Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
1,349件の評価

コースについて

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

人気のレビュー

DL

2016年4月17日

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.

This is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.

What's not to love?

MZ

2020年4月14日

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

フィルター:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners: 251 - 275 / 413 レビュー

by Elias S

2019年8月26日

Had a lot of fun doing this =)

Despite the fact that the images in the stepik.parts havnt been loaded at some times and the quizes kept annoying, when my computed answer should´ve been wrong :/

by Mojtaba Z

2021年12月21日

This course covers very interesting subjects in bioinformatics but you need to be familiar whit basic python programming. I think further explanation and educatory contents are necessary, too.

by Laura L

2017年1月31日

Really liked the course and love the topic, however the algorithms section was very difficult and could use some more in depth explaining. Without that, I would not quantify it as "beginner".

by Marek B

2017年5月18日

It's quite hard to complete this course without any knowledge of Python. I don't recommend it as introduction to programming. BUT as a course about bioinformatics it's great!

by Patrick V E

2020年6月6日

In general a very good course. The problem is actually more that one is doing the programming too "mechanistically" by copy-pasting rather than having to think for one-self.

by Ioanna B

2020年8月4日

Although a very good course, material and interesting topic, it can be quite challenging for a beginner. Nevertheless very happy and satisfied to have done and completed it!

by MacKenzie K

2017年8月9日

You definitely need to complete the codecademy lessons or at least have Python experience before the end of week one for this course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

by Bellam D

2022年3月6日

very well explained, but needs prior knowledge on coding and bioinfomatics to understand easily. if you know some basics then its not too difficult to complete the course.

by sleimi w

2020年6月16日

well I'm a biologist & this is my first time learning python .. I 've loved this course even though it becomes kinda difficult after week 2 but I've learned a lot from it

by Igor K

2016年8月16日

A good introduction to computational aspects of bioinformatics. However, the pace of the course might seem too low if you have a strong computer science background.

by Nelson C B

2020年6月29日

It is a great course. But stepik platform needs to be edited. There are some chapters with hard problems and typos, but if you work hard, you will learn a lot.

by Greg T

2019年10月28日

A stimulating and engaging survey of elementary bioinformatics algorithms (searching and pattern matching) with the added bonus of practice with Python.

by Amanda F

2021年7月8日

Great course, easy to follow. However, if you are new to coding, this can be a headache. Otherwise, awesome material and the videos were very helpful!

by Kyle B

2020年6月5日

Difficult for beginners inexperienced in coding but so rewarding and extremely interesting! Awesome introduction into the field of bioinformatics

by Abdullah D S

2018年6月5日

The course is alright. I learned a great deal from the challenges in the Stepik modules. The only issue is that the material is pretty dry.

by Rohan S

2017年7月24日

Excellent course to learn Python programming and great way to learn very interesting topics in biology and be introduced to bioinformatics.

by dong c

2017年9月5日

Novel knowledge and require some python base.More useful for leaners if printable handout with summarized information provided .

by Will V L P

2021年1月18日

Very technical.... I certainly would recommend this to someone with a prior experience in Biology. Regardless, very good course

by Caroline C

2019年6月13日

I already have python background so it is good for me. Maybe not suitable for beginner who doesn't touch python before.

by Mohamed A

2017年1月4日

Very good introductory course to new learners in bioinformatics or students who are just curious about this field.

by Afshin P

2017年4月25日

Thank you.

This course was very effective for me.

It has a lot of details, and I need to review some issues agian

by Abhulimen E

2022年7月10日

A​n extremely interesting course but requires a lot of time if youre not familiar with python and algorithms

by Florent C

2020年3月2日

Très bon cours malgré le fait qu'il faille passer par une plateforme externe de Coursera pour les cours

by Flávio H V d M

2021年4月30日

The course is very nice but very difficult at the same time. It is not a course for true beginners!!

by Surabhi D

2016年6月4日

Stepic issues with not syncing progress and assignment completion. All else was good. Well paced.