Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Mastering Data Analysis in Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
3,559件の評価
842件のレビュー

コースについて

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

人気のレビュー

JE
2015年10月30日

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW
2020年10月13日

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

フィルター:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel: 601 - 625 / 822 レビュー

by Apostolos Z

2020年6月29日

Nice working material, however lectures don't go into deep, so you have to do a lot of research on your own and figure out what's going on in many cases

by Runchen L

2016年8月22日

Not so good. The course explains mathematical models and Excel applications but both are not detailed. There are many mistakes in PPTs and assignments.

by Isabel F

2020年7月23日

I think that this course was a great overview, but it wasn't that clear on how it all tied together and i don't think there was enough practice given.

by Luis F

2018年2月26日

It is great for learning statistics, but not so much Excel. Also, it doesn't prepare you very well for the final project, so pay attention to class!

by Alejandro A

2018年5月28日

Week 4 is chaotic, it leaves much to be desired. It's quality is far a way from what it could be expected for a course endorsed by Duke University.

by Babajide I

2016年9月27日

Course only drilled down on specific aspects of excel that were inclined to regression analysis which is just one aspect used in business analysis

by Bharath P R

2020年6月20日

I found it difficult to understand some concepts and felt like some of the concepts required for some assignments were not covered deeply enough.

by CHEO Y K

2016年1月17日

This course is good, but I feel it's too difficult. It would be good to suggest 'optional' prerequisite course if there is any. Thanks Dr. Egger.

by Yiran Y

2019年8月22日

The scribble of the calculation is not helpful for learning. Would like to know more about how to build the models in excel through the videos.

by Abderrahim A

2016年12月24日

Good material but short explanation and no detail exercises and solution practices before the final test makes the test a bite hard to resolve.

by Maryam A

2020年7月12日

I am a student with a computer background. The course was good but for me, I needed more explanations on statistics and business metrics.

by Paul J L J

2017年8月20日

Needs a more cohesive approach. Topics seems to be unorganized and don't follow a good pattern. Concepts taught are very helpful though.

by 杨珺

2016年4月17日

This course has a lot to do with math and statistics and I find it really hard to follow especially when it comes to the final project.

by Shiyun S

2020年4月1日

Quiz is very difficult without mentor explainations, lots of stuff wasn't covered in lecture videos. Honestly a very frustrating class

by José L

2017年10月12日

The title of this course does not suggest the topics that are covered in this course. Anyway, the topics covered are useful .

by Harish N V

2020年4月4日

A little more emphasis should be given to the explanation of basic concepts so that beginners can also understand it easily.

by Weiliang P

2015年12月29日

The whole course has very little about excel, rather about aweful a lot of data models. The course title is very misleading.

by Despoina E

2016年2月3日

It's quite interesting, but definitely not a beginners one. I'm put off quite a bit by the exclusively financial examples

by Milan M

2016年1月21日

after the second week I droped this course...I thought it will include excel and economics knowledge but was very wrong..

by Avulapati N

2020年8月21日

The course content is great and the instructor also explained concepts well!

The course assignments are outdated tough.

by subramanian a

2016年1月9日

The later part of the sessions lacks practical applicability and it is more abstract, that I find difficult to relate

by Rotimi

2016年5月7日

It's too advanced for people with no experience in statistics and sometimes too abstract to relate with

by B. A N

2020年7月2日

The course was informative but needed more examples to understand the concepts like the final example.

by Camilo E S C

2020年1月19日

Really bored... now, I want to change and they charge me more for that. what a bad service, just money

by Izayas R J

2016年2月22日

The importance of this course is huge. However, I did miss better explanation from some topics...