Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Mastering Data Analysis in Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
3,038件の評価
680件のレビュー

コースについて

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

人気のレビュー

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

フィルター:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel: 301 - 325 / 661 レビュー

by John J S D

Apr 11, 2017

Very useful knowledge in this course. Although, some of the quizzes require some small fixes, and there are minor mistakes in some lectures.

by Mike B

Mar 18, 2016

Difficulty (at least for me) was non-linear. Weeks 1-2 were very basic with weeks 3-4 moving into parts of stats that I don't recall from my college course so it took some extra work to apply the models.

by Paul E H

Feb 21, 2016

I found this course to be very challenging, but I am grateful for the knowledge and the new perspective. Thanks!

by Smitha

Nov 09, 2015

More worksheets and examples would help :) the course is quite dense in terms of the number of topics covered

by Chuang M

Feb 07, 2016

Good course

by Victor W

Nov 20, 2016

Course is very good! All examples are very clear and detailed. And a spreadsheet is provided to follow along during class. Only bad thing is that it was not so clear this course is heavily related to Math. Data Analysis = Math & Statistics. ;-)

by Kelly D

Mar 06, 2017

Solid class focused on the mechanics of building and evaluating binary classification models using Excel

by Georgi

Jun 28, 2017

Sometimes it was too complicated. At some moment it seemed to be too deep in statistics. But anyway very good to participate.

by Jesús

Nov 20, 2017

Very good course. It requires concentration, time and dedication but it is really satisfying after you learn and apply all the content.

by Richard P

Dec 27, 2015

Great information included. I feel like I know much more about modelling data than when I started. The quizzes can be in that without the hints on the discussion forum I don't know how I would have completed them just based on the information in the videos.

by Javier V

May 04, 2018

Nice course, could've been better explained or provide more regression models (like logistic) but good overall

by Samantha C

Sep 20, 2016

I work with excel and thousands of lines of data everyday. I found this class to be challenging

by Joe G

Oct 19, 2017

Excellent starting point for data analysis, while prior knowledge of statistics and excel are not necessary, they do help with course comprehension. Would like to see future courses expand upon what was taught here.

by Carlos V

Feb 07, 2016

Really good course, I think the most value is at the end when you are able to apply the concept learned in the final assignment

by L. E C

Dec 17, 2015

Very challenging and wish there were more exercises throughout to strengthen understanding.

by Juan P A

Dec 14, 2015

Amazing to get a grasp on the concepts! Might need further inmersion on the Excel area

by Josephine

Nov 06, 2016

I feel this is way too hard for people who are not good at math, or haven't studies math for a long time. Took me longer time to figure all questions out.

by Natalie L

Jan 14, 2016

Good content, some materials were difficult but the video lecture were rushed.

by Chen C P

Apr 30, 2017

Good for learning statistical analysis using real examples (bank credit card application) and hands on the data in the final project!

by Humberto J

Aug 22, 2017

Good course, teaches you the framework to do analysis, not so much the design of tools in Excel. Great material

by Karan S C

Jan 04, 2016

Love it

by Mallikarjun B

Sep 11, 2016

The explainations are a bit hard to follow if you are in a hurry, some times the course concepts just jump onto you. The techniques and content are really really great and very relavent, but the instructional value can be further ehnanced.

by Rebecca S

Mar 27, 2018

I learned a ton, but the course was TOUGH! You really have to hunker down, pay close attention, and take notes...sometimes even re-watch lectures more than once. I am glad I took the course. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the lectures can be tough to follow, and the quizzes and assignments have missing or misplaced information that make it difficult to get to the right answer. It takes some serious patience, reading of the supplemental material, and hints from others on the discussion forums.

by D. C

Jul 30, 2017

(Final Grade 91.4%). You will need to dedicate a time discuss course material with fellow learners, mentors, and instructors.

Update 07/29/2017 , I review the material , and they do a lot of corrections to the explanations ,

by Jason C D A

Jan 12, 2016

The course is more on analysis techniques as opposed to Excel shortcuts, tips and tricks. It certainly helps if you have a good background in algebra-level math; if you're looking for a course on how to be an Excel Power User, this might not be the best fit. Otherwise, what I learned here is useful for me. Thanks!