Chevron Left
Effective Altruism に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Effective Altruism の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
574件の評価
166件のレビュー

コースについて

Effective altruism is built on the simple but unsettling idea that living a fully ethical life involves doing the most good one can. In this course you will examine this idea's philosophical underpinnings; meet remarkable people who have restructured their lives in accordance with it; and think about how effective altruism can be put into practice in your own life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

JB

2018年1月22日

Excellent material on a much needed topic. The course brought together a good number of strong and important ideas, well backed by research and with very interesting and relevant guest speakers.

NR

2020年4月4日

Very insightful course, opened my eyes to the importance of an indepth analysis when considering charitable donations. Also introduced valuable resources when considering how and what to give.

フィルター:

Effective Altruism: 26 - 50 / 164 レビュー

by Lois T

2020年7月5日

Excellent way to reflect and learn on how one can be more ethical in their day to day existence:)

by Gaurav S

2020年1月11日

I could not justify giving it 5 stars because I felt that the course should have presented all the arguments in greater detail. I understand that it is called effective altruism, and not simply ethics, but I do believe that convincing me of your philosophy does necessitate both a more careful rejection of the others, as well as developing all of the arguments in sufficient detail. This was actually a reason why I left the course early on, but then decided to re-enroll -- to let Prof. Singer have a chance at presenting his own argument in a more complete manner.

The course is necessary. I agree with Prof. Singer's observation that consumerism has insufficient meaning for many, and that by trying to live more ethically, we can give meaning to, or discover meaning in our own lives.

I could not justify giving any fewer than four stars because clearly the course content is above average. Prof. Singer is passionate about the cause, is earnestly trying to build a community around it, and this shows in the content. I can certainly say that the course made me deeply reflect on my own views on the topic, and perhaps it will do the same for you.

by Shreya V

2020年5月9日

This was a pretty good course for people who are looking to become effective altruists- not so good for people who want a purely philosophical take on the concept of effective altruism. I found the readings way too long and dull and the quizzes and assignments were completely ineffective (they repeated the quiz questions in the assignments).

by Foivos I

2015年8月16日

Too many lectures, specialized audience with huge competition, not accessible by novices of philosophy and only assessed through a single peer-reviewed assignment-essay.

by Naveed A

2020年11月5日

I always had a confusion on how should one rate charities. It is clearly explained that one can evaluate different charities in a plausible manner. Another important point is that it argues that those who are well-off have a moral obligation of giving to those in need. The readings suggested in the course are a really important part of the course. The interviews with Zell Kravinsky, Julia Wise and Alexander give a different way of looking at life.

Outcome:

I will be more vigilant to evaluate the institutions that I will be donating to, even if the amount of donation is very less.

by LINGFEI L

2020年6月28日

This course is very meaningful and enlightens one's perspective of life, from the beginning we see different philosopher's opinion towards morality and ethic and step by step discover the reasonable parts and flawed or controversial thinking. There are people doing more for others, even donate a kidney to a complete stranger, all of the activities makes me review the way how we live our lives and is there anything I could do to change or help?

by Renee K

2020年11月18日

I came across this course after completing the course of 'Moralities of everyday life', and I took a keen interest in wanting to take this course being presented by professor 'Peter Singer', and I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about altruism and the little bits of philosophy included. I'd like to thank, Professor Peter Singer for making this course worth taking it was quite Good and I enjoyed it.

by Maria S A A

2020年6月15日

I liked that the course was very applicable/hands-on. It presented philosophical theories to lay the foundations before introducing to us cases or real-life examples. I particularly enjoyed the lectures on ethical careers because of the guest speakers and was engaged by their experiences and the "realness" that they were able to present to the students.

by Margarita M

2020年5月14日

This course has given me very useful tools in order to have better criteria when it comes to donating and making voluntary contributions to social impact innovative projects .

Grateful greetings to Prof. Peter Singer

by Mario B

2020年7月23日

Excellent course. I learnt a lot about charity organizations around the world and how we can help too

by Florian W

2017年12月27日

Excellent course, great experience, thank you so much to offer this course.

by Chris L

2017年9月12日

made me think, and re-think, my ideas about the right thing(s) to do

by Marisa M

2020年5月8日

Peter Singer inspired me to be a better human in this course. <3

by Samuel G B

2018年6月20日

Great course. Lots of interesting speakers and resources

by Ronald F

2016年8月17日

very complex, super challenging and helpful

by techidan

2018年6月27日

one of the best courses on coursera

by Minisha T

2015年12月22日

I love the theory in this course.

by Ross N

2020年12月21日

Very interesting and informative

by Adam S C

2020年11月3日

Enlightening and inspiring!

by Marcus D

2020年5月27日

Amazing course.

by Jurgens P

2017年1月16日

Well balanced approach that invites multiple perspectives on ultruism. I would have liked to see the objections against ultruism of Ayn Rand being addressed in the course but I suppose it is difficult to give a course that addresses all aspects of a given topic. But Ayn Rand had a definite contradictory viewpoint and it would have enhanced the class tremendously if it had been considered.

by Francine M

2020年9月5日

Although very much focused on altruism through giving to charities and less on daily life, I found this course very interesting and it certainly gave me another perspective regarding altruism and charities. Tip: I followed this course with a few friends of mine and we did a mini-Giving Game! Although we couldn't choose so we ended up doubling our money and giving to two charities.

by Caelyn M

2016年12月3日

Solid course, makes the case both for acting ethically, and for rationally choosing how to carry out those ethical activities. I had heard most of these arguments before and was already convinced by them; but if you are looking to figure out how to do more good with your life, it is a good course.

by Quentin C

2020年6月8日

Pretty good but relatively basic/introductory in it's coverage of moral philosophy - if you already know about the basics of consequentialism vs deontology, basic metaethics, etc. just skip the first and last week

by Hannah D

2016年6月7日

Audited the course. Found the information quite useful. In the quest to live an evermore ethical life, Peter Singer helps to bring light to the issues at hand in an accessible way.