Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
621件の評価
172件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

LG
2019年4月25日

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

AT
2021年1月10日

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors: 126 - 150 / 167 レビュー

by ELISABETH S

2016年5月8日

more than great!!!

by Stephen W

2017年3月29日

Wonderful course!

by Wes D S

2017年3月29日

Loved the course!

by Cédric H

2016年4月4日

Excellent course.

by Luyao Z

2017年1月26日

Great class!

by Matthew V

2020年8月17日

I loved it!

by Paul C

2017年3月8日

Superb. En

by Abdulaziz S B

2019年12月10日

Excellent

by Kim n y

2019年2月28日

v

e

r

y

good

by Jorge G

2020年7月1日

Superb!

by 이근영

2019年1月31日

Cool

by Rajneesh T

2020年4月10日

NA

by 박기현

2019年1月31日

g

by Charles E M

2018年4月29日

G

by William ( A

2021年1月4日

Great job organizing and presenting this material. Assuming you are open to hear of possible ways to improve on an already great job, my suggestion would be to expand the Aristotle material a bit and include a discussion of his work developing syllogistic logic. In addition I believe there is an important contrast between Aristotle and Plato it would be worth illuminating-- Plato was all about deductive reasoning, and it was Aristotle, in turning Plato's worldview upside down by declaring that we can trust our senses-- i.e. it is the observable concretes that are the true source of reality and "unrecallable" knowledge. One could argue from this that the genesis of empirical research rests with Aristotle.

by Antonia T B

2019年5月18日

The course is nice but it's a pity that the professor didn't start with Aristotle's ethics (which is the coolest part of his philosophy in my opinion). The first part of the course was extremely boring. The parts about Epicurus and Stoicism were very interesting. The final assignments are nor being reviewed. I finished the course and I'm still waiting to get my Certificate. That's very annoying. Also, there are no Mentors replying. That's a pity. Greetings / Antonia

by Eshana B

2019年6月30日

Not being a prior student of philosophy, or rather arts, I had a very different idea about this discipline. After taking the first week's course, I am pretty much enthusiastic about what is yet to come and look forward to learning more.

The course content seems good for me as an introduction.

Wish it included some more realistic examples from life which we can find witty and can relate to our lives.

by Kenneth M

2016年4月4日

Clearly presented.course which focuses only on the principal question and themes of each of the 4 philosophies. I found it extremely valuable as it structured in a logical way these issues and also related themt modern life. My only criticism relates to the grading method of the final assignment 0 or 1 is far too simplistic.

by Harvey

2020年6月21日

I really enjoyed the content and how well it was delivered. She really knows what she is talking about! My only constructive comment would be to somehow make for real-time discussion between students ... after all, we are talking philosophy here. As we have seen with the virus the technology certainly exists.

by Mike M

2021年2月1日

The philosophical concepts seemed more difficult in this course versus the Plato and predecessors course. The stoics provided some thought provoking ideas whereas Aristotle was surprisingly dry. The instructor does a great job of summarizing concepts and provides great value over simply reading the books.

by Miguel A R

2020年6月6日

En lo personal ha sido de gran ayuda, me ha brindado una gran experiencia haber viajado en las mentes de estos seres que han dejado su legado a través de la historia. Me hubiese gustado que la extensión y/o contenido hubiese abarcado otras temáticas.

by William M

2017年10月23日

This was a very solid introduction to the philosophy of Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics. It is relatively introductory-level but still I think that even someone who has studied Ancient Philosophy before can learn something from this.

by Anette W

2016年10月11日

A good follow- up to the previous course. The material is well organised and gives a profound overview while still inciting further investigation, leaving enough room for expansion of the mind and new thoughts on... almost everything.

by ZHANG Z

2020年5月30日

Very inspiring and interesting examples! It helped me obtain a more detailed and thorough view on Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics! Great learning experience!

by Sidney C

2018年12月6日

I enjoyed the course and treatment by the Professor. I learned a lot about this important period in philosophy. Thank you.