Chevron Left
Introduction to the Biology of Cancer に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Introduction to the Biology of Cancer の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,954件の評価
1,192件のレビュー

コースについて

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

人気のレビュー

AH
2017年3月17日

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
2020年7月31日

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

フィルター:

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer: 1151 - 1175 / 1,181 レビュー

by Lukas P

2016年4月16日

I think that the course itself is very interesting and useful, but unfortunately you have to purchase the course straight away to be able to do the tests.

by Liliana C P M

2017年9月28日

Superficial information/knowledge and boring presentation.

I think we should be able to do the graduate tests and purchase the course in the end of it.

by FATHIMATHUL F V

2020年5月26日

Superb💯 first time idont know about cancer &its process but now it is really easy able....thanks for ur commitment tnks all professors 🥰😍

by Shakira

2017年5月16日

Very interesting content, some of the lectures good have made more effort in bringing across the content in a more exciting manner.

by ray .

2020年9月26日

The course provides a good introduction to cancer and how it can be treated, very informative and easy to keep up with

by Randy C

2016年5月19日

Tough call on this. The course itself is excellent [5] but the "money grab, you must pay attitude" is horrible [0].

by Alicia C

2020年8月25日

Hello, my finish the course and I do the honors extra questions but I didnt get my certifícate with honors

by Aarjvi J

2020年11月28日

Well explained and a good one if you are just starting with MOOCs

by Charandeep J

2018年11月18日

Videos could be better, too short and narrated robotically

by Abhi B

2020年7月18日

There is a problem with receiving the honors certificate.

by Keith L

2019年11月11日

Nice introduction. Statistics could do with an update.

by Deleted A

2016年6月23日

I would prefer to see the speaker during the lecture.

by Ivan S

2019年2月21日

Too simple for that price. For very beginners.

by Lev R S

2017年5月23日

excellent course for beginners and biologists.

by Esraa M A M n

2020年9月6日

it was a good experiment and I learn a lot

by Shivani M

2018年7月3日

The lectures can be more interactive

by ARIJIT A

2020年12月14日

excellent basics concept of cancer.

by IJAZ A

2020年4月16日

realistic and advanced knowledge

by Sufia B

2020年5月30日

good course. i enjoyed so much.

by Nur A A P

2020年5月26日

Neither best nor worst!

by Jade B

2016年9月4日

Not done... All 5?

by Sakina S S

2020年8月16日

very informative

by Ken S

2021年6月27日

There are many courses that raise your opinion of an institution. This is to be expected; think about why a university might offer an online class for free. But to my surprise, my opinion of Johns Hopkins went down - way down - as a result of completing this course. Why? "Experts" who couldn't pronounce words ("genome", "radionuclide") used in their own area of expertise. Factually incorrect information, like "both copies of a gene must have a mutation for cancer to occur", which is not true for many genes. Also, a strong tendency to use words, abbreviations, and acronyms that have never been defined, which is not appropriate for an "introduction" to something. I'm not saying there wasn't any good information - there was some - but overall, this class was disappointing.

by Mariya L

2017年3月19日

Too basic knowledge, not enough information about targeted therapy, everything is explained without going into any details

by A A

2020年11月24日

Not engaging at all. Did not enjoy and I don't think I will retain much information due to how it was presented.