Chevron Left
Bioinformatic Methods II に戻る

トロント大学(University of Toronto) による Bioinformatic Methods II の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
215件の評価
42件のレビュー

コースについて

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I, dealt with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. This, the second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, will cover motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course although some command line work (though within a web browser) occurs in the 5th module. Bioinformatic Methods II is regularly updated, and was last updated for March 2019....

人気のレビュー

RG

Apr 06, 2017

Gives the student real world exposure to the tools to study proteins gene regulation, etc. Instructor is involved and friendly. Highly recommended for someone who is interested in contemporary

NM

Jan 09, 2018

Hi Nicholas, Thank you so much for giving a lot of information. Bioinformatic Methods II was little difficult but understood after repeating the lad discussions. Thanks a lot.

フィルター:

Bioinformatic Methods II: 1 - 25 / 41 レビュー

by Fridah G W K

Dec 18, 2018

The course was great. I have developed and learnt so much that can be applied to my thesis. i especially love the hands on lab.

by shikha K

Jan 17, 2019

very good course

by Carlos M H

Feb 20, 2019

Very useful for gene expression analysis, I have learned a lot and now I have a list of useful websites for future researches.

by michelle

Oct 27, 2015

I use this course as a good resource it has been very helpfull for me the explanation of Dr Provart are incredibly good.

by Katherine G B L

Apr 01, 2018

I just loved the course, I learned several tools in a short time and I hope to take advantage of them in the future. This course encouraged me to continue with similar ones.

Many thanks to Professor Provart, for his simple way of explaining, I hope he continues to dictate other courses in the future.

by Eduardo A L

Oct 04, 2015

Excellent. It's very interesting for the introduction to bioinformatic analysis.

by Dong d

Sep 11, 2015

I think it is a very good course about Bioinformatics. The lab content is especially useful to me,

by Stefano G

Sep 11, 2015

Bioinformatics Methods II provides a broad overview of several bioinformatics techniques for co-expression analyses. Lessons & Labs are as interesting and exciting as the ones of Bioinformatics Methods I - which I suggest to attend as well.

Again, this "training on the job" approach is useful for achieving familiarity with this rich and many-sided subject.

Thanks professor Provart & team for this!!!

by Robert G

Apr 06, 2017

Gives the student real world exposure to the tools to study proteins gene regulation, etc. Instructor is involved and friendly. Highly recommended for someone who is interested in contemporary

by Farbod E L

Sep 08, 2015

I was a very very useful course, specially the heatmap plot generation and R language lab exercises was great!

by Alexander K

Jun 08, 2017

It is excellent and absorbing cource of bioinformatics. I enjoyed it a lot: many interesting and complex topics are explained by Prof. Provart. And almost everything becomes clear.

Only one topic was significantly difficult for me - the topic about gene expression, where R programming is applied. Some commands work only in online version of R. I nees some more time to realize the algorithm of this magic.

I recommend this course for most advanced students of medical university, and they have been expanded their horizonts of understanding biochemistry.

by Sharem M

Feb 23, 2016

Awesome Course!

by José P C I

Nov 15, 2015

The best.

by Ji-Young K

Oct 03, 2016

I absolutely loved this course. The material is highly relevant to someone who works with large databases and computational tools. The lab portion really demonstrates how different online resources can help answer research questions.

by Olena P

Dec 24, 2015

Great course with the kindest professor.

by Benson N M

Jun 02, 2017

I really enjoyed the course -- especially learning more about proteins, gene expression and cis regulatory elements for example. The material provided has extra readings to augment what was done in the lectures and Labs. The discussion forum is active and from time to time the instructor answers the questions in the forum as well as mentors. A good place to start if you're starting out learning bioinformatics.

by Anja R

Aug 24, 2015

Excellent course with excellent support by the Professor and Mentor. Covers what you need to know about protein bioinformatics and detailed expression analysis.

by Anthony M

Oct 20, 2015

Very informative. Loved the course. keep making more please

by Malcolm B

Oct 09, 2016

Wonderful course. :)

by Juan R T

Oct 02, 2015

Excellent course

by Giovanny A

Nov 10, 2015

Excelente Curso, muy bueno, didactico y con excelentes aplicaciones

by Bart S

Jun 22, 2016

Outstanding, do it again!

by yaohuan23

Feb 01, 2016

excellent job

by Rajeswara R E

Sep 06, 2017

Truly Knowledgeable course........

by José L V A

Sep 02, 2017

Excellent!