Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Mastering Data Analysis in Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
3,039件の評価
680件のレビュー

コースについて

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

人気のレビュー

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

フィルター:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel: 351 - 375 / 661 レビュー

by Chao Z

Nov 19, 2015

Good topic and resources to learn. However the business terminologies sometimes are confusing.

by Jakub K

Jun 09, 2016

Be prepared to study a lot as the material is comprehensive and vast.

by Vitalija K

Feb 17, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. Professor was very good at explaining everything. And the team was very helpful. And this course is definitely for people who already has a good backround in exel and working with data.

by Syed M R A

Jan 31, 2018

Great clarification of concepts regarding "classification algorithm" and its application in various industries. Final project is awesome but very practical and needs more clarity in videos and notes. Overall, very challenging and informative.

by Seshadri

Jan 05, 2016

I wish the duration between each week was a bit more and there was an option to chat with the faculty directly

by Magnus K J

May 03, 2017

More respect after the course than before, as I thought this would be a pretty easy Excel course, but finishing it called lot of real work and statistical and modelling understanding.

by Nelly R

Nov 21, 2015

This course is very good! The inconvenient is the lack of exercices, however, the explanation are clear and relevant; we go to the basics.

by Irene A

Jan 16, 2016

Clear and useful. But you need a text book to this course.

by Pitch

Oct 25, 2015

It's very useful to learn how excel able to handle different mathematical models

by SATEESH

Oct 18, 2016

really use full,but before this cousre we need to acquire some mathematical and statstical knowledge.

by Dayoung K

Nov 25, 2017

It's a productive course but there are quite tough projects.

by Michael N

Jul 18, 2017

This course is hard and fast paced. Expect to stretch yourself and retrace steps to complete it.

by Shanta S

Dec 15, 2016

Tougher than the first in the specialization. You have to spend time on the material to succeed. In the end a lot of the concepts were not that difficult to figure out - don't overthink things as well!

by Shiv P

Nov 22, 2016

Good Course so far. But lacks indepth explanation. Courses such as probability need to be taken prior to this

by Cliff E

May 24, 2017

Very challenging but helpful! I will hold on to and reference the course material for a long time.

by Harold

Sep 29, 2016

Too difficult for a beginner

by Jose V

Jan 30, 2017

The course is very challenging, but very interesting. I will probably suggest a bit more of staff support in the last week, specially the final project which is very challenging and demanding. A bit more of orientation will be really good.

by Deleted A

Feb 10, 2017

A bit too academic, I would like to see explanations on Excels and business cases.

by Christopher M

Oct 09, 2017

A bit ponderous at times. Lots of digression, with limited context given.

by Luca s

Mar 14, 2018

I didn't rate 5 stars because I thinck there a are a few steps Prof. need really to enter more in details giving the solution to the diffent test but I really enjoied the course

by Cheng D

Mar 23, 2018

hope there can be clear answers for each assignment in the future

by Nicholas A P

May 12, 2018

It was a great course and I learned a lot. However, I think the final project could have been more spaced out. In general, I felt like I needed more time at the end to review Excel Modeling.

by Fil T

Oct 26, 2017

The math in this course kicked my butt! It was good to be challenged by binary decision analysis. Tons of great spreadsheet resources here. In one of the quizzes, the incorrect data was given and it took me several weeks to find the correct datasheet but after I found it, everything was smooth. The videos all performed correctly.

The lectures did not exactly correlate to the quizzes, but it was enough.

by Colin R

Apr 02, 2018

Really enjoyed this course - thank you Mr Egger !!

by Dali S

Mar 08, 2018

Excellent course. I am a finance professional with limited statistics knowledge. Was able to follow the lectures. The reason for the 4 stars only is that the quizzes can be confusing with missing or misplaced information. Sometimes you have to search in the forums for hints.