Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Mastering Data Analysis in Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
3,533件の評価
833件のレビュー

コースについて

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

人気のレビュー

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW

Oct 14, 2020

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

フィルター:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel: 51 - 75 / 812 レビュー

by Prasad H

Aug 17, 2016

Though the Course name is Mastering Data Analysis in Excel. This course will take you beyond Excel mastering skills. Quite a Short Course compare to amount of Statistical and Probability concepts you learn. This course covers most of the concepts and models necessary for any Data Analyst & Data Science students and Professionals. This course is quite challenging and at times frustrating and time consuming but in the end you will feel you learnt something what you don't know. It will be worth your effort.If you don't know something what you don't know. Here is the course, it is an accelerated course. You many not master all of them, you will master some, I can assure any future students Professor will give all the information and concepts that you need to master. Even after completing the exam I keep repeating and going back to videos and notes which is really valuable.

by Rod S

Sep 06, 2016

This course isn't for the faint hearted, you need a decent background in statistics, intermediate mathematics and good grounding in excel. All of these are covered well in the course but there's a lot to take in and I can imagine it being quite tough for those not so familiar. That said, the topics, examples and tools provided are exactly those required to build a good foundation in Business Analytics and I imagine, Data Science. Prof. Egger as always, delivers the course with great aplomb and shares his considerable knowledge in a wise but unassuming manner. Highly recommended.

by Ryan V

Dec 29, 2015

I learnt a lot from this course. The first week seemed very straight forward and I was worried the course was a bit too rudimentary. From there it stepped up four or five gears and I had to work hard to reinforce the concepts and apply the concepts.

A really great course for any analyst or anyone seeking the true insight in data. The discussion board is a wealth of knowledge and a good read with tutors posting very plain english easier to understand answers to questions.

by Seshadri G

Jun 28, 2017

I got to learn life skills that are essential for a data analyst. The biggest addition to my knowledge via this course would have to be binary classification and entropy. Although I was familiar with the theory of probability and statistics prior to taking this course, everything was brought into perspective or context in this course. Grateful to Prof. Egger for his enoromous efforts in recording the videos and providing the spreadsheets for our practice and future use.

by Volney P

Jun 25, 2017

This Course is awesome!

It is incredible how some concepts clearly defined and put into practice turn into a a powerful tools for data analysis... like binary classification models, confusion matrix, bayes theorem.

I am really enjoying this course... I highly recommended to everyone... thanks a lot professor Daniel Egger for sharing your knowledge with us, Coursera and Duke University for making this course available...

Hungry for more...

Volney Poulson

by Swetha J

Nov 22, 2015

Very good course. Loved Daniel's teaching. I have a request to make coming from healthcare/ lifesciences background and a starter to analytics it would be very very helpful if Daniel can include basic/ elementary videos on probability and statistics/ Bio-Statistics in this course to enable us to go deeper.

Else a separate course on BioStatistics and probability would be WOW. Looking forward for more courses from Daniel.

Thanks,

Swetha

by Md. H I S

May 28, 2017

Excellent!!!

Its has so many things to learn; from understanding the data analysis process to building actual models. This course definitely laid the foundation of basic understanding and implementation of making decision thorough data analysis.

I would recommend this course to whoever is interested in learning data analysis or is involved in rational decision making through the data analysis.

by Lucia A I

Oct 12, 2020

I liked the teaching methods and the content. You don't have to be an expert at Excel, but it requires certain experience in data analysis, algebra, and statistics, so you don't get lost when studying the content. I have an engineering's degree, so I'm not an expert in the topic, but I was interested and I feel satisfied with the knowledge I obtained and the challenges in the final project.

by Pavel K

Aug 23, 2018

This course really improved my modelling and analysis skills. Apart from basic excel tools it gives an overview on very powerful statistic/predictive instruments. Statistics, probability theory, binary classification are taught in very exciting and easy to perceive way. Course project was not easy, but it took me to the next level of understanding. I cannot recommend this course more!

by Nicolas E

Jun 10, 2016

Very important course if you want to know more about data analysis. Fascinating materials (Markowitz optimisation, linear regression, information gain, binary classification...) with both theoretical and practical aspects! In spite the fact you won't learn much about VBA skills, this course will definitely give you a very good basis for addressing any data analysis problem with Excel.

by Karen H

Jan 22, 2016

Very informative, and very challenging! The final project really challenges you to pull all of the concepts together in a real-world situation. That process helped solidify my understanding of the concepts.

Would have liked to have had more explanation on linear regression, but overall everything was great. I have a much more concrete understanding of the basics of data modeling.

by Jason M

Feb 23, 2016

Frankly speaking, this course is a little bit hard for me although I have studied them during my master programs. There are many formulas in the course and hardly to remember in short time. I had to review the videos several times. I'd like to recommend the professor may summarize such fomulas in one page so it's more easy to students to catch up the course.

by Baha U K S

Apr 30, 2020

I will recommend this course only to those who are really into statistics and is willing to understand in-depth statistical methods. The course title can be somewhat misleading because the course does not focus on Excel features on analyzing data, rather it focuses on statistical procedures. However, the assignments were fun to work with.

by Gabriel B

May 01, 2020

A challenging yet very rewarding class. It is important to truly understand concepts prior to moving on in the course as this will make the final project much easier to complete. I recommend doing a quick review of the math concepts used in this course as it will give you a foundation to understand the concepts introduced in the course.

by Nick

Jan 15, 2016

Excellent and reasonably challenging course. One of the courses that would be extremely hard without a solid foundation in maths.

The final project is massive and time-consuming - I didn't see it coming and was surprised, not in a good way ;) You better start working on the final assignment since the beginning of the course.

by Manuel A

Oct 18, 2017

Excelent Course, great to introduce yourself in the world of data modeling with excel and statistics. Its not a course of excel, is a course that teaches data analytics and how to use excel as a great tool for it(I you want dynamic tables and accounting this might not be your course).

Highly recommendable, Thanks for all!

by Do H L

Jun 22, 2016

Well, it'll be good if you set the expectation that you're learning information theory and binary classification in this course, with Excel being the tool by which you use to learn those concepts.

However, do not expect this course to be entirely about Excel, it is not.

With the right expectation, this is a great course!

by Dao T H

Dec 06, 2018

The course is very useful. I can learn how to build an effective binary classification model to support for my decision-making process. All learning materials, especially Excel files used in the course is very detailed, greatly assisting me in understanding what the lecturer talk about and how to calculate in Excel.

by Obi N

Jul 03, 2017

I had no idea this would draw me back into the realm of mathematics I had long abandoned and made no use of. But for good reason it did. I can now apply all that maths to analyse information and generate valuable insight that can make a difference. Definitely worth taking if want to understand applied data analysis.

by Labros V

Aug 18, 2018

Amazing course. I actually have an interview for the position of forecast modeller in a bank and I'm am to present the same subject as the project. I maybe land my new job because of this. It's challenging though. I still remember the days that I put on to complete it ( and mainly the project).

by Nan S

May 13, 2020

This course opened my view on using Excel to do advanced data analysis. But I have two recommendations, the first is that it would be better to add more supplementary on the Math-related part, esp the liner regression part. The second is that it would be better to expand the content of week1.

by Сакова А А

Jun 27, 2020

Курс оказался очень обширным и достаточно сложным. Над финальным проектом пришлось хорошо потрудиться. Очень понравилось, что все теоретические данные были подкреплены практическими кейсами. Это позволило действительно понять как применять знания на практике. Большое спасибо за курс!

by Hitesh P

Mar 12, 2020

course is great . instructor is beyond words. you need a good knowledge of mathematics and statistics for later weaks to understand course content . follow discussions also to understand concepts at broad and to know the mistakes commonly made. you will get double benefit.

by carrie

Sep 22, 2017

useful and not too difficult. but i strongly recommend potential learners to finish part of the last week project once you've finished the former week assignment! as i didn't do this, it's really painfull to finish the final assginment consisting of several parts in a week

by Yogi H C

Sep 29, 2020

The materials is extremely hard and challenging, I have to explore some aspect of the materials by my own to get a better understanding. Despite that, the forum discussion is really helpful. Thank you for the mentor and instructor for the help throughout the course