Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Mastering Data Analysis in Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
3,608件の評価
858件のレビュー

コースについて

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

人気のレビュー

JE
2015年10月30日

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW
2020年10月13日

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

フィルター:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel: 776 - 800 / 837 レビュー

by Michael M

2016年5月6日

Really wanted to take this class. Unfortunately, I believe it is more about advanced statistics then excel. It was advertised as a beginners class and that is not the case. I recommend having a significant knowledge of statistics before taking this course. I'm a 15 year senior level accounting executive and I was easily spending 10 to 15 hours a week plus watching the videos 3 or 4 times each in order to understand the content. It was very difficult to understand. Disappointing.

by Nesmary G M D

2019年12月2日

Material given is not enough for the graded quizzes questions. It would de very useful to have a guide with exercises solved with different complexities. Also, I passed various quizzes and I feel that if I face a real-life problem, I wouldn't know how to solve it, and I've seen other people writing the same in forums. Mentors hints given in week 4, are not about the actual questions of the graded quiz, and the last week I posted a question that actually hasn't been answered.

by 德伟 郑

2016年9月7日

I dislike this course because I have to complete so many assignment in one week. Instructions could have improved and slides could have improved rather than using chalkboard. Sorry there are a number of times I have to rewatch the videos and still dont understand. Hence I even have to place myself in another slot because I could not finish the assignment. Please improve on this module so that it is more enjoyable for learners who really want to learn. Thank you.

by François A

2020年7月8日

What a mess of a course!

It looks like different parts of the course were re-ordered and as a result references to exam are incorrect.

Much of the content on video doesn't match the exercises and terminology in one might not be used in the other. It's an awful course.

I tried the exam and it makes close to no sense. Decided to cancel coursera subscription as a result of taking two courses of poor quality in this specialization. Life is too short.

by Jorge O B

2019年8月21日

Muy decepcionado en la baja calidad del material entregado. Sin duda el profesor tiene un excelente manejo del tema, pero los recursos educativos utilizados son muy pobres. Muchos errores en los videos y en los cuestionarios.

Las lecciones pudieron ser mucho mas claras y fluidas usando un simple ppt, pero el uso de la tableta de dibujo de tan mala manera, hace confusas las explicaciones y poco pulcras.

by Jussi N

2017年1月9日

An absolutely dreadful course. The only things you'll end up studying are how to use the spreadsheets given and what the instructor was thinking when creating them... I can't figure out what, and there doesn't seem to be any way of finding out. The lectures were mostly stuff I learned at school and really quite easy, but I just have no idea what the final project has got to do with the lectures.

by Maria S

2016年2月25日

this course is definitely NOT for beginners. you MUST have intermediate to advanced knowledge of statistics and math. I had to resort to google and khan academy extensively just to grasp the concepts in this course. This course also does not teach you everything about excel, let alone master it. you just refer to pre made excel sheets for quizzes. thats it. Good luck figuring those out.

by Mauritz S

2017年6月14日

This course has nothing to do with data analysis in excel, but rather the mathematical concepts behind analysis in general. The only thing related to excel are the spreadsheets provided with the videos. Unfortunately, the professor never uses the spreadsheets and actually shows how to build said analysis, but rather just hands them to you and lets you figure it out with 0 guidance.

by Paula A C G

2020年10月26日

This course can not be taken by any beginner. Further, the instructor can have a lot of Knowledge but is a terrible teacher.

Is a course for advanced peers and only if you really have the knowledge and you do not need any support or you do not mind that he is not explaining how he creates the formulas and so on.

But if you are a beginner this is not the right course for you.

by lu z

2020年12月23日

The name of this course is excel,but from week2 to the final week, you almost can not see excel any more.All things are related to maths or statistics.At first, I think it is a practical course, but finally I find that it is totally not.Frankly speaking, I am very disappointed .In the end , do not waste time and money on this course.You deserve something better.

by Simeon H

2016年4月22日

This is an advanced Statistics class. Learning was chaotic, confusing, and fast paced. Strong Mathematics skills required. As icing on the cake, there is an 8 hour project at the end of the course .. and they only tell you at the end that you should have been working on this all along! Not at all what I wanted to learn or find productive in the real world.

by Shivek C

2020年7月10日

I did not like the course at all. The first week was fine but then the course only offers pre-made excel sheets where we just have to change values and pass tests. The teaching videos every week are for less than 30 minutes total and there are 2 tests for 30 mins each. How is it even fair? It is really a pain. I am sorry but I am highly disappointed.

by Nicole H

2016年1月19日

Was very frustrated with this course. Does not have a strong emphasis on Excel skills and the statistics models provided seem to be randomly chosen and poorly explained. Quizzes were interesting, but time-consuming because of the necessary extra research outside of provided lectures.

by WEI H

2020年6月29日

I don't even want to give 1 star even. The videos do not match the quizes at all. You have to put in much much more time on the useless sheets it provided, and they call it as practical experience! It's probably the worst course I've encountered on Coursera. Don't enroll it.

by Camilla O

2016年3月8日

Content is not well organized, videos are disconnected from one another, explanations are not clear, spreadsheets contain vast information that is not explained anywhere. It is been quite difficult to follow through the course and I bet many students are giving up.

by Eduardo S H

2016年1月22日

Being honest, the lessons in the course are disconnected with the weekly tests, specially for the final exam. Professor Daniel Egger and his assistan MUST improve the lessons, including examples step by step specially for the multiple linear regression su

by Ketian Y

2017年2月21日

Not very helpful for those with a solid statistical background. I prefer to use R to do the modeling things, while this course should talk more about pivot tables and existing useful financial functions which advantage over other statistical tools.

by Mohamad H

2016年7月10日

Really unhappy with how difficult and over complicated it is. I came here to learn about Excel. Pivot tables? functions? The course really loses focus and its unfortunate that I am now stuck here and cannot continue the entire specialization.

by Omarov Ü

2020年7月4日

I can't even convey my frustration. Terrible course with a terrible teacher and misleading name. At the end of the course you don't learn any practical skills in Excel. Just avoid this course if you looking for practical knowledge

by Nicole P

2015年12月12日

Very confusing lectures, he says you don´t have to have a basic level of excel to do the course but I didn´t find that true. Struggled through all of the lecture videos and the quizzes seemed to come out of left field.

by Aaisha A

2020年7月5日

No concept was shown in Excel, it was just like paper and pen, the traditional one. And the professor was eating half of the words in between. Please explain all the concepts using excel. this course is a total waste.

by Dan L

2016年1月22日

In the course info this is described as the first course in the series and that it requires no prior knowledge but the first week quiz contains questions referring to an equation 'discussed in the previous course'.

by Erik B

2016年2月11日

Given this is the third (or fourth) iteration of this course, it's telling that the errors from the original release remain in the videos and quizzes. There are other, higher-quality Data Science MOOCs available.

by Abhiroop B

2020年4月18日

The Audio is not audible properly and the course material is not explanatory. The content and the quizzes or tasks dont add up. I had to often refer to google to find the modeling ideas.