Chevron Left
Managing Big Data with MySQL に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Managing Big Data with MySQL の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
stars
2,600件の評価
578件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

人気のレビュー

YJ

Aug 20, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

SJ

Nov 06, 2016

It was an Awesome course. Really enjoyed doing all the exercises. Now I feel quite confident to write any queries.\n\nSpecial Thanks to Professor Jana Schaich Borg for teaching so wonderfully!!!!!

フィルター:

Managing Big Data with MySQL: 1 - 25 / 563 レビュー

by Justin G

Oct 09, 2017

Sorry, I need to give this a course a 0 but since the review won't let me submit without scoring it, I'll give it a 1. It was designed beautifully and to maximize skill building. I really like the idea of using two different databases. However, the Teradata database was down way too long, much longer than it was up. People had to pay extra than planned to continue taking the course as a result. The instructors planned everything beautifully-except developing a backup plan in case the third party Teradata server went down, which it did. If the instructors or the university with they are affiliated have no control over this additional server, leaving the students helpless, they really should reconsider their use of materials outside of which they have direct control.

by Franklin D

Dec 14, 2017

I thought it was good overall for teaching SQL and I enjoy Jana a lot... however

biggest issues were the time taking much longer than expected and the Junyper Notebooks not functioning, giving me even more time issues.

Also some typos in the quiz answer sheets and lack of clarity in questions (when clarity is extremely important for the answer!)

by Schwinn C

Aug 29, 2018

The data sets are very hard to understand. The teacher should spend more time to explain the data set before assigning excesses and quiz with them. It took me two courses to understand what Dognition is doing (the video from the CEO is a very bad introduction, he did not explain the company very well).

When you ask questions in the course discussion forum, NO ONE answers your questions.

by Zhang J

May 27, 2017

too long for the practise and just getting too long to finish one week

by Milad R

Jan 24, 2018

The Jupyter notebook of the course had been not working for two days and I could not even see the course material in the notebook.

by Eva

Apr 11, 2017

Really bad course. Badly taught, strange choice of assignments and quiz questions. Unfortunately, I did the free trial and Coursera didn't process my cancellation so that I had to pay for a whole month for this.

Complete waste of time AND(!!!) money!

by Adam B

Jan 23, 2017

My experience with Teradata has been awful. Connection issues, latency, time outs. What should have taken 45 minutes took nearly two hours because of the load times for datasets. No clock or indication of progression for the queries.

by Venkat M K

Sep 13, 2017

pretty useless seriously

by Giulio C

Jan 09, 2019

I legitimately believe this is the best source for Data/Business Analysts who would like to learn how to use SQL for analyzing datasets. They take you through the step by step process of learning everything and also provide a lot of material (weekly quizzes and exercises) to review and truly test your understanding of what you've learnt. This course takes quite a lot of time which is great because it means that if you get through it you will have learnt a lot!

by Pablo V I

Dec 26, 2017

I recommend this course although the exercise requires more time than the average courses in Coursera. If you complete it seriously on your own you will learn a lot in order to apply it at work.

by Justin

Mar 01, 2016

It's a good class and I learned a lot. The learning curve shoots up exponentially around the fourth week. I could see this course being perfect if broken down into two classes.

by Christine D

Jul 08, 2019

The exercises force you to think deeply about what you're doing, and use a variety of useful sql logic. However the environment works against you: both environments lack the syntax highlighting that would make these questions so much easier in sql server. The Teradata environment only allows you to view about 10 lines of code without scrolling, and has no tab or autocomplete. This was fine up until the last test where some of my queries were 30 lines or more. The last week was so painful that I would recommend other learners find a different course. Such a shame because the exercises are thoughtfully designed and I did learn a lot.

by Zhu Y

Aug 04, 2018

one star for the certificate;one for let me learn basic knowledge of SQL;the website often breaks down,so is the Teredata system ;the problem-solution system is also troublesome,hard to get the solution on time, maybe it is better to set a all-time online problem solver. No answer for teredata exercise also trap me for the hint in the teredata excersise sometimes not clear. Hope advancement for this course and the better experience of users.

by Neal D

Feb 05, 2017

Poor performance of Jupyter and the wildly underestimated time commitments really sunk this one for me. The latter, especially is inexcusable. The syllabus is lopsided and, while organized, not enough thought has been given to the exercise workload.

by Anca V

Dec 11, 2016

I think this course if poorly organized. The instructor is really trying to show us that the real life data sets and databases are messy, but providing only written instructions for me it proved useless. I, for one, need to see what other people are doing and not read long pages of horrible written explanations.

I paid for the course just to be able to do the exercises, which I also think it's a minus.

All in all it didn't "ENHANCE" my career prospects, mostly because nothing useful was taught here. Wouldn't recommend anyone to pay for it.

by Ana C

May 11, 2018

I finished the course because I had to (I was exerted of paying fees) and then you agree on finishing the course. If I could I would have changed to another similar course some where else. Sorry but it is the true :)

I learned a lot not because how good is the teacher or how the course is taught but because reading a lot on internet.

I have taken many courses in coursera, so when I say this I have a reference to compare

by AHSAN H S

Sep 03, 2018

The course content is good but its very poorly arranged. I am doing exercise and often find before continuing exercise 6, please watch 'that certain' video without providing any link. I tried to find the the link and finally gave up.

You must improve your contents in a better way.

by Yannan C

Nov 07, 2018

Students need access to Teradata to complete the course, BUT the page providing login information is BROKEN. I have to quit in the middle of the course. That is a waste of our money and time!

by Luis A A

Dec 15, 2016

Nunca pude hacer los ejercicios porque mi Jupiter Notebook estaba vaciá y nadie me pudo ayudar

by Lola G

Aug 28, 2019

It's been almost two weeks that I cannot get log into Teradata. Really disappointed...

by changhao L

Aug 08, 2018

The Teradata cannot be accessed

by Oksana K

Jun 12, 2016

I found the first 4 weeks of the course amazing: just really well structured, thought-out, and delivered in a way that positions the student for success. Jana breaks the material down into digestible bits, gives you sufficient practice, and even if you don't get it, you can look at the answers to the practice questions and figure out where your thinking was incorrect.

The 5th week wasn't as well broken down, especially the last set of Teradata exercises. New concepts or ways of structuring queries were being introduced in those exercises, but there was no way to check for a correct solution if I couldn't come with one on my own (which was unfortunately half of the time). I still got a good grade on my last quiz, but I can't say that I really truly learned how to write the more complicated queries.

I would suggest that the last Teradata exercise set has more explanation or perhaps just answers that the student can refer to in order to understand why his/her line of thinking isn't working.

Otherwise, a truly fantastic course. I 100% recommend it.

by Martin G

Oct 28, 2016

Overall, great course!

I have approached other courses from other platforms and the upsides of this one here are many. The involvement of the teachers in this course is incredible in my opinion and they help a lot. The number of exercises also seems appropriate so overall the experience was great.

I definitely advise the instructors to suggest at least part of the answers to the practice exercises of week 5 (in Teradata). The gap between week 3 and 4 is a lot bigger than between week 2 and 3, of course, which is normal. Nevertheless, week 5 seems a bit like a detached exercise. I realize this must have been done for educational purposes but my instinct tells me that if I were provided with more indication I would have gone later to the discussion forums which I reckon would have been beneficial to my learning experience.

That was, in my opinion, a significant drawback but in general the course is so great I would not like to pull its rating back, so I leave 5*.

Thank you!

by David K C

Aug 29, 2016

One of the most amazing MOOC courses I have ever taken. From the start, Jana did an excellent job with building the intuition of databases in general and of SQL. The modules (weeks) are organized coherently. The datasets were realistic and challenging (in a great way).

The best aspect of this course is the MySQL exercises, built upon IPython notebook. Personally I have experience with R and Python, yet I still feel like I learned a lot from the exercises. The instructions and lessons as part of the programming exercise were clear and useful, effectively complementing the video lectures and providing hands-on experiences.

The only pity I have is that Coursera stopped providing full access to course materials and Statement of Accomplishment. But that has nothing to do with this course. The instructors seem to provided maximal opportunity for all students, including ones (like me ) who are just 'auditing'.

Overall, a five star rating is a must for this course.

by Ben G

Aug 02, 2017

This was a great course. It became challenging enough at the end to really feel like an accomplishment when completing it. My only negative comment would be about having to setup teradata and reloading jupyters database connection every exercise, but after a few times it's not a huge problem.

The forum was very useful when you get stuck, with mentors replying reasonably quickly. All in all, I was happy with the course because I frequently caught myself knowing what I was solving for and how I could get the right answer(or something resembling it). There will be some highs and lows doing this course if like me you were very unfamiliar with SQL coming in to it, but the depth it goes it to means you'll come out feeling much more confident writing queries, once you are out the other side.