Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Mastering Data Analysis in Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
3,011件の評価
673件のレビュー

コースについて

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

人気のレビュー

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

フィルター:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel: 51 - 75 / 656 レビュー

by Mike A

Feb 13, 2016

Excellent class. Much tougher than expected. I went in thiinking I was an Excel guru, and learned a ton.

by José G F

Jan 31, 2016

It´s an excellent courser, very dynamic and fun. You´ll learn a lot of usefull techniques to use in daily life or work

by Srinivas B

Oct 26, 2016

Excellent!

by Sreedharrao V R

Jan 08, 2018

Good starting point exercises are challenging .

by Chen X

Dec 06, 2017

hard but useful

by May

May 09, 2018

This course is good for learners to practice and apply the math method to the real case.

by konglingyu

May 27, 2018

1 start for its so hard to find data

by Amar S

Aug 13, 2017

I would recommend this course who are thinking to learn data analysis. Its your gateway to the field of data analysis.

by Manuel A

Oct 18, 2017

Excelent Course, great to introduce yourself in the world of data modeling with excel and statistics. Its not a course of excel, is a course that teaches data analytics and how to use excel as a great tool for it(I you want dynamic tables and accounting this might not be your course).

Highly recommendable, Thanks for all!

by Ndilisa M

Sep 28, 2017

Great course!

I would have liked more practical linear regression example. This course has both been challenging and informative! Thank you.

by Bharath M

Jul 04, 2017

good

by Christopher M

Aug 14, 2017

Excellent course. I came in a very good user of Microsoft Excel and have left being a much better user. Simpl

by Subrata K D

Sep 11, 2017

Nice Course. Nice Analysis.

by Javier G

Aug 08, 2017

Great Class but it could use some more detail and info for all the concepts and terminology. For example, entropy would be better understood with more detailed information about entropy and its concept.

by Squirrel M

Sep 19, 2017

Tough but good

by Ricardo B

Oct 24, 2017

Great course.

by carrie

Sep 22, 2017

useful and not too difficult. but i strongly recommend potential learners to finish part of the last week project once you've finished the former week assignment! as i didn't do this, it's really painfull to finish the final assginment consisting of several parts in a week

by Balachandra P H

May 31, 2018

The course was interesting and challenging. Professor Egger's lectures were very useful in understanding the concepts.

by Junior L

Apr 15, 2018

This course is worth taking by anyone who needs to have a better understanding of how the most efficient and best decisions in the market place are taken using Data management simply in Excel.

by Xi L

Jul 31, 2017

I don't suggest to starters without econometrics or statistics knowledge, but the course is a quite systematic with elaborate examples or templates.

by Obi N

Jul 03, 2017

I had no idea this would draw me back into the realm of mathematics I had long abandoned and made no use of. But for good reason it did. I can now apply all that maths to analyse information and generate valuable insight that can make a difference. Definitely worth taking if want to understand applied data analysis.

by Manojkumar P H

Jan 04, 2018

super courses

by Molly M

Jan 25, 2018

This course is very informative, and I am already thinking about applying the things I've learned in my work. I found that the first part of the final project was the most difficult and time-consuming part of the course. Budget extra time for it!

by Li T

Jan 01, 2016

very useful, but hopefully, there will be some slides for learning.

by Huiquan L

Jan 02, 2016

Extremely useful and easy to follow!