Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
622件の評価
172件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

AT
2021年1月10日

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG
2019年4月25日

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors: 51 - 75 / 167 レビュー

by Inga B H

2018年5月6日

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

by Mandy S

2016年6月19日

This is a great course because the great instructor shares her knowledge about Aristotle and his successors in a comprehensible and exciting manner.

by Chris P

2017年5月22日

i learned from this lecture that aristotle is true genius and I sincerely give admiration to the lecturer thanks for the work you have done

by Matthew A

2019年11月27日

I honestly looked forward to this class at the end of each work day. Modest course work and excellent lectures and discussion exercises.

by FRANCISCO D

2020年7月7日

A great survey of Aristotle and his successors. I´m very glad to have finished this course, taught by a great professor and writer.

by Vangel V

2018年7月27日

Excellent overview of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and Stoics. The ideas were clearly expressed in a way that makes learning easier.

by Deleted A

2016年10月31日

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

by Cees O

2020年3月29日

Excellent course that gives a good introduction into Aristotles thinking. Very well taught by the instructor, very clear!

by Francisco J J

2016年5月23日

Outstanding course for those who don't fear the important questions, such as: "What makes a good life?". Don't miss it!

by Todd B T

2020年12月16日

I really enjoyed this course, And with the other 2 courses in philosophy I've already taken I've really learned alot.

by Marco A S A A

2020年5月19日

It has helped me to understand the four causes and the difference between the Epicurian school and the stoic school.

by Jacob R

2016年10月27日

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

by Linda

2017年4月26日

The professor is very great, she stated clealy and intersting about Ancient Philosophy. I love very much. useful!

by Ying X

2017年3月27日

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

by Camilo A G R

2016年3月11日

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

by Хан Е И

2018年2月27日

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!

by IOANNA L

2020年5月25日

I think that this course is very useful. It helped me understanding several topics of ancient greek philosophy.

by Kayhan A

2020年5月9日

Wonderful course. Learnt a lot of information about Greek philosopher Aristotle and those that followed him.

by Annette V

2021年3月27日

This professor is awesome! She really knows what she's talking about and I love that she's not "glitzy."

by Barbara H

2021年2月26日

Excellent clear lectures. Professor is amiable, intellectually provocative, and has a sense of humor.

by Serena S

2017年1月12日

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

by Olivia R

2016年6月20日

Meyer is a great teacher and I look forward to more courses by her if she continues to release them

by Alexandre N

2020年12月20日

Excellent ! Aristote explained clearly. Stoics & Épicurians very well explained ans distinguished

by Simon M

2020年5月28日

The teacher was excellent, especially in her clear explanations of the Stoics vs the Epicureans.