Chevron Left
Introduction to the Biology of Cancer に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Introduction to the Biology of Cancer の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
4,998件の評価
1,022件のレビュー

コースについて

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

人気のレビュー

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK

Aug 01, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

フィルター:

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer: 951 - 975 / 1,002 レビュー

by IndRi P

Sep 05, 2017

Expect more materials for each topic

by Chi Z

Feb 13, 2017

Great introduction for new leaner.

by Eric S

Oct 10, 2016

Nice overview, not worth 50 bucks.

by 242881 k

Jan 21, 2018

It was a knowledgeable experience

by Dr. S M M

Jun 25, 2020

good and informative. thank u

by Kumari A

Jan 15, 2020

great learning experience :)

by ZIHAN X

Apr 27, 2019

Repetition can be reduced.

by Marco F

May 07, 2016

Clear and enjoyable course

by kevin j

Sep 02, 2017

very useful and informing

by A b

Apr 21, 2020

very informative course

by Prithika.S

Aug 25, 2020

The lectures was good

by Ziad A

Apr 10, 2020

very exciting course

by Emome T

Sep 29, 2020

Arigato gozaimasu

by SALEEKHA P K T

Jun 22, 2020

An awesome course

by monika b

May 20, 2017

excellent , good

by V H P

Jun 13, 2020

good experience

by Marian A M

Aug 31, 2020

great course

by vaibhav j

Jul 22, 2020

good course

by Ahmed A R T

Jul 08, 2017

good course

by Haowen T

Aug 24, 2017

very good

by Alagammai s

Aug 08, 2020

Good

by Ivan T

Jul 13, 2017

The content is uneven. Lecturers are generally good, but they speak to the limited collection of static slides and often just read slide contents. Given that slide graphics is repetetive (there are probably 10 images overall that are reused over and over), a lot is left to the imagination. Overall amount of content is quite low for 6 week course. E.g. one of the weeks only has 15minutes of video and a 10-question quiz.

Quizzes and in-video questions seem like they were prepared by different people altogether. There are spelling mistakes, there are terms used during quizzes which have not been used during the videos, some of the questions are just poorly worded or bad from grammar point of view. Generally they are useful nevertheless.

If you don't set your expectations too high (this is no Andrew Ng's course by no means) and come with the desire to learn basics about biology of cancer, you will learn just that and upon completion will certainly know more than any non-medical person around you.

by Patrina L

Jun 11, 2016

I found this course useful and appropriate in the material offered and the assessed questions as an introduction and an update in cancer biology for CPD purposes. It is rather disappointing that the final grade achieved is not printed on the certificate. For A$65 to join the course and not have the full information such as the hours involved and the final grade achieved makes it very disappointing not to reflect the effort I put in as well as tricky to include this course as part of a CPD program.

by Gerald V

May 23, 2016

I wish that the classifications of the major cancer groups were more descriptive. concerning the treatment for different types of lung cancer for example. Nothing is mentioned about childhood cancers or the area of lymphomas. I realize that this is an overview of cancer but cancer cell biology and current treatment practices based on immunologic findings were not given the coverage they deserve.

by MONICA S

Sep 03, 2020

The course has seemed very interesting. It is well structured in my opinion and I want to thank the laboratory collaborators for their dedication and commitment, but ... it is a shame that the questions I asked in the forum are lost in limbo (no one ever answered my requests): If you have No one will solve any doubt for you. Anyway, thanks for the opportunity.