Chevron Left
Effective Altruism に戻る

プリンストン大学(Princeton University) による Effective Altruism の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
561件の評価
161件のレビュー

コースについて

Effective altruism is built on the simple but unsettling idea that living a fully ethical life involves doing the most good one can. In this course you will examine this idea's philosophical underpinnings; meet remarkable people who have restructured their lives in accordance with it; and think about how effective altruism can be put into practice in your own life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

人気のレビュー

JB
2018年1月22日

Excellent material on a much needed topic. The course brought together a good number of strong and important ideas, well backed by research and with very interesting and relevant guest speakers.

NR
2020年4月4日

Very insightful course, opened my eyes to the importance of an indepth analysis when considering charitable donations. Also introduced valuable resources when considering how and what to give.

フィルター:

Effective Altruism: 126 - 150 / 159 レビュー

by Aneliq

2015年8月9日

Really influential course.

by Yijun L

2021年6月1日

Peter Singer is a LEGEND

by Basset B

2020年5月22日

great cours! thanx peter

by MTere O

2017年4月7日

The course is very good.

by Adam D K

2020年1月17日

Absolutely brilliant!

by Natalia T C

2020年5月29日

Thanks for this!!

by Eli H

2018年10月31日

Very interesting!

by Tushar k

2019年4月30日

Extraordinary.

by Ryan

2015年10月31日

Life changing

by XAVIER S M

2020年5月27日

Very Helpful

by Kamala D

2020年10月31日

Nice course

by Yessica K A C

2020年9月29日

es lo mejor

by tala

2021年3月6日

Thank you.

by George J

2020年7月29日

Brilliant!

by Gary A

2015年12月8日

I love it!

by ELMER P M P

2021年9月27日

thank you

by Sophia P

2021年11月19日

10/10

by AMJITH S

2020年6月19日

Tough

by A. J

2020年8月22日

I took this course to suppliment Professor Paul Bloom's course "Moralities of Everyday Life." That was an entertaining course, and Professor Bloom spoke of Peter Singer as having a massive influence on his ideas, so I chose to check this one out to see what it's about.I'm grateful for "Effective Altruism" course because it shined light on some important considerations that are often overlooked when deciding how to give charity. It was eye-opening and counter-cultural. He does not tell us "follow your heart to do the most good." Proffesor Singer also does not believe that empathy and seeing the people you help as individuals is necessary to do good. Instead, he believes that it is our duty to try to do what will bring the most benefit to the most people.I can see how some people might be put off by the dispassionate nature of this course's content. The "effective" in "effective altruism" is key here. If you want guidance into what charities will produce the best results, this is for you; if you are looking for guidance into how to love others indiscriminately and find the drive to work towards it in your life, I would instead recommend the course "Love as a Force for Social Justice" from Stanford.There was some discussion of the philosophy behind altrusim and morality, but this was an overall practical class. Professor Singer's brought in real life examples of people who engage in effective altrusim, and he introduced certain charities and organizations to us to learn how they operate behind the scenes. In the former cases, the lectures appeared to be recorded in his actual classes he taught, so a "live" Q&A was possible between the students and the guests.There are many information-packed reading suggestions, although reading is not required to get the course certificate. Some of the articles were easy to access online. Others, it appeared the only way to get them was in print. They were packed with facts and opinions. Although I finished the course, I'm still trying to read through all these interesting and pertinent articles.Taken as a whole, it was thought-provoking and undeniably vital in developing my strategy for how I donate to charities. However, are certain cardinal assumptions that I felt may have been overstated and simplistically presented. For example, overwhelming, the focus was on developing countries' plights (e.g. malaria, HIV/Aids, undernourishment), "effective" often seemed implicitly defined by "the number of lives saved" not improved, and the gain versus cost monetary-wise was the way that it was measured. This rubbed me the wrong way as a sustainability major; when the focus was on saving the most lives possible immediately and solely through how money is spent, it seemed to make sacrifices in other important areas- resource allocation, nested power struggles, and soil health to name a few- for fighting poverty.This is certainly a great course to begin learning about the steps you can take towards effective altruism, but it is also not an end point. The ideas presented here for making the greatest impact are just that- opinions and ideas. Use the tools and knowledge and experience and skills you have in addition to the suggestions and resources in this course to decide how you will engage in "effective altruism."Thank you for taking the time to create this, Professor Singer and all that took part.

by David D

2017年2月9日

Fairly well presented in that different points of view on the questions were put forward. I found it interesting and informative to learn how better to choose compare and charities.

Unfortunately there seems to be a dominate premise. That is this course insists one must give up the maximum part of ones income to 'charities' who will do the job to help others for you. In this I disagree and have not changed fundamentally in my perception.

Having said that, one does come away with more motivation to think about and to act more altruistically as the occasions present themselves.

by EUGENIA Q

2020年5月15日

This course allowed me to expand my way of seeing altruism. From the philosophical positions that can support it to the most practical and effective ways of carrying it out. From the what to the how, with deep and enriching experiences carried out by people and organizations. It gave me the opportunity to learn how to help others and motivated me to do it.

by Mic J

2020年5月26日

I really enjoyed this course. I did it, of course, because I already have a keen interest in philosophy and humanities, but this course has and will always help me to remember my responsibilities as a human and more importantly how and when to help. As a human, I can now better keep myself on on track when it comes to good ethics and morals. Thank you.,

by Jacqueline C

2021年3月8日

This course taught me about altruism, what the concept means and what altruism can look like in modern-day terms. It made me consider how I choose to spend money and provided resources for identifying effective charities to donate to.

by D Y

2015年10月15日

Very strong concept, to take and employ in your day to day life. I found it very vital for not for profit work.

However, substantial philosophy knowledge is needed in order to really absorb and follow the argument.

by Ira R

2020年4月5日

It was a very interesting and insightful course. I left each lecture thinking about my own life and choices, which is the point. Additionally, I found the readings useful; however, not all of the links worked.