Chevron Left
Introduction to Big Data に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Introduction to Big Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
10,510件の評価

コースについて

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

人気のレビュー

DK

2021年8月11日

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM

2019年9月8日

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

フィルター:

Introduction to Big Data: 2226 - 2250 / 2,406 レビュー

by Fidel R

2020年12月26日

I think the course contain too much theory, and following the slides I can save some time in videos. I'd like to have more feedback in the discussions (I do know there are too many students to follow), but at least confirming my responses are valid and make sense. I liked the last part of the course about Hadoop and the implementation in Cloudera's VM.

by Tamalika M

2016年11月18日

The course was very useful with what knowledge it provides. However, it would be better if there were more hands-on exercises on relevant stuff. The exercises are too easy and boring. Tougher exercises should be added and more time should be spent on the Hadoop Ecosystem part. Knowing the history helps but it should not replace more important topics.

by David T

2016年10月28日

A good introduction to big data (last time I was working with it was in the 1990s when a few 10s of MB was a huge dataset!). Slightly let down by the forums, despite loads of mentors there seems to be almost no presence of the teaching staff beyond setting up a few posts to spark discussion which in reality just prompt short responses and no replies.

by Philippe H

2017年5月28日

Week 3 should have been broken down into at least 2 weeks and probably 3 weeks. We probably needed more guidance on using Hadoop as there were a lot of technical issues such as removing directories and local files that were not explained. It is easy to spend numerous hours running the same program over and over and not realizing the problem.

by Madhura B

2017年8月19日

The installation part was tough and there were many issues with starting Virtual Box. Crossed each and every step by searching for the answers in discussion forms. Many are unanswered there so had to google extensively. Finally I am done with this course and I hope the rest of the courses are not so technically challenging.

by Emily V

2019年3月4日

Sometimes difficult to follow. I'm a computer person but the program discussed were completely new to me and I found I struggled with the material at some points. A lot of new terms as well but overall do-able. I feel like I learned something but not confidently enough to list any skills on a resume or anything like that.

by Matt S

2017年1月27日

The first week or so feels inconsistent and oversimplified. After that, when you get into the actual content, it gets much better. It then ends on a peer-graded assignment. While the assignment itself is creative and fun to complete, I've never been a fan of peer-graded assignments so early in an introductory course load.

by Edwin J A A

2021年10月9日

(1). No está actualizado, Oracle VM virtualbox está en la versión 6.1.26. (2). la explicación de la ejecución de los hadoop-examples.jar no fue clara en el sentido que hay que aclarar que cada programa o salida del mismo debe tener un directorio independiente o pueden estar varias salidas en un mismo directorio.

by Sudipta m

2017年8月9日

The course is well structured with relevant theories & definitions. However, my opinion there was too much stress upon theory and less focus on practical. It didn't cover all possibilities where Hadoop Code might not run, given the fact that almost most of the learners were using Hadoop for the first time.

by Rebecca C

2017年1月9日

I little slow to start but the pace picks up nicely. Content is generally easy to follow. Some differences between spoken and voice recognition subtitled text. Practical tests were interesting but not particularly well explained for the MapReduce shapes task, which seemed to leave a few puzzled.

by Jefferson B

2019年8月27日

Bom curso, por ser um inicio ao haddop e nao informar que é direcionado para pessoas que tenham um conhecimento prévio, precisa procurar na internet comandos e dicas sobre como atuar em algumas situações que nao ão discutidas em aula, mas no geral material muito bom.

by Наталия В О

2020年7月15日

The lectures are a bit boring and it seems like lecturers only approve of their own point of view, so the quizzes require precise answers as in the lecture. Also don't enrol if you don't have 8gb of RAM :) But overall I guess I did learn some new useful stuff.

by Jorge L

2016年8月29日

I believe this course can be performed much faster, beware that it is really an introduction, and IT professionals persons may feel it slow, in addition the presenter speaks English very slowly, good for non English proficient persons, but bad for the others.

by Palash V S

2017年10月23日

Better content needed. While I understand this was an introductory course, it was challenging only in semantics (remembering exactly what subjective thing Ilkay mentioned/ selecting one of two partially correct options etc.) and not in concepts

by ABHISHEK D

2020年5月4日

Very informative, and I've learned a lot. But I felt it a little bit slow and boring. There are so many ways to make it so much interesting, and it's important too. I think that's why I took a long time to finish this course.

by Miriam F

2017年8月10日

The course is nice for people without any background. With some background in physics/math/computer science it moves very slowly and doesn't provide much technical details. I wouldn't call it a specialization though.

by María C

2020年10月21日

In my opinion it is a little difficult for somebody who is not related to this world to make the exercises of the practice area. More information on the websites about downloading the programs must be implemented .

by Rohit

2020年3月22日

Very Basic course. Don't expect in depth expectations. Inadequate hands on exercises in the course. You will get 10,000 ft view of Big Data after completing this course. Don't expect much from this course.

by David W S

2016年9月14日

An introductory course that seems like it should have been the first week of a more in-depth course instead of being a stand-alone course. The cost vs benefit of this particular course is questionable.

by Fernando R

2020年5月11日

The content is good, but the VM is bad, slow, and old version of everything. I have downloaded a Docker Container to continue with the program. They should update the VM or provide a Docker link.

by Murray S

2017年1月10日

I'm not sure who the target audience is for this course. The level of presentation seems rudimentary to me. I had a hard time sustaining interest in the course and did not finish.

by prashant

2020年11月20日

Content and questions were good in this course but I feel like there was no need to show instructors in the video, only voice playing in the background would have been much better.

by Tianchun H

2020年9月10日

The lectures in the first two weeks are not practical at all. The only practical content in this course is the MapReduce and Hadoop part, which can be finished in one or two days.

by Dmitry S

2016年12月18日

The time / usefulness rate of this course is very low. Most of the stuff they teach (at least in introduction) is very basic theory that's presented in not really interesting way.

by Matej F

2016年11月14日

The course is a lot about talking and theory which is not very interesting. Final part of course is trying to work with hadoop using virtualbox and provided virtual image.