Chevron Left
The Ancient Greeks に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による The Ancient Greeks の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,829件の評価
526件のレビュー

コースについて

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

人気のレビュー

AS

2018年4月22日

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

GL

2015年10月15日

Well presented, wonderful insight into the world of the ancient Greeks. I learnt a lot, and it has whetted my appetite for more. I really loved this course, and enjoyed it very much indeed

フィルター:

The Ancient Greeks: 451 - 475 / 524 レビュー

by Katherine M

2016年9月18日

I found this a really interesting course to complete. The lectures are easily digestible and help to provide context for various readings that you complete along the way. I would have liked an introductory lecture that gave an overview of some of the major themes of the course more clearly (I felt a bit at sea throughout the first topic having never studied this before. I didn't know what to pay attention to). But once we were underway, I had no trouble working out the flow of events. I really enjoyed this- thank you!

by Florencia R

2021年3月21日

It was a really nice course, I learned a lot and now I feel that I have much more organized and clear ideas about this period. The teacher was really good, I enjoyed a lot his explanations. Also the organization of the course made very easy to follow the program and the final test helped as well in the learning and the assimilation of the contents.The only thing that, in my opinion, need to be improved is the reading links because many of them didn't work. Thank you very much for your work!

by Ken K

2021年3月28日

A broad overview of Ancient Greek history from about 1500 BC to Alexander the Great. The professor is obviously qualified but seems uncomfortably self-conscious on video. The ten minutes estimated for the reading assignments are a gross underestimation if you actually attempt to complete them, and many of the links to the reference material do not work. Still, as a free course it is a pleasant alternative to a history book. The quizzes at the end of each module help focus learning.

by Elsa A

2015年9月7日

Excellent course! Very knowledgeable professor, yet easy and pleasant to follow. The programme is well structured and the content approached with some depth (considering the introductory nature of the course). I would have loved to see, though, a focus more on philosophy (pre- and post- socratic), visual arts and the Hellenistic period, as it is most of the times neglected, even in today's historical accounts. Hope to see more courses on Classical Studies soon at Coursera.

by Elizabeth O

2017年11月22日

lectures were excellent--comprehensive, well paced, interesting. I wish that there had been more of an introduction at the outset that framed what we would be learning in the course (date ranges, that it would be focused on Athens, etc.). For a learner completely new to Greek history, understanding these boundaries at the outset would have been a nice framework. Otherwise, excellent course--thank you!

by José E S V

2017年6月13日

El curso ha sido muy interesante y ameno. He aprendido mucho y sobre todo me he divertido. El profesor (los videos) ha introducido los conceptos más interesantes de forma corrrecta y el material del curso es bueno; por decir algo me hubiese gustado que alguno de los recursos fuese en español aunque entiendo que ello sea muy difícil. Me gusta la historia y solo aprendo por hobby.

by BARANIAK

2020年6月11日

Ces cours m'ont redonné une bonne vue d'ensemble sur l'histoire de la Grèce ancienne

et fait découvrir des aspects que je ne connaissais pas ou que j'avais oubliés.

Merci à notre éminent professeur pour la clarté de son exposé, son calme et sa bonne prononciation

qui m'a permis avec un sous-titrage en anglais d'améliorer ma compréhension orale de l'anglais.

by Yashvardhan A

2020年6月5日

This was one of the best online courses that I have been part of; The course was enlightening and informative and the teacher put it forward in a way that was easy to digest and interesting. The teacher himself is an interesting figure. My only complaint would be that some of the reading links that were given not viable to read or access anymore.

by David F

2015年9月10日

Good introduction to the period - balances political history with wider social and cultural topics. Well supported by original source material. Maybe the expectations of weekly reading are set a little high for many students. I personally found the sections on early Greece particularly interesting as I was least familiar with that era.

by James G

2019年6月7日

Good value for money. It provides a backbone structure for the 1000 years or so of Greek history. beware of the time requirements for the assignments - the course says a reading assignment is 10 minutes - for 100 pages of Thucydides - I often found it was more like a month! The course took me about 9 months to complete.

by Andreea D L

2015年11月15日

The course was very interesting. My recommendation would be to also include videos as resources, where possible. For example, I found videos of 'Medea' and 'Antigone' on Youtube and watched them and loved them! Since it's theater, it's completely different seeing the play than just reading it.

by Roberto G G

2020年7月16日

My only concern is about the quizzes in general. Be prepared to questions about details that aren't the most crucial thing to understand the big frame of History, nor were they emphasized in the lecture. It's a kind of a tricky question. Besides this annoying thing, the course is helpful.

by Bradford K

2017年7月12日

Very interesting course! Combined aspects of art, architecture, military conflicts, political developments, literature, and philosophy into a wide-ranging overview of ancient Greece. Helped to put a lot of things into perspective. Good use of visuals and supplemental reading material.

by Suzanne M Y

2015年10月26日

I had forgotten how much reading there is! I didn't have a lot of time, but I enjoyed the lectures a lot and it revisited my interest in history and ancient civilizations. I think I learned more from this than the Ancient Civ class I took many years ago in college! Most enjoyable!

by S. A S V

2020年12月5日

Muy difícil para mi persona. Se me dificultan mucho los nombres de personajes, lugares y guerras en griego. Ofrezco una disculpa. Las exposiciones del profesor son excelentes. Las lecturas se me dificultan por ser tan extensas y mi dificultad para leer en la computadora. Gracias.

by Felipe D

2021年3月28日

very integrated and profound course. a great experience overall. the only problem i must note is that there is no feedback in the questionaries: sometimes i had problems figuring out what was i wrong about. with that aside, i believe this was a wonderful and enlightening course.

by Sue B

2020年6月6日

I enjoyed that, but would have liked it to be longer and therefore more informative. I would particularly love more about the literature and philosophy during and after the Peloponnese war, and subsequent events e.g. Plato's trip to, and involvement with, the tyranny of Syracuse

by Kaye D

2021年11月20日

What detracted from the course was the many reading assignment broken links. You could not do the assignment because the assignment was not there. Fix this problem and you will have a great course.The lecturer was excellent. I would like to take another course from him.

by Víctor H A G

2017年6月4日

Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, es un gran profesor de historia Antigua. Su didáctica es ágil y amena, posee un adecuado manejo de los conocimientos que logra eficientemente transmitir. He aprendido mucho sobre la historia antigua de Grecia. Gracias profesor Andrew.

by Tony L

2017年8月28日

Great romp through Ancient Greece. Lectures are wonderful. Note that there is a fair amount of reading required, and the time required to get through the readings are very understated. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in this topic

by Colin H

2021年1月22日

Throughly enjoyable course & the course content was well spaced and presented. Slight annoyance at some of the background traffic noise in a few of the lectures, but this didn't spoil my overall enjoyment of the topics being discussed.

by Wendell H

2020年1月16日

I very much enjoyed the lectures and wish there were more of them. The only “criticism” I can offer is that the description of the reading assignments as requiring 10 minutes each to complete is woefully immaculate and misleading.

by Rafa M

2015年11月23日

It is a good course and the instructor is very knowledgeable on the subject. It´s just that, after a while studying about wars it seems that there´s no ending or purpose. It is a very good analisys though.

by Tyler R

2020年5月1日

Great material, but very in-depth and a bit difficult to follow for someone who has not studied this before. More review and repetition of a smaller amount of material would be beneficial.

by Ross L

2016年11月18日

Very Interesting course that covers a huge range of topics over a long period of time. A very well informed lecturer who can speak about the subject matter in a clear and concise manner.