Chevron Left
Introduction to the Biology of Cancer に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Introduction to the Biology of Cancer の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
4,819件の評価
1,003件のレビュー

コースについて

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

人気のレビュー

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK

Aug 01, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

フィルター:

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer: 126 - 150 / 990 レビュー

by Sherianne T Y T

Jun 25, 2020

A good introduction to cancer biology which is suitable for beginners. Even though I have some background knowledge on the molecular basis of cancer, I still learnt a lot about imagining and treatment of common cancers.

by Soham R

Jun 17, 2020

AMAZING TEACHING BY THE TEACHERS AND THE CONTENT TAUGHT IN THE COURSE IS REALLY GOOD. IT IS TAUGHT IN A INTERSERTING FASHION AND ALSO HAS SOME FEATURES WHICH MAKES IT STAND OUT. IT PROVIDES A NICE LEARNING EXPERIENCE.

by Abdul K

Apr 28, 2020

So impressive gave me each and every fine detail of cancer,I very glad that I joined this course and I have learned about Cancer and I got to know that how cancer can effect the body also the changes in the body

Thanks

by Yiwen Z

Feb 16, 2020

Very informative and educational for beginners. As a chemist working in pharmaceutical industry, I always wanted to learn some background knowledge about cancer biology. This is the course of choice for any newbies.

by hiranmayi d s r

May 18, 2020

I am beyond satisfied with the course that was provided. The subject was in-depth enough to understand the subject and develop a passion for doing further studies in cancer biology. The teaching was really great.

by Emily E

Mar 12, 2019

Excellent course! Breaks concepts down into easily understood terms while still bringing the true technical components of oncology care. Very helpful! I will be looking out for more courses just like this one.

by Amanda D

Jul 27, 2020

Amazing course! The professors were all so knowledgeable and explained everything so well. I truly walked away with a much better understanding of cancer and cannot wait to use this information in the future!

by Hassnain Q

Jul 17, 2017

The course provided me a broader knowledge in the field of cancer biology. It also allowed me to explore the various aspects of cancer biology through different resources that were available for the students.

by BHASKAR S

Jul 30, 2019

This course is extremely valuable for the beginners and also helps you to acquire a basic knowledge of cancer biology. This course is interesting as well as it gives a boost to your career in cancer biology.

by Siomara E

Feb 05, 2018

I took this course, because my mother was just diagnosed with Colon Cancer. Although this news was not easy I just want to be more knowledgeable about this "disease" and educate myself a little. Thank you.

by Lidemarie v d W

Mar 05, 2017

Excellent course. Introduction to cancer at a general biological and pathofysiology level, as well as specifically in terms of risk factors, diagnosis, and treatment of the six most common types of cancer.

by Natalie B

Aug 08, 2017

Absolutely fascinating. I enjoyed every lecture and really did learn a lot. The course was engaging and was easy enough to understand, but difficult enough that I felt a real accomplishment when I passed!

by Daniel S d S

Jun 23, 2020

Sensational course !!! It redirected me to the future specialization in pharmacotherapy of antineoplasic. I only have to thank the professionals involved in the teaching of classes and engaging tests.

by FARDIN A A

Jun 06, 2020

It was a course of much interest. Everything is explained very simply. I have learned lot of important information. I am delighted to be able to do this online course at JOHNS HOPIKNS university.

by Can D

Aug 30, 2020

I took 8 courses in coursera yet and I can say this course was so far the best one. Very informative, not boring spoken, very interesting. Thank you for your work. I appreciate it from my heart.

by Katia J

Jun 27, 2020

A well sructured course with a lot of useful information. Gives you a good basic understanding of cancer, answers many questions. I,ll bw looking forwars to a more advanced course on this topic!

by Angélique C B J

Aug 20, 2018

Very interesting and useful information for non-specialists interested in this field

Understanding is reachable even without scientific background but with a keen interest in medicine and cancers

by Cor R

Apr 07, 2020

Adequate introduction to the theme. If, however, you have any experience in oncology already, it is not advisable to attend this course since it discusses only the fundamentals of oncology.

by Kiarash P

May 18, 2020

The course was really helpful for understanding and reviewing the basic concepts of cancer, which is always important to keep in mind to be able to treat patients accurate as a oncologist.

by Vikram A S

Aug 16, 2019

Course is concise and professors are well learned in their fields. Information in the course is relatively well dispersed. Use of diagrams is good and makes it easy to remember the content

by Tryambak P S

Aug 16, 2020

This is a very basic course designed by an excellent team with ease so that non-technical person can also be benefitted from it. Thank you, for this great course. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

by SNEHA G

Aug 14, 2020

This course was really useful for me, and it helped me to gather more information about cancer biology as well. Thank you all the organizers who made thing course really a beneficial one.

by Feo M

May 10, 2020

Great course, I'm 14 and learned a lot. The ease with witch each lesson can be understood changed lesson to lesson, depending on how well the researcher explained. But still great course!

by João V V

Oct 06, 2019

It is a great course, very well developed, those involved explain very well, besides having a broad knowledge base. I am very pleased, I feel that this course will really help me in life.

by Ragini R

Jun 11, 2020

The course was very useful and the content has been distributed very well. It has helped me learn a lot of things about various prevalent cancers. Thank you so much to the team. Regards.