Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
433件の評価
102件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors: 1 - 25 / 99 レビュー

by Francisco L

Jul 04, 2019

Very complete, to be perfect, from my point of view, the course would need less material to read and a point of dynamism.

by Eshana B

Jun 30, 2019

Not being a prior student of philosophy, or rather arts, I had a very different idea about this discipline. After taking the first week's course, I am pretty much enthusiastic about what is yet to come and look forward to learning more.

The course content seems good for me as an introduction.

Wish it included some more realistic examples from life which we can find witty and can relate to our lives.

by Antonia T B

May 18, 2019

The course is nice but it's a pity that the professor didn't start with Aristotle's ethics (which is the coolest part of his philosophy in my opinion). The first part of the course was extremely boring. The parts about Epicurus and Stoicism were very interesting. The final assignments are nor being reviewed. I finished the course and I'm still waiting to get my Certificate. That's very annoying. Also, there are no Mentors replying. That's a pity. Greetings / Antonia

by Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

by Laurent G

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

by Raimundo P J d O

Mar 14, 2019

Excelente Curso! Conteúdo, metodologia, de uma forma dinâmica e interativa, conseguir aprender o material e atingir o objetivo. Vou indicar para meus amigos!

by Kim n y

Feb 28, 2019

v

e

r

y

good

by James R B

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

by Clotilde D

Feb 02, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

by 이근영

Jan 31, 2019

Cool

by 박기현

Jan 31, 2019

g

by Eric N

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent lectures by Prof Susan Meyer. The only grouse I had was that no-one else seemed actively to be doing the course. And there were no replies by mentors.

by Sidney C

Dec 06, 2018

I enjoyed the course and treatment by the Professor. I learned a lot about this important period in philosophy. Thank you.

by Dimitris S

Nov 30, 2018

Fully satisfied. A course that provides us skills to endure our ordeals, and manage our lives.

by 김하희

Aug 11, 2018

I loved this lecture. Thank you!

by Benson H

Aug 09, 2018

Beautifully organized, this is a phenomenal tour through Aristotle's main ideas. Dr. Meyer is an expert on Aristotle, and this course is excellent for that reason!

by Vangel V

Jul 27, 2018

Excellent overview of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and Stoics. The ideas were clearly expressed in a way that makes learning easier.

by ANDRES R P D

Jun 21, 2018

I have been enriched with : Deeper comprehension of epicure’s doctrineClearer justification of “the goal of life”A better global vision of ancient Greek PhilosophyA knew view of the universe, conscience and identity BESIDESI learned a very brilliant way of teaching, high standards of didactic and pedagogic design of a syllabus and well done and attractive lectures. I also enjoyed professor grace and elegance of charming Susan S Mayer.

by Joy S

Jun 17, 2018

pretty good info. Aristotle was weird

by David M L

May 20, 2018

me ha gustado mucho aunque esté practicamente en ingles, no importa, se aprenden muchisimas cosas tanto de términos como de explicaciones, espero uno de Ortega y Gasset.

by Inga B H

May 06, 2018

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

by Charles E M

Apr 30, 2018

G

by Clare H

Mar 17, 2018

Really good overview. Information is presented in a very clearly and concisely. The pace is good, and the topics are all very interesting.

The only things I didn't like had to do with format issues: I did not find the periodic "quizzes" that interrupt the videos to be helpful. They were more frustrating than anything since they broke up the flow of the videos and didn't add anything to my understanding of the topics. And while the intro sequences to each video are high-quality, it's unnecessary to have 25 seconds dedicated to the into for *each* and *every* video. This was repetitive and frustrating, especially since the volume on the intro sequences was much louder than the rest of the video, meaning I had to either manually skip the into or adjust the volume each time. These are technical details, so I don't want them to reflect poorly on the content of the course, which is excellent. It's more a suggestion to re-edit the course videos at some point.

by Luiz F B P F

Mar 02, 2018

Amazing content. I enjoyed and lernt a lot.

by Aliaksei K

Feb 28, 2018

Philosophy is the way to understand the world by using rational structures of mind. Taking it into account, it's really important to have deep understanding of philosophical concepts and theories. The course really helps you to grasp the understanding of such kind. The lecturer explains genius ideas of ancient greek philosophers in a clear logically sequential way using excellent language. Definitely recommend!