Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
1,274件の評価
385件のレビュー

コースについて

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

人気のレビュー

DL
2016年4月17日

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
2020年4月14日

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

フィルター:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners: 226 - 250 / 384 レビュー

by sarvanshi s s

2020年4月21日

Course is well defined and stepik tool is very good and useful. But sometimes it becomes a bit confusing to understand and there is no option to find the fault in code or correct answer. After a particular number of efforts, there must be option for correct solution.

by Jonathan N

2018年1月14日

Very interesting course, but its estimated time is about 17 h 20min. I took about 53h and am an absolute beginner in this, so this took a lot longer than I thought it would. I think the estimated time should be revised up to take programming beginners into account.

by Michael G

2017年10月12日

The Stepik textbook needs to be updated. The quantity of test cases and the quality leave a lot to be determined. The format of input on the quizzes needs to be specified more clearly. Otherwise a great course but I would not market it towards beginners.

by Stuart W

2020年6月14日

I enjoyed this course a lot. It was very challenging. I am an experienced Python programmer so the programming side was pretty straightforward however the exercises took a lot of determination to complete. I can definetely say that I learnt something.

by Huaiji G

2021年9月26日

Overall it's a good foundation course for those who haven't known Bioinformatics before. But it could be better if some concepts can be more detailed explained, and some tests' complexity could be more progressively increased.

by Ziliang L

2018年7月13日

overall, it's a good course. But it has many places to improve. It's better if you have the biological and programming background, or you gonna struggle. And some tricky and sometimes misleading parts can cost you a long time.

by Surur K

2021年1月11日

Coding questions should require a larger breakdown of the solution you intend to get for the datasets. I come from a cs background however I can see how otherwise, students will struggle immensely in this course

by Florencia M

2020年11月9日

This is a very challenging course which taught me plenty but failed to explain some statistical thing with precision. Though, I really recommend it, but I would also advise people to lean some Python in advance

by srinidi v

2020年5月27日

Its a really interesting course.. Being from a computer and math background with interest in biology, this was a great inspiration. The tool helped me work and understand a lot. Its surely good for a beginner!

by Nielay S

2020年4月19日

It was a very informative course!! but some technical and biological terms were hard to understand. It would've been much better if more detailed explanation was provided regarding the coding and the terms.

by Veronica Y

2020年4月8日

It was challenging, but I learned a lot of tricks while coding. It will be useful if you teach how to install Python (Anaconda Spyder or Jupiter)

It took me more than 4 hours to complete all the tasks

by Ivan L

2018年3月21日

A good course that gives an introduction to bioinformatics by applying programming in python. Overall, some of the challenges became difficult towards the end, but I definitely learned something.

by Jane D

2018年1月26日

It was a challenging course but the support was good for the most part. There were some that I struggled a lot with and had to ask external help, but as a whole, the community was super helpful.

by Elias S

2019年8月26日

Had a lot of fun doing this =)

Despite the fact that the images in the stepik.parts havnt been loaded at some times and the quizes kept annoying, when my computed answer should´ve been wrong :/

by Mojtaba Z

2021年12月21日

This course covers very interesting subjects in bioinformatics but you need to be familiar whit basic python programming. I think further explanation and educatory contents are necessary, too.

by Laura L

2017年1月31日

Really liked the course and love the topic, however the algorithms section was very difficult and could use some more in depth explaining. Without that, I would not quantify it as "beginner".

by Marek B

2017年5月18日

It's quite hard to complete this course without any knowledge of Python. I don't recommend it as introduction to programming. BUT as a course about bioinformatics it's great!

by Patrick V E

2020年6月6日

In general a very good course. The problem is actually more that one is doing the programming too "mechanistically" by copy-pasting rather than having to think for one-self.

by Ioanna B

2020年8月4日

Although a very good course, material and interesting topic, it can be quite challenging for a beginner. Nevertheless very happy and satisfied to have done and completed it!

by MacKenzie K

2017年8月9日

You definitely need to complete the codecademy lessons or at least have Python experience before the end of week one for this course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

by sleimi w

2020年6月16日

well I'm a biologist & this is my first time learning python .. I 've loved this course even though it becomes kinda difficult after week 2 but I've learned a lot from it

by Igor K

2016年8月16日

A good introduction to computational aspects of bioinformatics. However, the pace of the course might seem too low if you have a strong computer science background.

by Nelson C B

2020年6月29日

It is a great course. But stepik platform needs to be edited. There are some chapters with hard problems and typos, but if you work hard, you will learn a lot.

by Greg T

2019年10月28日

A stimulating and engaging survey of elementary bioinformatics algorithms (searching and pattern matching) with the added bonus of practice with Python.

by Amanda F

2021年7月8日

Great course, easy to follow. However, if you are new to coding, this can be a headache. Otherwise, awesome material and the videos were very helpful!