learning experience as an outsider from another field of knowledge.

by Amboge S

2018年2月4日

I learnt a lot that I think it will help me in my field. Thou they are all like revision but the approach to the teaching were interesting to me.

by Farjana A

2019年3月9日

Appropriate course to know about agricultural ecomics and also about environmental concern related to agriculture....

by Alex A G

2019年3月16日

Excellent introduction to agricultural economics.

by Peter D

2019年2月10日

I enjoyed the class and it was very insightful.

by Sunidhi M

2019年3月24日

Felt very mechanical. In-depth explanation would have been more interesting.

by David T

2017年2月6日

An exceptional course. The breadth of material is wide, and yet there is a lot of detail and some quite specific instruction. The pace is good - each module covers just enough before moving on to the next topic, so it's engaging without being overwhelming. There's a good range of discussions, from economic theory, practical case studies and interviews with farmers. It builds on what I've learned elsewhere, so will be useful for real-world application.

by Debbie J

2018年9月21日

Really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot of valuable information. Having recently entered the agricultural industry as a small scale cattle producer, it was good to get a better understanding of the economics of the industry and some of the considerations for ensuring the sustainability of the environment. Pitched at the right level with very relevant content. Will be looking to do further study, possible at a more formal level. Thank you.

by J B

2017年11月23日

Excellent course and presenter. I just think that you kind of need a special calculator to do the NPV calculations and the older alternative formula should have been discussed as well (especially considering the people in Africa who do not always have the best equipment available). Thanks Prof. David!! I enjoyed your insight.

by K.A.T.K. K

2020年6月21日

I was able to get a lot of information and a good knowledge about the agriculture economic.I appreciate the introduction as well as the floating of this course.I think this course pointed out me a way to reach my goals.This course must be a great resource if someone want to touch the agriculture economic with nature.

by Pierre P D

2020年6月16日

This course is very important and cover almost entirely the agricultural economics field. Through this course I discover and learn a lot that why now I feel very improvement of my level and can discuss and exchange about agriculture issues and challenges linked to social, economic and environnemental aspects.

by Patrick K

2018年3月27日

I have a masters in Agricultural Economics and majored in resource and environmental economics. This course just summarizes my 4-year Bsc and 2 years Masters Programme. I will recommend it to anyone who wants to begin a PhD in Agricultural Economics. It is a good way to think of your project topics.

by Federico F

2016年9月25日

It's really about economics in its broader meaning: how different natural, social, and financial aspects play together to set present and future of farmers and the communities they live in.

I highly recommend this course to anyone, even if not specifically interested in agriculture economics.

by Yoza M

2017年6月26日

My field is Investments, but I have been interested in pursuing a career in Agriculture - but not really taking the next step or learning about it. Doing this course has made me 100% sure of my decision. It was quite interesting, informative and certainly educational. Thank you very much!

by Ignacio M C

2018年1月27日

David Panell great professor. The course was really interesting for me to introduce me in agricultural issues since I already had the economic background. Great to be aware about the role of nutrients and pesticides in the consideration for production planning. Thanks for this course.

by Moahludi M

2021年3月22日

Agriculture, Economics and Nature has been a great course for my arigriculture knowledge, I really enjoyed the course to the full and it will definitly add value for me in the agri-sector and the importance of how everything works hand in hand to get the best results at all cost.

by Stefano D S

2021年4月12日

What a Wonderful Course. Thanks to David and everyone else that put in huge amounts of effort to provide such an insightful and broad course. I truly learned a lot and will be implementing a lot of what I have learned here on our family farm in Brazil.