Chevron Left
Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) に戻る

ヘブライ大学(Hebrew University of Jerusalem) による Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,265件の評価
690件のレビュー

コースについて

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

人気のレビュー

MM

Feb 18, 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

AG

Jun 10, 2020

I really liked the course when I watched it at the University; it's concise and interesting I liked the Hardware development part specially, since the development of the assembler was full of bugs

フィルター:

Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course): 251 - 275 / 680 レビュー

by David L

Feb 14, 2017

Amazing course, I really enjoyed it, I recommend to all who wish to understand better about the computational architecture from its foundation.

by Yao-Ting L

Apr 23, 2016

I think this is one of the BEST class on coursera.

Instructors use a very efficient and easy way to teach the essence of computer architecture.

by Ian W

Apr 21, 2019

Wow what an amazing course, very good lectures, very good curriculum. One of the best courses I've taken even including my 5 years at college.

by w w

Jul 08, 2020

it is an execllent course, full of joy.

and I recommed the author to develop a more deep courses cover a modern cpu design and a unix like os

by David G C

May 13, 2020

Me hizo cambiar la manera de ver la enseñanza.

Muchas Gracias gracias a los profesores Shimon y Noam, así como su equipo de colaboradores.

by Liu X

Nov 01, 2019

This is the best basic computer lessons I have ever entered. When I finished building a hack computer, I felt proud and exited. Thank you!

by Itai S

May 20, 2018

As a seasoned programmer I took the course with my 16 years old son and we both got a deep low-level knowledge and an amazing experience.

by Antoine N

Oct 08, 2016

It was a great experience building a computer hardware from first principles. I am wondering if I can build this architecture on an FPGA@

by Mathias D

May 23, 2020

I had a great time and some sleepless nights in this course. I was able to refresh old knowledge and gain a lot of new detail knowledge.

by Dean P

Feb 26, 2018

I learned a lot. from how a computer is built to actually making one myself. i hope i can learn more in the second course in the series.

by Eden E

May 18, 2016

This is a concise overview of computer science. If you could only take one course in this whole field. This would be the course to take.

by Matthew G

Oct 23, 2016

Great course to understand how the computer "black box" works at a fundamental level. Looking forward to the 2nd half of this course!

by Simon J

May 24, 2020

The course is excellent. Well structured, well paced. It taught someone who has been in the industry for many years some new tricks.

by Wilson R d A

Nov 04, 2016

Amazing course, with the perfect ratio between depth and abstraction. For me the computer is no longer a magic box that does tricks.

by Henrique S C

Sep 03, 2016

Fantastic course. I recommend it to anyone who not only want to know how a computer works, but want to build one out of transistors.

by knig

Jan 26, 2019

Awesome well explained course with super cool assignments! <3 it and will take the second part of the course as soon as I have time

by Юрий

May 18, 2017

This course is magnificent! Got tons of fun and knowledge! It hard and challenging. I'll recommend this course to all, who learn CS

by Jani P

Feb 26, 2020

This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken. The course will challenge you but you will at the same time learn so much!

by Mark

Jul 16, 2017

A very well put together course with excellent course materials. Thank you Noam, Shimon, and the team -- I learnt loads from this.

by Serjey G I

Oct 18, 2016

Fantastic course! Everything you've ever wanted to know about the computer is taught here! Cannot wait to start the second part!!!

by Flermflorm

Jun 15, 2020

Seeing what's going on under the hood makes life so much easier! This was an absolute godsend, thank you for putting it together.

by Michael A M

Mar 21, 2020

I can't describe how great this course was. For anyone wanting to learn how your computer actually works. This course is perfect.

by Nenad S

Jun 09, 2019

I loved this course, thanks to the instructors who paid great attention to details and made sure that every question is answered!

by Jarryd F

May 09, 2018

I have learnt so much more about the about how computers understand our written code and how much work goes on behind the scenes.

by Amandeep S

Aug 03, 2018

It is the best course i can think to know about computer from basics and how it works. I am thankful to the team of this course.