Chevron Left
Introduction to the Biology of Cancer に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Introduction to the Biology of Cancer の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
3,100件の評価
650件のレビュー

コースについて

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

人気のレビュー

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

フィルター:

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer: 101 - 125 / 641 レビュー

by Cor R

Apr 07, 2020

Adequate introduction to the theme. If, however, you have any experience in oncology already, it is not advisable to attend this course since it discusses only the fundamentals of oncology.

by Kiarash P

May 18, 2020

The course was really helpful for understanding and reviewing the basic concepts of cancer, which is always important to keep in mind to be able to treat patients accurate as a oncologist.

by Vikram A S

Aug 16, 2019

Course is concise and professors are well learned in their fields. Information in the course is relatively well dispersed. Use of diagrams is good and makes it easy to remember the content

by Feo M

May 10, 2020

Great course, I'm 14 and learned a lot. The ease with witch each lesson can be understood changed lesson to lesson, depending on how well the researcher explained. But still great course!

by João V V

Oct 06, 2019

It is a great course, very well developed, those involved explain very well, besides having a broad knowledge base. I am very pleased, I feel that this course will really help me in life.

by Perceox P

Sep 03, 2019

Soy Ingeniero y he estado investigando el funcionamiento del cáncer durante unos 3 años. He aprendido mucho hasta aquí. temas nuevos para mi, desde el punto de vista de la investigación.

by Le P H

Jul 30, 2019

I love the highly-organized course materials. It is not only useful for biology students but also for anyone who wants to better understand one of the most deadly diseases in the world.

by Chelsea H

Mar 21, 2017

Great introductory course for cancer. It is simple enough for a novice to understand, and complex enough for someone who works in the field to gain additional knowledge. Great lectures.

by Aditi S

Dec 28, 2016

This course was put very simply and understandably. The information was useful in my projects and I am now able to understand terminology used in medical journals. Thank you Dr. Pienta!

by Vikram

May 15, 2020

This is very amazing. This course give me more knowledge about cancer. And the all teacher are very very amazing. This give me more information and a new platform for my good career.

by Jim H

Mar 20, 2017

Excellent class. I learned a lot. I like how they delivered the information into clear comprehensible segments. It was easy for follow the class, as it was well organized and clear.

by Emmanuel A C D

Oct 15, 2019

It was a very good course. It help me very much to understand and have a much better idea of the different types of Cancer. I can most certainly take advantage from this knowledge.

by Jan M B

Jul 03, 2019

Very interesting course. Important information to understand the development of cancer and its treatments and to be able to follow the medical developments of cancer in the future.

by Abhijit P

Apr 27, 2018

Extremely simplified explanation such that a non-bio background Computer Science Engineer can even understand the causes. (By the way I am learning to apply AI to cancer detection)

by Soham R

Jan 15, 2020

AMAZING TEACHING BY THE TEACHERS AND THE CONTENT TAUGHT IN THE COURSE IS REALLY GOOD. IT IS TAUGHT IN A INTERSERTING FASHION AND ALSO HAS SOME FEATURES WHICH MAKES IT STAND OUT.

by Naim U F

Sep 28, 2019

Very informative, absolutely loved it. Strongly Recommended to anyone interested in Biochemistry, Cancer research or to anyone looking to learn more about this particular field.

by Aryesh A

Jan 08, 2020

A very good course to understand cancer and what are the possibilities in future to fight against it.I enjoyed this course very much.Thank you for letting me do this course.

by Usama A K

Jun 01, 2017

I found this course very fruitful for me . I got extra knowledge by that. Coursera is doing well to help the students to increase their extra knowledge. very Appreciable (Y)

by Lena N

Jan 22, 2018

It was a comprehensive review of the development of cancer. I only wish we had more time to go into the specific genetics of the genes related to the development of cancer.

by Nafisa N I

May 18, 2020

What an amazing story-teller the course-creators are! I have learned and enjoyed a lot. Highly Recommended for anyone who wants to further their career in Cancer Research.

by Pierre G

Mar 21, 2020

It is very useful , simple , and I am looking forward to take more courses , and I think it gives a proper introduction for whoever wants to start learning about cancer .

by James M

Feb 22, 2017

Wonderful course. Very informative and exceptionally well designed. I have learnt so much that will help me with my work in Integrative oncology and botanical medicine.

by Ramana M S

Jan 25, 2020

Course was grea!!!. Crisp, well framed, well presented covering every basic aspect to understand the cancer biology. I would recommend this to my friends and colleagues

by Sarah Y

Oct 04, 2018

it's really an amazing course .the lecturers hit the points directly.

I just wish the next time you could provide a course that explain the molecular biology of cancer.

by Shafi A T

Aug 29, 2019

It is a very informative and fundamental course for beginners aspire for cancer biology.Instructors are pretty good and explain the topic very well.Highly recommended