Chevron Left
Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods に戻る

デンマーク工科大学(Technical University of Denmark(DTU)) による Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,575件の評価
357件のレビュー

コースについて

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

人気のレビュー

FH
2020年12月30日

As a microbiology student, I can say that I've learned so many theoretical and practical methods involving antimicrobial resistance as well as bacteriology in general. Huge thanks to great lecturers!

DJ
2016年11月14日

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

フィルター:

Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods: 251 - 275 / 353 レビュー

by Mintu S

2020年10月2日

Cool!!

by PRAKASH R

2020年6月2日

super

by BHUVANESHWARI S P

2020年10月20日

Good

by ABHRAJIT D

2020年9月19日

good

by Balakumaran.T

2020年7月16日

good

by Mona A A

2020年6月19日

g

o

o

d

by Utkarsha M

2020年6月25日

..

by Abhishek k

2020年6月7日

No

by Jerin T

2020年9月7日

a

by Santosh B

2020年6月23日

.

by Adhiambo L O

2017年5月2日

I enjoyed this course. It was quite informative and good in introducing some concepts for me like the QA/QC/QM topic that I was not very familiar with. A good follow-up would be to present a course on how to build laboratory capacity in this area for countries wanting to get better at AST. I would also suggest that some of the presentations be shortened particularly those which will be presented in much more detail later to avoid the doubling up of information eg like the section on methods were covered almost twice for some material. Also, I would like to suggest use of practical examples when trying to explain these concepts. I thought you presented them well but for better understanding, use practical case study examples showing how you handle the situation in the lab. For example, provide us with when these methods are applied so they are not just random.

Thank you for this course and I look forward to your follow-up course.

by Sangeeth S

2017年10月10日

Very detailed and well-explained course. Covers a wide variety of areas in microbiology from resistance mechanisms to even the importance of quality control/standardisation. I would highly reccommend this course to anyone looking to improve their understanding of antimicrobial resistance. As a side note, I was very impressed with the presentation of this course and how, despite being an 'intermediate' level course, you can easily understand and learn from it if you have at least done AS level biology or whatever the equivalent is in your country. :D

by Roshan N

2017年10月4日

A nearly perfect course hat gave me entirely new perspective on how antibiotic research are done. What I studied at my university war far less than what is presented here. Much thanks to the instructors and professors who made this course possible. Also thanks to everyone working behind the scene to make the study material available and accessible. Highly recommended to every single person who wants insights on AMR crisis and AMR research.

Eagerly waiting more course from the team and DTU.

by Alejandro M M

2017年8月14日

I´m a Microbiologist working in a clinical lab. At this moment my goal was to remember and to practice certain knowldge that is remarkable for my duty. This course help me to do exactly this but its a shame that was a bit too concentrated in the quality control and this sort of things than the actual resistance, i know its an essential part but in my opinion it doesn't fit that much. Really liked the updated topics and the useful slides. It was a pleasant experience.

by Ayse S K

2020年5月7日

Lecture and tutorial (Lina CAVACO) in the first weeks was very fluid and sincere. He even described complex issues in an illustrative way. In general, the course also provided very enlightening information about antimicrobial drugs. However, the topics in recent weeks were a bit detailed and my frequency did not match with the narrators. I would like to thank all the teachers and those who contributed to the course. Good work

by Yuri C

2017年4月10日

Good course, gives a good notion of the basics. Very technical (as in it emphasizes more the technical part of antimicrobial testing) and basic (in the theoretical part). I'm an MD student, currently on my final year. The course brought up new aspects to the antibiogram that I was oblivious about, something that I think is very important for the modern-age physician.

by Marinela V d F M

2020年6月19日

The course was very interesting, clear and objective. I learned a lot about AMR, and how to work with AMR at the laboratory and how to report the results with world, now I am more clarified in how to start working in my country in particular in my my lab with AMR.

I want to thank you the Doctors for all the lectures.

Thank you from Angola

by Alpha L

2020年11月15日

The course is beneficial to veterinarians like me who have understood the concept of AMR better. Room for improvement though includes better transcript as some transcriptions are erroneous (e.g should be ISOLATE but indicated as ISLETS. All in all a good course for those who would like to understand the importance of AMR.

by Adya S

2020年7月7日

The course of Antimicrobial resistance was indeed good. In a short span of time I have learnt great things. I personally expressed my heartfelt gratitute to Covaco ma'am and the team for the perfect demonstration and easy access to modules. Also I liked the design , the pace of lecture delivery and everything.

by Diana M

2020年10月28日

I really enjoy this course. The lectures were comprehensive and yet easy to follow. They were able to provide me with plenty of new information and guidance for my professional day to day. The last lectures were a bit too dense but nonetheless interesting.

by Nausheen F

2017年6月3日

it was a nice introduction to antimicrobial resistance and how they can be countered. Some parts of the course at the end go into detail which might get boring for someone who just wants to get basic information. Overall, a good starter course!

by Md. S H

2020年6月1日

First of all thanks to all course instructor for taking their valuable time to teach us. I have learnt many things but i would highly suggest to improve the presentation of the topic because i didn't understand some point due to its hardness.

by Malarkodi S

2018年12月27日

Loved the lectures till Week 4 given by Lina Cavaco. I have no prior background in biology hence those were easy to understand. Week 5 lectures got more technical and I could not understand them.

A great course for understanding basics!

by Francisco J Á B

2020年12月27日

I like the enthusiasm of the teachers.

Maybe they could add pieces of news where they show examples of antibiotic resistant strains appearing in the world.

Some of the links provided in the slides don't work.

by Harini S

2020年11月12日

The course focuses on the laboratory methods and understanding of practical terms than the mechanism of action of drugs and drug resistance. Overall very informative. Definitely learnt a lot of new concepts.