Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Mastering Data Analysis in Excel の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
3,202件の評価
729件のレビュー

コースについて

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

人気のレビュー

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

フィルター:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel: 676 - 700 / 712 レビュー

by Camilla O

Mar 09, 2016

Content is not well organized, videos are disconnected from one another, explanations are not clear, spreadsheets contain vast information that is not explained anywhere. It is been quite difficult to follow through the course and I bet many students are giving up.

by Eduardo S H

Jan 22, 2016

Being honest, the lessons in the course are disconnected with the weekly tests, specially for the final exam. Professor Daniel Egger and his assistan MUST improve the lessons, including examples step by step specially for the multiple linear regression su

by Ketian Y

Feb 21, 2017

Not very helpful for those with a solid statistical background. I prefer to use R to do the modeling things, while this course should talk more about pivot tables and existing useful financial functions which advantage over other statistical tools.

by Mohamad H

Jul 10, 2016

Really unhappy with how difficult and over complicated it is. I came here to learn about Excel. Pivot tables? functions? The course really loses focus and its unfortunate that I am now stuck here and cannot continue the entire specialization.

by Nicole P

Dec 12, 2015

Very confusing lectures, he says you don´t have to have a basic level of excel to do the course but I didn´t find that true. Struggled through all of the lecture videos and the quizzes seemed to come out of left field.

by Dan L

Jan 22, 2016

In the course info this is described as the first course in the series and that it requires no prior knowledge but the first week quiz contains questions referring to an equation 'discussed in the previous course'.

by Erik B

Feb 11, 2016

Given this is the third (or fourth) iteration of this course, it's telling that the errors from the original release remain in the videos and quizzes. There are other, higher-quality Data Science MOOCs available.

by Abhiroop B

Apr 18, 2020

The Audio is not audible properly and the course material is not explanatory. The content and the quizzes or tasks dont add up. I had to often refer to google to find the modeling ideas.

by sagar c

Mar 24, 2016

The course structure is not thoughtfully prepared. There is a lot of confusion around what the instructor wants to say. The practice quizzes and course content have no match whatsoever

by YONG-YU W

Nov 15, 2015

Don't know how to apply the statistics and excel formula in real world situation. Besides, it becomes focus on approving statistics equation than teaching data analysis in excel

by Iselie I

Aug 10, 2016

En mi opinion es un tema muy interesante sin embargo cuesta entender lo que el profesor está diciendo por lo que es muy dificil llevar el ritmo del material...

by Esuene S

Apr 24, 2016

Poorly coordinated lectures. References to resources that are not provided. No response (at least, for days on end) when questions are posted on the forums

by Roberto K

Apr 13, 2016

Interesting statistical concepts, and great theory. However, the lectures and the quizzes do not prepare the student well for the final project.

by Josh H

Dec 16, 2017

Terrible course, almost no focus on Excel and the lectures were incomprehensible. Please redo this class with Dr. Borg teaching it.

by Richard C

Nov 11, 2015

Where is the course study material and are you providing a book on this subject and Excel? You have me lost.

by Aizaz S

Dec 06, 2015

absolutely one of the worst courses... I am deleting it from my list.

no slides make it harder to follow.

by Alexey E

Dec 27, 2015

the course neither explains statistics properly, nor teaches how to use excel effectively, disappointed

by Elias R F

Sep 15, 2016

This is more of an introduction to statistics lesson than one in excel... not what I had signed up for

by Alex B

Feb 06, 2017

Not enough detail and information provided in the lectures to undertake the final assessment.

by He Y

Apr 10, 2016

Really confusing and struggled a lot. The course doesn't prepare you for the final project.

by Rochelle R

Jan 06, 2016

I would not recommend this course. It was very poorly planned and seemed thrown together.

by Lalitha P

Aug 05, 2017

completely not relevant to my educational background. Highly very tough to understand.

by Michael K

Dec 03, 2016

if you do not have a background in statistics do not expect to pass this course

by Nyrola E

Nov 18, 2019

The second part of week 4 is really confusing . Poor design of the contents.

by Nitin P

Dec 12, 2015

Very poor material and instruction videos, with no logical flow or process.