Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
460件の評価
106件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors: 26 - 50 / 101 レビュー

by Edi d

Sep 25, 2016

I got more out of it than I had expected.

by Camilo A G R

Mar 11, 2016

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

by Virginia S

Jan 12, 2017

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

by D.Scott V

Aug 19, 2016

Very much enjoyed this course. Some areas were a review but in others I was able to gain a great deal of new insight into the philosophies that were covered. Many Thanks!

by J. Q A

Jan 21, 2017

This course gives an excellent tour of the thought of Aristotle and his successors. The course focuses on the main points of Aristotle's thought and gives the student an excellent frame work for understanding Aristotle's thought without getting lost in the details. A better course that leaves the student capable of going off and reading Aristotle on their own would be hard to produce. Great job.

by Nicolas L C

Apr 11, 2017

This is a great introduction to Ancient philosophy for all of those who want to obtain more knowledge about the invaluable legacy of the Greek miracle !

I deeply recommend this course, which brought be excellent additional material in Ancient philosophy useful to every philosophy student but also to anyone who wants to acquire in depth general knowledge of the roots of our civilisation, the whole brilliantly taught in a rigorous and entertaining fashion !

Thank you Professor Meyer !

by Simon S S

Mar 29, 2017

Excellent course with a fitting mix of challenges and material!

by ELISABETH S

May 08, 2016

more than great!!!

by George C M

Apr 19, 2016

Good course well presented and interesting.

by Jacob R

Oct 28, 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

by John D

Apr 30, 2016

The combination of this and the related Plato course are excellent.

by Angelina W

Mar 10, 2016

Formatted like the the preceding course. This one goes in depth with the later philosophers. The lectures are very detailed and in-video quizzes are engaging.

by Hanno H

Feb 17, 2017

I very much liked the course, it has a good pace and the Professor, Susan Sauvé Meyer, does a great job in presenting the material. As the course goes on material discussed before is revisited, there are running examples (so to speak) and the set up generally seems to have been well planned and constructed in advance. This is a course anyone can follow casually on the side, its fun and offers a lot. Thank you

by Wes D S

Mar 29, 2017

Loved the course!

by Deleted A

Nov 01, 2016

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

by Ying X

Mar 27, 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

by Paul C

Mar 09, 2017

Superb. En

by ABELARDO S B S

Oct 10, 2016

Excellent course for beginners. Thanks to Prof. Susan Sauvé Meyer and the Coursera staff.

by John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Very Exceptional Course

by Marco A d C S

Oct 09, 2016

I would like to thank the University faculty, especially professor Susan Meyer, for the excellent lessons offered to participants. I have learned a lot about Aristotle and the following schools. The video lessons contained a wealth of information on the subject. The participants also proved very interested in sharing their views and discussing some of the intriguing topics raised by the professor and by other participants. The course was truly outstanding.

by Russell D

Feb 07, 2017

Excellent introduction to Aristotle.

by Wei L

Jun 27, 2016

The gold of Aristotle's classic has been expertly mined out and presented in a connoisseur way for the appreciation, which give this lecture its form, or in Aristotle's term, its soul to be alive.

Professor Meyer rarely smiled, but when she did, she smiled very charmingly. ; )

by Charles E M

Apr 30, 2018

G

by JOHN Q

Mar 17, 2016

Great course. Thanks so much.

by Charlotta S R

Sep 03, 2016

great course ( part e of 2)