Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
650件の評価
188件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

AT
2021年1月10日

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG
2019年4月25日

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors: 76 - 100 / 185 レビュー

by IOANNA L

2020年5月25日

I think that this course is very useful. It helped me understanding several topics of ancient greek philosophy.

by Kayhan A

2020年5月9日

Wonderful course. Learnt a lot of information about Greek philosopher Aristotle and those that followed him.

by Annette V

2021年3月27日

This professor is awesome! She really knows what she's talking about and I love that she's not "glitzy."

by Barbara H

2021年2月26日

Excellent clear lectures. Professor is amiable, intellectually provocative, and has a sense of humor.

by Serena S

2017年1月12日

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

by Olivia R

2016年6月20日

Meyer is a great teacher and I look forward to more courses by her if she continues to release them

by Alexandre N

2020年12月20日

Excellent ! Aristote explained clearly. Stoics & Épicurians very well explained ans distinguished

by Simon M

2020年5月28日

The teacher was excellent, especially in her clear explanations of the Stoics vs the Epicureans.

by Antonia Y

2016年3月7日

Very good professor. She explains everything clearly and is really enthusiastic about the topic.

by Dimitris S

2018年11月30日

Fully satisfied. A course that provides us skills to endure our ordeals, and manage our lives.

by Carole L P

2020年6月4日

Really great course. Learned so much about Aristotle. Good course. Glad to have taken it.

by Jamie L

2019年8月4日

awesome course!! lots of takeaways from the teacher who really makes complex theories clear.

by Kenny S

2018年2月2日

Awesome, Professor highly recommend.This class added yo my knowledge in Philosophy,Thank you

by Dimitris P

2016年10月13日

Excellent course with precious insights in the works of Aristotle, Epicurus and the stoics.

by Sajid K

2020年5月31日

Very well structured, it explains complex ideas simply. Makes philosophy very interesting!

by Erica

2017年7月24日

Excellent teacher! I can't wait to start the next part (which is actually the first one)!!

by Don E

2020年6月11日

Very informative and detailed course! I found it both interesting and thought provoking.

by Abid A

2020年6月7日

Great course , well explained, recommend to anybody who have no background in philosophy.

by ABELARDO S B S

2016年10月10日

Excellent course for beginners. Thanks to Prof. Susan Sauvé Meyer and the Coursera staff.

by Felipe V R

2016年6月14日

A fantastic course, simple, high-level and didactic, rare thing to see. congratulations!

by Feng L Y

2016年7月21日

I like the quiz between subjects in every video courses. It is really interesting.

by Ravitte K

2016年11月1日

Well done and thought provoking. Only good things to say about the professor.

by Deleted A

2016年4月16日

This is one of my top three favorite courses I've taken on Coursera so far!

by Muhammad A

2016年6月25日

This is an interesting and enjoyable course of well connected study units.

by Vaibhav A

2020年5月26日

Loved it! Such an insightful observation into Ancient Greek philosophy!