Chevron Left
Business Intelligence Concepts, Tools, and Applications に戻る

University of Colorado System による Business Intelligence Concepts, Tools, and Applications の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
607件の評価
116件のレビュー

コースについて

This is the fourth course in the Data Warehouse for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. Effectively and efficiently mining data is the very center of any modern business’s competitive strategy, and a data warehouse is a core component of this data mining. The ability to quickly look back at early trends and have the accurate data – properly formatted – is essential to good decision making. By enabling this historical overview, a data warehouse allows decision makers to learn from past trends and challenges. In essence, the benefit of a data warehouse is continuous improvement. By the end of the course, you will be able to enhance Conformity And Quality of Data by gaining the knowledge and skills for using data warehouses for business intelligence purposes and for working as a business intelligence developer. You’ll have the opportunity to work with large data sets in a data warehouse environment and will learn the use of MicroStrategy's Online Analytical Processing (OLAP) and Visualization capabilities to create visualizations and dashboards. The course gives an overview of how business intelligence technologies can support decision making across any number of business sectors. These technologies have had a profound impact on corporate strategy, performance, and competitiveness and broadly encompass decision support systems, business intelligence systems, and visual analytics. Modules are organized around the business intelligence concepts, tools, and applications, and the use of data warehouse for business reporting and online analytical processing, for creating visualizations and dashboards, and for business performance management and descriptive analytics. This course is intended for business and computer science university students, IT professionals, program managers, business analysts and anyone with career interests in business intelligence. In order to be successful in this course, you should have either completed Course 3 of the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence Specialization or have some prior experience with data visualization and document management....

人気のレビュー

NA

2016年3月24日

The Course is well laid out with plenty of assignments that allow you master the BI by using Microstrategy. Thanks to professor Karimi, it was by far the best BI course that I have ever taken.

GL

2017年7月21日

Very good course , with very explanatory and additional material. Deep diving with exercises and especially the last assignment where total understanding was required in order to fulfil it.

フィルター:

Business Intelligence Concepts, Tools, and Applications: 101 - 114 / 114 レビュー

by Ali A

2018年12月14日

very good

by Akshay M

2017年2月3日

Great

by samir h

2017年5月21日

s

by André B

2016年4月9日

Content of the course is very good, useful and interesting, I greatly appreciate the knowledge delivered. But assignments could improve:

-All module assignments seems mostly focalize on using Microstrategy tool. In assignments, i would like to see more exercises so that students learn through practice of business cases. For example, I prefer the way modules are organized in courses 1,2, and 3: concepts with examples, practice exercise, then assignment through similar exercise + a quiz.

-In last assignment, there was no suggested solution(s) for the last question, i think this is missing for a good understanding.

by Mayank S

2017年3月21日

1*(star) to the professor very difficult to understand the professor many times. Even the subtitles fail sometimes to present what he says. 5*(star) to the content of the course and especially the tool used to explain and learn the BI concepts. I have already recommended the tool to couple of companies.

by Mateus B d P

2016年4月4日

I did the free part of the course. It was too simple

I did other free MOOCs that had much more.

The videos were like reading a book. The subject is interesting and there's some potential to the practical part of the course.

I only did the first 3 weeks

by Andrew K

2016年6月27日

Difficult to understand the video lectures at time but really useful content. Excellent further reading sections at the end of each module.

by Jake S

2019年7月29日

I've waited weeks for my grade - thank goodness the staff is semi-responsive. Such a falloff from the first few courses.

by Mei C

2016年6月2日

sdaf

by Maryam s s O A

2021年3月3日

.

by Gokay B

2022年1月13日

T​he previous courses in this program were not perfect either, but this one is much worse than the previous ones.

F​irst of all, two garbage software needs to be installed for this course - and Oracle VM and Microstrategy Workstation.

The Oracle VM is not used at all through the whole course and is required for the next Course in the program.

For the Business Intelligence and data visualisation, we are required to use Microstrategy, which is a pain to install. You need a corporate or student email to register in order to download the program. And any technical support for the software is behind this corporate account login you need. If you don't have a corp/school email you can use another version shared by the staff but good luck getting technical support and there are no external forums or support platforms at all. Why not use a more-widely used BI software, like Microsoft Power BI where we can go online if we have any technical issues or to find documentation?

T​he lectures also do not go into enough detail on BI usage and skills. The videos are really superficial; not enough time is spend on the whole data gathering - cleaning - report building processes, or what type of visuals to use for each kind of data, or any type of general knowledge every BI professional should know. Sure, there are loads (seriously, loads) of external links shared after each lecture, but why am I taking this course if I can just go and read some external material?

I​n short, this course felt like it was put together just in a week, 7 years ago, and since then nobody bothered to update it based on the student feedback.

by Daniel M

2018年4月24日

There are too few students taking this course! I had to wait multiple weeks to get my assignments rated. Questions in the forum get viewed by about only two people and you will never get an answer. Really disappointing!

by Stuart L

2016年3月21日

lecture too focus on the theory that not very useful on business world. The BI tool "microStrategy" used in the homework is too slow and crash from time to time.

by Vimalesh P

2016年3月5日

The material and the lecture is not so engaging.