Chevron Left
Bioinformatic Methods II に戻る

トロント大学(University of Toronto) による Bioinformatic Methods II の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
430件の評価
75件のレビュー

コースについて

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I, dealt with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. This, the second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, will cover motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course although some command line work (though within a web browser) occurs in the 5th module. Bioinformatic Methods II is regularly updated, and was last updated for February 2021....

人気のレビュー

RG
2017年4月5日

Gives the student real world exposure to the tools to study proteins gene regulation, etc. Instructor is involved and friendly. Highly recommended for someone who is interested in contemporary

MS
2018年8月19日

It was a very complete course to understand protein interaction and how to use data bases to quantify it\n\nI recommend this course to every master student doing molecular biology or genetics.

フィルター:

Bioinformatic Methods II: 1 - 25 / 73 レビュー

by Rafael O B

2019年11月4日

The course is a great introduction to bioinformatics to anyone who has never had any contact with it before. The lessons are taught in a very simple and understandable language. The only downside is that its a bit too focused on tools that are only available for plant scientists.

by Nissi P M

2018年1月9日

Hi Nicholas, Thank you so much for giving a lot of information. Bioinformatic Methods II was little difficult but understood after repeating the lad discussions. Thanks a lot.

by Mateusz J

2020年4月25日

The first part is very well presented however what I did not particularly like was the part where R program was included. It basically taught to copy and paste R commands into the program without teaching how the program really works, so in the future, we still won't be able to use it. Other than that, great course!

by Alexander K

2017年6月8日

It is excellent and absorbing cource of bioinformatics. I enjoyed it a lot: many interesting and complex topics are explained by Prof. Provart. And almost everything becomes clear.

Only one topic was significantly difficult for me - the topic about gene expression, where R programming is applied. Some commands work only in online version of R. I nees some more time to realize the algorithm of this magic.

I recommend this course for most advanced students of medical university, and they have been expanded their horizonts of understanding biochemistry.

by PRABHJEET K

2020年5月24日

Very good course and yes it is definitely levelled up compared to first course. but you can always do well as there are instuctions given at each step when doing the lab. There are so many things that i explored in this course like viewing protein structures in PyMOL, visualizing expressed genes as a heatmap, and exploring gene expression databases such as BAR. GOOD EXPERIENCE AND THANKU PROFESSOR NICHOLAS PROVART.

by Benson N M

2017年6月2日

I really enjoyed the course -- especially learning more about proteins, gene expression and cis regulatory elements for example. The material provided has extra readings to augment what was done in the lectures and Labs. The discussion forum is active and from time to time the instructor answers the questions in the forum as well as mentors. A good place to start if you're starting out learning bioinformatics.

by Stefano G

2015年9月11日

Bioinformatics Methods II provides a broad overview of several bioinformatics techniques for co-expression analyses. Lessons & Labs are as interesting and exciting as the ones of Bioinformatics Methods I - which I suggest to attend as well.

Again, this "training on the job" approach is useful for achieving familiarity with this rich and many-sided subject.

Thanks professor Provart & team for this!!!

by Göksu

2020年10月31日

I have benefited from this course a lot. I now know how to do bioinformatic analysis with using various of softwares. In this course I have learned to analyze the protein motifs and profiles, use databases to investigate protein protein interactions, visualize the structures of proteins and the expression of genes. As an undergraduate student, I really enjoyed doing this 8-week hands-on practice!

by Sumit K

2021年1月3日

If you're not sure where to start with Proteomics this is the best course to go with. Thank you so much for such a comprehensive course. I really enjoyed the course, especially the lab work given every week. I feel confident to explore these tools and databases for my projects. Thank you once again.

by Katherine G B L

2018年4月1日

I just loved the course, I learned several tools in a short time and I hope to take advantage of them in the future. This course encouraged me to continue with similar ones.

Many thanks to Professor Provart, for his simple way of explaining, I hope he continues to dictate other courses in the future.

by Ali P

2020年5月22日

It is really so informative professional course which provides the support to the modern molecular biologists and other scientists in bio-sciences to understand the basics of genomic data and how to analyze it professionally. Many thanks to the course team.

by Joy D

2020年8月23日

Informative and well explained ! I have learned so many skills from this course and will recommend both of the courses ( I and II) to anyone who is interested in learning bioinformatics! Many Many thanks to Sir "Provart" for making such an amazing course.

by Ji-Young K

2016年10月2日

I absolutely loved this course. The material is highly relevant to someone who works with large databases and computational tools. The lab portion really demonstrates how different online resources can help answer research questions.

by Nurudeen O

2019年9月12日

The course is nicely put together. The hands-on experience with the lab exercises makes the course more experiential. I have gained both the knowledge of the latest tools and programs used in Bioinformatics.

by Robert G

2017年4月6日

Gives the student real world exposure to the tools to study proteins gene regulation, etc. Instructor is involved and friendly. Highly recommended for someone who is interested in contemporary

by mariano r

2018年8月19日

It was a very complete course to understand protein interaction and how to use data bases to quantify it

I recommend this course to every master student doing molecular biology or genetics.

by Carlos A P R

2021年8月9日

In general it is excellent, the only problem is the installation of HISAT on PC, the teacher cannot give technical assistance on this, but the online version works great.

by Mim A

2016年1月30日

I really appreciate these series of courses, I want to thank Prof. Provart and his coligues for their great job on preparing and presenting these series. Thanks a lot!

by Anja R

2015年8月24日

Excellent course with excellent support by the Professor and Mentor. Covers what you need to know about protein bioinformatics and detailed expression analysis.

by Ana P

2020年11月12日

Very good job in introducing new programs for analysing data in this field. Interesting and I hope it will benefit me in my masters degree. I recomend !

by NARAYANA S K

2020年5月19日

Great way of teaching. Step by step procedure followed in this course enable the learners to grasp quickly and efficiently. Thank you

by MARIO C

2020年9月10日

Very recommendend after had attend BM 1. Prof. Provart always available to answer every question. Best couple of courses until now.

by Wambui K

2018年12月18日

The course was great. I have developed and learnt so much that can be applied to my thesis. i especially love the hands on lab.

by Carlos M H

2019年2月20日

Very useful for gene expression analysis, I have learned a lot and now I have a list of useful websites for future researches.

by michelle

2015年10月27日

I use this course as a good resource it has been very helpfull for me the explanation of Dr Provart are incredibly good.