Chevron Left
Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) に戻る

ヘブライ大学(Hebrew University of Jerusalem) による Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,519件の評価
778件のレビュー

コースについて

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

人気のレビュー

MM
2017年2月17日

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

CT
2020年8月22日

This was so much fun, so satisfying and I learned a lot. I'm a software engineer. We do so much work in high-level languages that it's great to be reminded how computing machinery gets the job done.

フィルター:

Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course): 201 - 225 / 769 レビュー

by Eric

2020年4月5日

Detailed explanation, step-by-step knowledge. Perfect for novices. Taking this course is a pleasure, not only to gain knowledge, but also to build confidence in programming. Wonderful Course!!! ( ̄▽ ̄)"

by 陈学海

2018年8月26日

Fantastic! It is very interesting and projects are easy to finish. The most important thing is I've learned a lot about computer system concepts in a bigger picture. Thanks a lot, Prof.Noam & Prof.Shimon!

by Amartya R

2018年6月18日

nice course !! going to add this in my resume ! learned so many things and now computer is 1% more understandable than previous !juts kidding ! Now ,I really know some good basics of how computer works!

by Mark W

2016年10月14日

The course is well structured, leading the learner through project based learning from one conceptual level to another. It's completion was very satisfying and I look forward to From Nand to Tetris II.

by William C

2020年5月19日

Great course and definitely improved my understanding on how a computer works! Love the videos and the assignments. The Q&A from their website is a gem! I wish I have them as my professor in my school!

by Branko B

2019年7月17日

This course was really great and covered everything it aimed to. Noam and Shimon broke down concepts simply and made them easy to understand. I'm moving on right away to the second part of this course!

by Madhavi M

2017年2月18日

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

by Chung-Hung W

2020年11月22日

Excellent course. Perfectly serve my purpose to demystify how computer works, and make good bridge among electronic engineering, chip design, computer science, and programming. Highly appreciate!

by Youssif R

2020年7月16日

this one of the most elegant courses a computer engineer can take in the early beginnings of his undergrad study, it will give him the overall view of digital design and computer architecture.

by André M S

2020年6月18日

Lovely learning experience. Engaging and passionate lessons, well-explained concepts and fantastic pacing. The grading was also fantastic; this is the best way to conduct a course of this style.

by JUN Z

2017年7月20日

through this course I literally understand how to computer operates and how it is built from a simple chip Nand to a complex system with ROM/RAM/CPU. The course is great! Highly recommend this!

by Sindhoor T

2019年7月23日

This is one of the best courses I've ever taken. Simplistic, easy to follow, takes you from Beginner to Advanced at a steady pace. Learned a ton! Thanks a lot for making such a beautiful course

by Leon M W

2019年5月29日

Incredible Course. I've never experienced such an learning experience. This course did not just teach me how computers work, more importantly it taught me how to learn and deal with complexity.

by Jasmine

2020年5月7日

The class is straightforward and the right level of detail to make you feel like you really understand the topics. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to understand how computer hardware works!

by Baxter D

2016年9月8日

Fantastic. Quite difficult for me, but I learned the material along the way. Fantastic way to train yourself to think logically and parsimoniously. And the computer knowledge is invaluable.

by ANSHUL G

2020年11月14日

This is an excellent course. It gives a deep insight on how the various digital circuits are connected together to make computer hardware and how assembler is constructed to use the hardware.

by Sanath N U

2020年7月28日

Crazy stuff, Literally opened my eyes to some of the abstractions of the real world we take for granted. This course is intellectually rigorous and satisfying. This is one of the cool stuff!

by burhan a

2020年6月25日

fabulous , perfect education....

it is took abaout fully a month of my life , but really it was worth it.

thank you very much coursera and Shimon Schocken and Noam Nisan.

with all my respect .

by Tiancheng X

2020年5月24日

I had great fun with the projects! The materials illustrate how processors work clearly, without being overly complex. I think it is a nice introduction to computer architecture and systems.

by Jacob K

2018年8月14日

Excellently structured course. The projects really make you understand the material well. I can hardly believe you can learn the full architecture of a basic modern computer in one course!

by Austin P

2017年6月17日

This course covers the fundamentals of computer architecture in a fun and engaging way. I cannot recommend it enough to anyone who has ever had any interest in how computers actually work.

by Supun D K

2017年9月16日

Gained a massive knowledge in fundamentals about Machine Language, Assembly Language and Hardware Descriptor Language. Thank you Prof. Nisan & Prof. Schocken for teaching all the sessions

by Rich E

2017年8月2日

Definitely one of the better online courses I've taken. Struggled a little bit by the end, so I probably won't go on to part two anytime soon, but I appreciated all the work they've done.

by Giacomo D

2016年4月8日

Very interesting subject. The course is very well organized and clearly explained. The projects are progressively challenging and all of them are engaging. I have learnt a lot of things.

by Jining Z

2020年11月15日

这门课程非常精彩。我是地理系的本科生,研究生阶段转换到软件工程方向。通过这门课程,我了解到了计算机这台钢琴内部是什么样子的。过程非常的有趣,有时候也很有挑战性。但总的来说这个过程是非常棒的。我建议每一位想系统了解计算机的学生都来尝试这门课程。如有机会,下学期我会选修这门课程的Part2

最后,再次感谢这门课程和Coursera,以及助教团队和各位志愿者的付出,谢谢你们!