Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Mastering Data Analysis in Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
3,036件の評価
680件のレビュー

コースについて

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

人気のレビュー

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

フィルター:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel: 326 - 350 / 661 レビュー

by Kelly D

Mar 06, 2017

Solid class focused on the mechanics of building and evaluating binary classification models using Excel

by Joe G

Oct 19, 2017

Excellent starting point for data analysis, while prior knowledge of statistics and excel are not necessary, they do help with course comprehension. Would like to see future courses expand upon what was taught here.

by Carlos V

Feb 07, 2016

Really good course, I think the most value is at the end when you are able to apply the concept learned in the final assignment

by Richard P

Dec 27, 2015

Great information included. I feel like I know much more about modelling data than when I started. The quizzes can be in that without the hints on the discussion forum I don't know how I would have completed them just based on the information in the videos.

by Smitha

Nov 09, 2015

More worksheets and examples would help :) the course is quite dense in terms of the number of topics covered

by Humberto J

Aug 22, 2017

Good course, teaches you the framework to do analysis, not so much the design of tools in Excel. Great material

by Karan S C

Jan 04, 2016

Love it

by D. C

Jul 30, 2017

(Final Grade 91.4%). You will need to dedicate a time discuss course material with fellow learners, mentors, and instructors.

Update 07/29/2017 , I review the material , and they do a lot of corrections to the explanations ,

by Jason C D A

Jan 12, 2016

The course is more on analysis techniques as opposed to Excel shortcuts, tips and tricks. It certainly helps if you have a good background in algebra-level math; if you're looking for a course on how to be an Excel Power User, this might not be the best fit. Otherwise, what I learned here is useful for me. Thanks!

by Georgi

Jun 28, 2017

Sometimes it was too complicated. At some moment it seemed to be too deep in statistics. But anyway very good to participate.

by Maharafa I C

Nov 10, 2015

The course include structured elements and very usefull information to turn you quickly from beginner to master.

by Alan W

Aug 14, 2017

Very informative, but did not include a lot of analysis work with Excel. Not what I expected.

by Wenqi Z

Jan 05, 2016

This is more than just an Excel course. It also covers a lot of statistics and the application of statistics in Excel (with pre-built template). I think more focus on how to build things in Excel will be useful.

by Victor W

Nov 20, 2016

Course is very good! All examples are very clear and detailed. And a spreadsheet is provided to follow along during class. Only bad thing is that it was not so clear this course is heavily related to Math. Data Analysis = Math & Statistics. ;-)

by Paul E H

Feb 21, 2016

I found this course to be very challenging, but I am grateful for the knowledge and the new perspective. Thanks!

by Javier V

May 04, 2018

Nice course, could've been better explained or provide more regression models (like logistic) but good overall

by Chuang M

Feb 07, 2016

Good course

by Keith P D C

Dec 03, 2015

Most concepts are rather theoretical and it feels more like a probability and stats course. There is not much focus on excel implementation and life is made seemingly easy with all the templates provided.

by Erica M

Apr 09, 2016

Very heavy on the stats front, not so much on utilizing Excel but I learned some useful things in this class.

by Ravi D

Jan 30, 2016

Learning some great things!

by Mohtashim k

Nov 23, 2015

This course really helps in doing Analytics with the help of EXCEL

by Gerardo O

Nov 21, 2015

It will be better adding examples related with engineering cases (this is for technical people in any branch of engineering).

by Kafu A

Mar 03, 2016

Great course, just a little too technical

by Steve T

Jan 15, 2016

Good but the final project could have been setup up with better instructions.

by Bonga

Apr 19, 2016

So far i have found it useful. Most of the introduction elements are elementary but it gives you a chance to build up your knowledge and apply it as you go.