Chevron Left
Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
299件の評価
96件のレビュー

コースについて

An introduction to modern astronomy's most important questions. The four sections of the course are Planets and Life in The Universe; The Life of Stars; Galaxies and Their Environments; The History of The Universe....

人気のレビュー

GB

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent course. Very clear lectures that cover a lot of ground in not a lot of time. Fantastic overview of most of what we know about astronomy and how we know it. Best class I've taken on Coursera.

AM

Apr 12, 2018

The is the first time I have rated a course with 5 stars, but this one is worth it. I audited and did not take the exams, but I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures and I learned a lot.

フィルター:

Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy: 26 - 50 / 94 レビュー

by Joel S d A

Sep 25, 2016

O curso é maravilhoso, juntei muito material para pesquisa, muitas referências e o curso também mudou o modo com que eu via a Astronomia recente. Recomendo!

by Nishant P

Aug 08, 2017

Outstanding. Nuanced, yet accessible. Love the professor's infectious passion about the subject, and also his rather lovely choice of words at times!

by Nair E

Nov 07, 2016

That the course was extremely interesting is an understatement, nothing that touches upon the most fundamental questions of our existence can be dull, but it also was very dynamic, the themes presented directly and well explained. The exerises where we used simulators were the final touch to completly understand concepts

by Claire C

Sep 24, 2016

excellent course! at last a teacher that explains the universe in plain English in a way that can be understood by most.

by Julia B

Nov 26, 2016

Excellent

by Amber D

Feb 25, 2016

Great course. Awesome Prof. Easy to understand and get into even if you don't have a science background. Can't wait to learn more!

by Jana K

Mar 18, 2018

I enjoyed every single session within this course. The topics, the materials, the small tests after each topic and as well the quizzes. Professor Frank explained everything in a clear and understandable way, I did learn a lot about our universe. Of course, studying is needed for passing this course, but I am here to learn afterall and I appreciate the quizzes which made me think and thus test my knowledge

by Divyanshu R

Dec 27, 2015

Course has been very helpful; giving the apt amount of knowledge in a way that can be easily understood with a little background in physics.

by Ann M H

Jul 19, 2017

Professor Frank is super down-to-earth (ha) and easy-going, so the difficult concepts seem less intimidating. I like how the videos are cut into short, topical sections, and the information on the green screen next to him helps with understanding. The weekly lecture note PowerPoint slides are even more detailed.

I had a basic understanding of astronomy coming in, and this course struck a good balance between reviewing info I already knew, and introducing me to some more challenging concepts.

The quizzes were pretty difficult for me, and I had to take 3/4 twice to get a passing score. You really have to take what you learned, think about it deeply, then apply it. It wasn't just regurgitating information, which was good, it also meant I was scouring my notes and Google for a long time. They aren't kidding when they say the quizzes take 50 minutes!

If you can finish this course in four weeks, I applaud you. I admit I wasn't very diligent, but it's a lot of information to digest each week. I took closer to 10 weeks, but they were well-spent months! I learned a lot, and could subsequently "wow" my friends. Very well-done course! Thank you!

by Lisa T

Mar 08, 2017

Really great course, but I would recommend that if you haven't taken many classes in this branch of the sciences to take a different introductory course, first. It can still be done, but might require more study and review of additional resources.

by Gabe B

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent course. Very clear lectures that cover a lot of ground in not a lot of time. Fantastic overview of most of what we know about astronomy and how we know it. Best class I've taken on Coursera.

by Petar T

Nov 09, 2016

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST COURSES AND BEST LECTURES I'VE SEEN, AMONG A LOT THAT I WENT THROUGH! Such fantastic and humorous way to lead the audience through wonders of the universe! Looking forward to MANY MANY more courses from this lecturer on any subject really - that's how engaging this course was for me! AWESOME!

by Mohammad S H

Dec 21, 2016

Very exciting, strong structured course, The most difficult materials in a simplified and exciting declamation. Great lecturer .

by David M

Jan 27, 2016

excellent course really enjoyed it...

by Hung C K

Mar 07, 2016

It's my first course on Coursera, and also my first astronomy course.

It was fantastic, No lot's of calculation, but more focus on the concepts, such as relativity, standard model of particles, quantum mechanics. Sounds hard, but easy actually.

Thanks Prof. Adam Frank.

Everyone can take this course, even without science background.

by Michael L

Feb 26, 2017

a great introduction to a complex field, highly recommended.

by Ayan

Feb 01, 2016

Now this course might seem small but it is not, the test are really challenging and the knowledge of video lectures aren't enough, you have to dig deep and study from other sources too. The simulations in the test and exercises are cool and fun way to learn. I will highly recommend anyone who is interested in cosmology to take this course but be prepared the ocean is not that calm as it seems.

Happy learning.

by Kartik N

Apr 06, 2017

A really nice course for someone pursuing astronomy or likes to know more about the cosmos. Really expands one's knowledge of the universe.

by Anne M

Apr 12, 2018

The is the first time I have rated a course with 5 stars, but this one is worth it. I audited and did not take the exams, but I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures and I learned a lot.

by 马鑫

Feb 08, 2016

I love this course! I have passed the first week exam. I really very very happy ! I will continue and pass all the exams!

by Eshita S

Jul 09, 2018

such an amazing course by amazing professor. quiz was superb and you will be able to make use of virtual simulations. worth doing

by Lynn N

Mar 23, 2017

So far a very easy to understand and enjoyable course. As someone coming from High school with some research and knowledge in Astronomy this was a great way to fill in the gaps in my knowledge and get a more technical sense of Astronomy. The prof makes this incredibly enjoyable. Lectures are paced well and the 'homework'/practice work is easy enough.

by Milinda Y

Feb 28, 2016

Thank you!! Very organized and easy to follow. The questions at the end of the week encouraged me to explore more about the subject matter.

by Nicolás R

Dec 11, 2015

This course is amazing, and the professor is great too!!!! 100% recommended

by Abdallah M A

Sep 10, 2017

Definitely, it was a great course!!!! simple, easy and important topics, I highly recommend this course.