Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
1,274件の評価
385件のレビュー

コースについて

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

人気のレビュー

DL
2016年4月17日

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
2020年4月14日

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

フィルター:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners: 176 - 200 / 384 レビュー

by Fatimah A A S

2021年4月12日

it was interesting course

by 박지호

2017年5月19日

Amazing! Perfect! Lovely!

by Carlos K

2020年3月1日

Incredibly interesting

by Feng-tsan C

2017年2月25日

Step by step method.

by Junya L

2016年12月4日

awesome!!Keep going!

by Madhavi P

2017年5月3日

Excellent course!!!

by JOSE C D S F

2017年4月11日

It's amazing course

by Ashitha K S

2020年5月6日

Awesome course ..

by Amy

2017年11月1日

very useful class!

by Sophiezz

2021年7月12日

Excellent course!

by Dhiraj S

2020年6月11日

It was excellent

by Achala S K

2019年2月8日

it was enjoyable

by Igor O

2018年12月29日

Great course.

by Twesigomwe D

2018年3月5日

So remarkable

by Yan T H

2017年6月10日

Nice course

by yeet

2016年3月29日

Awesome!

by Rohak S

2021年5月12日

Amaz0ng

by Prathipati P

2020年9月26日

Awesome

by Ibrahim H E E

2021年3月11日

nicee

by Shunkai X

2016年12月12日

Funny

by Roberto R

2016年10月20日

cool

by DNA-AND-NAD

2016年7月9日

很好

by Markella M

2019年7月19日

When it comes to the subject and the learning outcomes, I would rate 5/5. However the methods and the exercises would rate quite lower. Often it's really hard to understand what is wrong with your submissions and the hints given are minimal, so it's not uncommon to be stuck in an exercise for hours not knowing what you're doing wrong. It might be an entry level course but the material is quite demanding if you don't have a programming background. It was the second time I attempted it, the first one was a couple of years ago and I gave up after the first week. This is why I would say that the time required for the completion of this course is wildly understated. Other than that, as a biology graduate I found the skills learned during this course precious. I got hold of some basic Python commands, learned how to implement them to answer questions of biological nature and started thinking a little bit like a programmer. If you have the time and the patience, I would recommend this course.

by Filipe M d M

2019年12月30日

It's a great course, but as some people pointed out, it's not the most friendly towards beginners. Ate the end of the fourth week the course tells how to install python and to download pycharm. In my opinion these should have been done on the first week. A good tool for code editing make things so much easier that the student can focus more on the code and on the subject matter than trying to find where the got their code wrong. I read a lot of comments in the comment section of people not knowing what they got wrong only to find out that a piece of code was wrongly indented or that they were missing a colon.

Nevertheless, this couser taught me a lot of interesting stuffs. The way we slowly build our methods, solving problems in small steps, and actualy being able to see it being applied to real Dna string like the E_coli genome and the DosR. I thorougly enjoyed this course i'll certainly be back for the specialized ones.

by Ellen G

2017年8月1日

This was an extremely challenging and time-consuming course for me, a non-programmer, non-biologist health care IT professional. My only negative criticism is that for absolute beginners, the estimated time for most exercises is very very very low. Exercises that were estimated at 39 minutes sometimes took me 8 hours of actual labor.

However! Our course instructor, Niema Moshiri was wonderful - very responsive, very patient, and excellent at coaching students without giving away the answers. I learned to read the assignment, then go directly to the comments, reading all of them, and taking especial note of the "instructor replied" answers. I had a good correspondence with a learner for a while - really helped morale and let me feel connected to the community.

And wow! did I learn a lot about the necessity for computational techniques in bioinformatics, and loads about Python programming!