Chevron Left
Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization に戻る

メルボルン大学(The University of Melbourne) による Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
276件の評価
66件のレビュー

コースについて

Optimization is a common form of decision making, and is ubiquitous in our society. Its applications range from solving Sudoku puzzles to arranging seating in a wedding banquet. The same technology can schedule planes and their crews, coordinate the production of steel, and organize the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Good decisions in manpower and material resources management also allow corporations to improve profit by millions of dollars. Similar problems also underpin much of our daily lives and are part of determining daily delivery routes for packages, making school timetables, and delivering power to our homes. Despite their fundamental importance, all of these problems are a nightmare to solve using traditional undergraduate computer science methods. This course is intended for students interested in tackling all facets of optimization applications. You will learn an entirely new way to think about solving these challenging problems by stating the problem in a state-of-the-art high level modeling language, and letting library constraint solving software do the rest. This will allow you to unlock the power of industrial solving technologies, which have been perfected over decades by hundreds of PhD researchers. With access to this advanced technology, problems that are considered inconceivable to solve before will suddenly become easy. Watch the course promotional video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc3cBvtrem0&t=8s...

人気のレビュー

BO

Jul 27, 2019

Thank you so much for the course. I had to fight my coding habits, programming CP models is quite different from the traditional programming I'm, and it could even be more fun!

HA

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

フィルター:

Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization: 51 - 62 / 62 レビュー

by Olivier M

May 17, 2020

Awesome

by breezef

Sep 29, 2019

上手有点难h

by Kenny T

Feb 15, 2017

C

by Paul T

Apr 11, 2020

MiniZinc is an extraordinarily useful tool, and I definitely feel I learned a great deal here that will be hugely useful in countless situations in the future. I'm also definitely moving on to the next course in Advanced Modeling ASAP. And while I found most of the general concepts fairly straightforward (I've solved most of these sorts of problems before in Excel Solver in some form or another), I was also frustrated by large gaps between the content taught in each section and the workshops at the end of that section (things I learned in each set of videos were often totally irrelevant to the later workshops and assignments), unnecessarily vague variable names (such as lower-case 'l' which looks just like the number '1' and is used in several examples), lack of downloadable example files to support the various videos, a fairly obtuse help system in MiniZinc itself that makes looking up keywords fairly difficult, sudden jumps in difficulty between the sections, too much time spent on topics irrelevant to the course (such as formatting of "output" statements, which takes the whole second half of the video for the week 4 workshop), and lots of little discrepancies between the PDF files for the various workshops and assignments and the actual workshops and assignments. This is a good course but would be a stellar one with a bit more polish to the MiniZinc help system, more polished examples, a better learning curve, and downloadable MiniZinc samples to accompany each video (really, just providing the MiniZinc files that are shown in the videos, along with a bit of reasonable sample data, would help a lot here).

by Kittiphon P

Jun 25, 2018

The stories and examples used in the course are great and creative. I would like to thank both professors and all TAs for creating wonderful online course and for their hard work. However, some programming assignments are too tedious with too much constraints, like PA 3.

by GUILLAUME P

Feb 17, 2020

Super interesting. Would be nice to have corrections of the assignment too but overall, super fun.

The pdf description are sometimes unclea (constraints are sometimes put in the data description.)

by Shambo R C

May 29, 2019

great course for beginners and those who are looking for applications of optimisation. the only problem is it forces you to work with minizinc and may consume extra time than expected

by Michael M

Feb 24, 2019

Challenging programming assignments and helpful workshops. Good video material. Hoped to have some more real world examples, rather than just fable-based examples.

by Esteban

May 06, 2017

Very interesting, but I miss some theory explaining how the optimizations work behind.

by Leo

Jun 20, 2019

Novel, creative and interesting

by Krunal P

Jan 28, 2017

Good Assignments.

by Can K

Feb 06, 2018

Should be called "Minizinc tutorial". The exercises are easy to pass, but the feedback on them are unhelpful, "You can have a better objective function" does not mean anything if you don't say which part of the model should the person improve.