Chevron Left
Animal Behaviour and Welfare に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Animal Behaviour and Welfare の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
4,363件の評価
1,131件のレビュー

コースについて

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

人気のレビュー

AS

2020年6月21日

This course was very informative and interesting! I enjoyed the lectures as well as the instructors and also loved that it focused on many different kinds animal welfare issues. Definitely recommend!

PR

2020年4月27日

Its a nicely designed course. It sheds light on many animal care practices and welfare. Very well instructions and quiz sessions are arranged. Many important learnings and takeaways from the course.

フィルター:

Animal Behaviour and Welfare: 976 - 1000 / 1,119 レビュー

by Thaymé R M R

2020年6月15日

Un curso excelente que nos brinda información relevante y concisa acera de la situación que viven muchos animales bajo el cuidado y responsabilidad humana, mascotas, animales de granja y animales en cautiverio ej: zoológicos, circos, etc. Resalta claramente los principales desafíos que enfrenta cada animal y lo que se necesita para ofrecerles un ambiente enriquecedor y que supla efectivamente todas sus necesidades de bienestar basándose en su comportamiento. Obviando todo mito, creencia, perspectiva y antropoformismo, y centrándonos en los sentimientos, gustos, preferencias y punto de vista del animal.

by Kym L

2021年1月29日

Well presented, clear and informative with lots of resources for self-study outside of the course.

Only 4 star however, as some of the subtitles need reworking. The majority is clear and easy to read, however there are some spelling errors and some of the words written in the subtitles are clearly not the words being spoken by the course provider - I'd assume a text-transcription software was used for this as the words sound similar but are quite obviously out of context.

Overall, I really enjoyed the course and would be happy to take another by The University of Edinburgh based on this experience.

by Shareka J

2016年10月16日

This course is great for anyone who is doing animal healthcare or any related field. It gives good principles of what is proper welfare and also the issues of negative or debative welfare. They also talk about how welfare is applied in certain countries to give realistic perspectives and thought of how the world conducts it's business in the world of animal livestock farming, or wildlife captivity. It's a real eye opener and I'd recommend people who are just generally animal lovers, professional or not, to take this course. I absolutely enjoyed it and learned new things from it!

by Kehan Y

2020年4月20日

I have learnt basic and general theory of animal welfare and the criticism of most animal welfare problem we faced today. It's generally great to hear the lectures, however, the accompanying material isn't always working and there is a lot of information missing in the pdf version... But I love this course!! It's like an introduction of animal welfare to the public. It definitely helped me to have a better understanding in the field of animal welfare and future goal. I want to give it 4.5 though there is no option of it.

by Caleb A

2018年11月16日

The course was very informative and while it may not add much to practical skills, the knowledge gained about how to properly discern animal welfare will no doubt aide any student who is taking up a career in some sort of animal care field. The material is interesting, especially the supplementary information. It's very informative in its tone and the instructors do their best to educate their students so that the students know how to make thought- out decisions on this subject.

by Joshua A

2020年5月12日

The lecturers are excellent in providing us the information we need and this course is well written. Pet animals, farm animals, and wildlife animals are put nicely in the course with additional information we can access. I think an improvement in the lecturers communication skills and their body language would make this course better and also a peer-graded assignments would be better to assess and evaluate our comprehension about animal welfare

by Brandon S

2020年9月28日

Excellent and informative course. However, it is technologically outdated (flash required course materials do not work), with seemingly no intention to update. Having used other courses that utilized Coursera (and online learning) to it's full potential, this lack of anything other than video lectures was very apparent.

Otherwise I really enjoyed it, and find myself better equipped to discuss animal welfare and behaviours in the future.

by Matthew M

2021年12月10日

Excellent and informative course on animal welfare. I was happy to see that the course does not take one single ethical approach and instead allows us to make our own opinions based on evidence-based research. I would rate this 5 stars but unfortunately some of the additional resources no longer work as they rely on Flash player which is no longer supported, and the course is not going to be updated to fix this.

by Marta S

2020年5月16日

I really liked this course! I learned a lot. I'm a biology student so I already knew that we had to do a lot to keep the animals with a good welfare, but didn't had the notion of how much we needed to do. This course really helped me to understand more about things that I hadn't even tought about, for example, how the welfare of animals are measured in a farm and how they do things. Thank you for this course! :)

by Megan T

2020年7月22日

A well-designed course; easy to follow and make notes. The questions in the assessments are phrased in such a way to make students really think about the answers, but would also have liked some essay-style/short answer questions. Was slightly disappointed to see in Week 6 that circus-kept animals are deemed acceptable by the course creators. Otherwise, this course was very enjoyable

by Taupiac M

2022年7月26日

Great introduction to animal welfare issues. I would have espected to see more scientifical experiments about good practices for pets. I also would appreciate a chapter dedicated on moral and ethical issues (with sociologists, ethologists, historians, farmers, biologists, philosophers, etc.) in order to put our global exploitation and consumption of animals into perspective.

by Jennessa P

2020年4月28日

Great course to explore the issues revolving around animal welfare in a variety of capacities. The instructors were easy to follow and a pleasure to listen to. This is a perfect course for beginners wishing to enter the field of animal care, however even as an individual with extensive knowledge of the work, I still found the course to be stimulating. Thank you team!

by daniela a

2017年8月13日

Was a didactic course and was simple to understand for those who are not experts in the subject, for those who do not study anything related to animals but want to have a closer approach to animal welfare.

In my case, I am a passionate yogi, vegan 4 years ago and for this reason I will always be in favor of welfare and animal protection.

Thank you very much.

by Dianne N

2020年7月6日

I hope you have watched the movie, "Love and Bananas."

It reveals the treatment of Asian elephants in order to ready them for the tourist industry or logging. They are beaten into submission. I was distressed to see the use of circuses and other animal entertainment as a part of Week 6. It exists, yet at the expense of the welfare of these sentient beings.

by Marisa P

2021年10月19日

The course is very informative. It has sparked a real interest in animal welfare for me. My only criticism would have to be the need for the outdated flash player plug in for some of the course material, having to read through the PDF versions doesn't give the same learning outcome. Information is outstanding, the delivery software a little outdated.

by Malak R D

2021年9月28日

The course discussed some forgotten subjects that are little talked about.

Its amazing for whomever loves animals and wants to learn some scientific information about, but there is two not very good things n=in it, first the interactive sessions, which do not work at all, next that there is some types of animals that are not discussed fully, like birds.

by Samantha H

2019年10月6日

A really interesting course that addressed the major welfare issues of a range of animals, both captive and their wild counterparts. The only thing I would say is some of the questions were worded in a way that was a bit ambiguous and the answers weren't necessarily clear based on the supporting material.

Overall thoroughly enjoyed this course!

by mypatigar

2020年7月23日

hello,

thanks for sharing your knowledge. but even on my iPad, I can not see the additional material, it is a shame that we require to use more than one device to know what's inside, and I am sure that was very interesting. For me, the best module was #5 about wildlife in captivity.

Congrats to all.

by Vanessa G O

2020年9月17日

En lo personal el curso se me hizo muy enriquecedor, ya que pude aprender muchas cosas nuevas y también pude complementar los conocimientos que tenia. Este curso también me ayudo a tener otra perspectiva acerca del bienestar animal, ya que esto va mas haya de lo que los seres humanos podemos suponer.

by Pelden N

2020年12月26日

This basics of animal behavior and welfare course has really bettered my approach towards dealing with animals. It has deepened my knowledge on the animals behaviors, and offered new windows into managing welfare from their point of view.

Thank you course era for providing the course free of cost.

by papp a

2016年11月23日

Very interesting and easy going apart of the informal and scientific based lectures. I enjoy it a lot!!

100% recommended not only for thoose who have a pet dog, but for all of us to understand better our four legged friends who live and a pat of human soceity!!! :))))

Well Done!!

by Alex M

2021年5月30日

It is an informative course which gives a broad understanding of the issues related to Animal Behavior and Welfare.

The tests are quite good and helped me in assessing my understanding. The videos were relevant and helpful in explaining the issues related to Animal Welfare.

by Candace T

2016年2月29日

Great instructors and good information. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested in aspects of animal welfare across the board, but especially for someone who is considering getting their first pet. The concepts are explained well, and easy to understand.

by Avril S

2017年7月22日

Thoroughly enjoyed this course! It was fun and continuously peaked my interest towards eithical problems regarding animals, their domestication and their roles within our society. I learned more about the meat industry aswell as certain psychological traits of animals.

by Hernando E

2020年7月21日

Very interesting course...the ethical questions are far more numerous and complex than I ever imagined they could be.

A few of the video segments were a little repetitive.

The difficulty level was appropriate for beginners in this field.

Overall a very good course.