Chevron Left
Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) に戻る

ヘブライ大学(Hebrew University of Jerusalem) による Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,172件の評価
654件のレビュー

コースについて

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

人気のレビュー

MM

Feb 18, 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

BC

Oct 12, 2017

Really good course. Great explanations of everything and the tools provided make it very easy to implement some very high levels ideas. Would recommend this to anyone interested in how a CPU works

フィルター:

Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course): 201 - 225 / 646 レビュー

by Daniel N

Feb 03, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course, quite simply the best one I've ever taken, Highly recommended for anyone who wants to embark on a journey of understanding how computers work.

by Bryan B

Dec 30, 2018

Fantastic depth and pacing. A tremendous amount of effort went into making this course, and I honestly can't think of many ways it could be improved. Very, very well done.

by Zhiming G

Nov 19, 2017

Great course! Really beginner friendly and enjoyable. From my experience, I believe this course is also insightful for advanced learners who already have SE/EE experience.

by Sergio R

Aug 12, 2019

El curso está claramente explicado y, como promete, va incrementando la complejidad poco a poco. Las tareas son retadoras pero también gratificantes. Lo recomiendo mucho.

by Kevin D R

Mar 19, 2020

This is a great course. I have been programming for years, but I really feel that I understand how hardware works now. One of the most valuable class I have ever taken.

by Shabih O

Jan 19, 2020

A very intriguing journey indeed, learned a lot... Thanks a bunch for putting up a course like this, hopefully Ill be taking the second nand2tetris in my summer break ♥

by Jam A

May 16, 2017

Very good material and fun course to do, specially the assignments! I implemented the assembler in C (since we're in a low level, right?) and it was very satisfying :)

by Farzeen A F

Jun 07, 2020

Excellent excellent excellent, just so good. Especially if you only have a theoretical knowledge of computers and want to have some sort of practile knowladge in it.

by Adil H

Jul 17, 2018

After watching this course I know understand how a computer actually works at the hardware level. Very informative and well explained; projects were lots of fun too.

by 현승 김

Sep 16, 2017

As the professor said at the last week's session, it helped to demystify the working process of the computer on the hardware level. Also had fun doing the exercises.

by Nelson V

Jul 16, 2017

Very easy to follow for programmer and non-programmers alike, when Computer Architecture is a new field for you. Highly recommended, very good project-base approach.

by Steven G

Jul 23, 2016

Excellent,fun and highly very organised course. You'll be amazed just how quickly you "build" your very own computer, from the humble NAND gate to a working machine.

by Kevin H

Feb 06, 2020

I learned a lot from the course. It's incredible that this course is free. FYI, I would recommend learning the basics of boolean algebra before starting the course.

by Gerardo C A

Nov 27, 2017

Un imperdible para conocer de manera general pero de manera muy enriquecedora el funcionamiento de una pc a nivel de hardware vale muchísimo la pena quede encantado

by sichen m

Apr 28, 2016

I've always been wondering how people make circuits work the way they want it to, and now it no longer puzzles me! Thanks guys for your work on this great lecture!

by Jesús E

Jun 11, 2018

The projects are interesting, some of them are quite challenging, but the knowledge outcome is invaluable! Overall, it was an excellent course, and well worth it!

by aferral

Feb 28, 2016

Excellent course, didactic and informative. Every step is natural and easy to understand. Recommended to anyone who wonder how they work this incredible machines.

by Aldian F

May 04, 2019

This course makes it possible to grasp to most import concepts in computer science in just 13 weeks. Amazing! Thank you for creating and publishing this course!

by Shi Z

Jul 28, 2019

Best MOOC ever! Every engineer working in computer science or EE disciplines would be able to find some 'missing puzzles' of his skill set from this course.

by Le T G D

Sep 22, 2018

This course is really interesting and helpful, not only for computer science students but also for other students who are curious about the computation world

by AMIT A B

Feb 18, 2018

Amazing course. Very well thought, well designed well planned! Kudos to instructors! I highly recommend this course to anyone who works in computer industry.

by Nikolay T

May 17, 2020

Great course! Complex material is explained very simply and clearly. It helps understand the architecture of computer and even touch it with your own hands.

by Emil E

Dec 27, 2016

Very good, complete, and well thought-out course. Enjoyed every lesson and task. Gives you an excellent overview of what a computer essentially is. 5 stars!

by Luke K

Aug 14, 2019

I found the course to be really approachable, no matter your background. For me it filled in a few gaps and the weekly assignments concreted the knowledge.