Chevron Left
International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
903件の評価

コースについて

‘The Arbitration of International Disputes’ is the third course of Leiden University’s series on International Law in Action. The first course covered generalities on the international courts and tribunals in The Hague, while the second course provided an insider's perspective into the work of international criminal courts and tribunals. This third course explores the major aspects of international arbitration as one of the most common method of international dispute settlement . Through this course you will gain an in-depth understanding of the various facets of international arbitration through the analysis of its role as a mechanism of dispute settlement, its institutions, the fields of law it is applicable to, and, of course, its most famous awards. The main question we will answer together during this course is "Can international arbitration contribute to the creation of a peaceful world through the settlement of disputes between States and between States and non-State actors?" In order to do so, we will learn the basic historical concepts or arbitration, as well as everything there is to know about the Permanent Court of Arbitration, based in The Hague. We will then dive into the role of international arbitration in settling disputes relating to the Law of the Sea, with a particular insight into the landmark South China Sea Arbitration. For an entire module, we will focus on investment arbitration, its principles and the procedure of the ICSID, the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes. We will conclude the course with a module on the interplay between state immunity and enforcement of arbitral awards. This is brought to light through the Yukos Arbitration which is a perfect illustration of the topic. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into international arbitration, its role and the current issues relating to it. You will gain in-depth knowledge of the principles and rules of arbitration. You will explore the topic through concrete examples and the most prominent arbitrations. You will also grasp the notion of international arbitration navigating between law and politics. International arbitration and The Hague go hand in hand: several key arbitration institutes are located in The Hague and important disputes were settled here through arbitration. The Hague is, so to speak, ‘the place to be for international arbitration’, especially when we are dealing with arbitration between States, or arbitration of investment disputes between foreign investors and States. Join us for the course and become an expert on international arbitration! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

人気のレビュー

LM

2020年5月7日

Great course to provide an overview of international arbitration. The last exercise needs to be updated with the latest info on the Yukos case, the Appels Court (18/02/2020) reinstated the PCA award.

MR

2020年1月21日

It was a wonderful course on International Arbitration by University of Leiden. Got to learn a lot. I would like to thank Coursera and University of Leiden for such a productive course.

フィルター:

International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes: 26 - 50 / 166 レビュー

by William C C

2022年6月19日

A complete outlook of the history, mechanisms, institutions, and organizations involved in the peaceful settlement of international disputes concerning diverse matters such as maritime disputes, investment disputes, commercial disputes, etc. A pool of references to leading cases, relevant regulation and proper bibliography makes this course a perfect stage to learn and apply knowledge concerning settlement of international disputes. I have nothing more than thankul words for the organisers and to Leiden Universiteit.

by Kelly B

2021年8月9日

In my opinion, this course make me understand the arbitration history, the importantation of investment arbitration, and basically all the institution of arbitration. As a future lawyer, I am expecting to be a good one and be careful at the moment to establish an arbitral clause. One thing i really loved, was learning more English in relation to law. I really recommend this course to my classmates, because it is easy to understand and very practical! Thank you so much for give me thise opportunity

by Raja S M

2022年7月17日

I am currently doing an LLM and this is the course which motivated me to take international Arbitration in my LLM module. I loved it and loved the intelligent escalation of the difficulty level. Videos were in good detail and options to download and highlighting along the video of the text was great.

I loved it and would like to take more courses, i opted for teh certificate from the start and i am happy to have secured it. An excellent course indeed.

by Muxtar K

2018年11月19日

Thank you for everything thank you very much for organizing such a chance. Thanks to this course, I gained new knowledge and information that was very useful to me. I would like most people to be aware of this course, thank you for doing something useful to people who are scared of such a system

by Esta G

2022年7月7日

This course has exposed me to the role of Arbitration in resolution of international trade dispute, the various legislations and conventions that regulate settlement of trade disputes and the enforcability of arbitral awards under these conventions and treaties.

by Ahmet S

2020年5月11日

It was the best course experience ever. Teachers are the best teachers in the field. They support us with resources and cases for us to learn. His exams were also really challenging. If you do not grasp the subject, you cannot pass the course.

by Narinder K

2020年8月1日

I really amazed to note that such experienced facilities made this tough subject so easy to understand. I really moved and learnt lot from it. The learning of International arbitration will help me a lot in my professional career

by Sukhamrinder P S

2020年7月14日

This Course on International Investment Arbitration has been fantastic learning experience. The study material is very knowledgeable and updated. The faculties are excellent and explain the module in a very simplified manner.

by Luka J

2018年11月17日

I have done the first two weeks and do recommend the course to all who have an interest in international arbitration. The course is easily accessible and provides you with an overview of all the major areas of the subject.

by Peter A O

2020年5月5日

This course has perfectly broadened my horizon with respect to international dispute settlement mechanisms especially arbitration in a very succint and concise manner. The study materials are very resourceful and wide.

by Ahmed K

2022年1月30日

it was an Excellent course with an adequate introduction to International Arbitration, including Investment Arbitration. I highly recommend this course to Everyone who is interesting in Arbitration and Investment law.

by Phenny A

2022年8月2日

you can do it at your own convenience. The lectureres are also clear and succint in their method of delivery and easy to undersatnd. Second chance for redemption of your grades as it gives you three attempts to pass

by Anubhav S

2020年8月15日

The most organized and innovative teaching skills led to an interesting journey of learning. Will always be thankful to Coursera, Leiden University, and excellent faculty for having this resourceful platform.

by jamal b

2019年12月9日

the most important course I have taken concerning about arbitration,and advise every one interesting in this subject to start,many sources and views easily to be full aware about ,just take the first step..

by PRANAB N

2021年2月8日

I find this The Arbitration of International Disputes very useful, as through the course I learned how Arbitration is conducted. The Case studies are quite useful in bringing more clarity to the lectures.

by Dwi S R

2020年8月17日

This course is totally great! I got a wonderful experience and new knowledge about the arbitration of international disputes. The explanations are communicative and insightful!

by Kaja M

2022年6月11日

I would like to thank Coursera for this superb course. Very good structure, good explaining, etc. I recommend it to anybody who whishes for a degree in Commercial law.

by Lovely B

2022年3月14日

I​ have learned a lot in this course, and this definitely made me decide to pursue my Marsters Degree in International Law. Thank you Leiden University and Coursera.

by Oyinade M B

2022年7月28日

I learned so many things about International law and the arbitration process. Really easy and just worth every time i spent taking the course. I just love it. i

by Nicholas D

2022年8月11日

This course is deeply well elaborated and provides many complementary reading that can you go further in your learn goals. I absolutelt reccommend it.

by Ehsaneddin A

2022年4月5日

A must for everyone in the international business; because like it or not, you'd be having disagreement with the other parties you're dealing with!

by Rohit K

2018年7月12日

The course content was really good and met my expectations. I am very thankful to both the instructors for designing this wonderful course

by Ender

2020年5月13日

The lecture and content of the course will be more beneficial for me in my future professional life.

Thanks for the course organisation

by Yulia S

2019年12月10日

That was an interesting course with extensive amount of new information for me and good lectures but quite simple tests. Thank you!

by taaniyaa d

2020年8月6日

It was a fantastic course. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Thank you to the Professors and Coursera for making is available to us.