Chevron Left
Introduction to the Biology of Cancer に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による Introduction to the Biology of Cancer の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
3,152件の評価
659件のレビュー

コースについて

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

人気のレビュー

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

フィルター:

Introduction to the Biology of Cancer: 126 - 150 / 648 レビュー

by Anjana v

Apr 01, 2020

it was really a helpful class for me as a biotech student and i would like to have more classes in other areas.it help me to learn much more deep into cancer biology

by Jamyang P

Aug 19, 2019

The entire lecture and construct of the syllabus was very simple and informative. I recommend others to kindly look up to this course and have a informative session.

by Ruchi A G

May 22, 2020

I have learned many things on the topic of cancer and I think this course gave me more knowledge about cancer and it's risk factor and prevention and treatment...

by Bishnu B

May 06, 2020

It's great detail of knowing even for out of profession person. Learnt much about cancer, how it thrives and risk it tenders.

I am grateful for this opportunity.

by sachin m

Jun 30, 2017

Very Impressed by the course content and the way the course was handled by the course instructors. Would like to take courses offered by Johns Hopkins in future.

by Omar S

Dec 30, 2016

This course is absolutely ecstatic because the professor is nice and he always comes up with the smartest and most complex information a topic during the lesson!

by Mahmoud E

Apr 20, 2020

This course took me from zero knowledge about cancer to a broad understanding of this disease, its causes, treatment, and screening methods. Highly recommended!

by Monica M

May 19, 2017

Well put together! Great variety in experts leading the course. Amount and level of information shared was just right. I think everyone should take this course!

by Shruti S

Feb 11, 2017

Thank you so much for providing such a interesting course, especially thanks for financial support, I will be always there for courser, cant forget the great he

by Lillian L

Dec 04, 2017

Very good course. Although I didn't purchase the certificate, I still learned a lot. I would recommend it to anyone interested in cancer and how it is treated.

by Ayesha A

Apr 21, 2020

I found this course very helpful and informative. Any student from life science background can easily understand this course. I highly recommend this course.

by SANDRA M S

May 16, 2020

This course is really useful.You will get info about cancer from grass root level if you are new in this field.Attend this course guys,it will help you

by Thirza H P v ' S

Jan 26, 2020

It was an awesome course to do, I learned so much and the learning material was handed to me in a interactive way. Which made it easy for me to learn

by Mahmoud A

Apr 30, 2017

this is a really good one and of course I had a very good time during the course and really great thanks to the educators of the course and coursera

by Agasthya S

Aug 09, 2016

A very good primer on the most common cancer types. I hope to see a more advanced iteration of this course for those who want deeper understanding.

by Gerda S

May 07, 2018

Very good explained and slides that are very helpful. I learned a lot in a course with quite short lectins. Very appreciated to get the course in

by Vanessa C d C L

Feb 25, 2018

This was a very interesting course and well put together I enjoyed the lessons and the variety of information about the existing types of cancer.

by Surekha C

May 20, 2020

The Course on "Introduction to the Biology of Cancer" was very good and useful. The lectures were so good in understanding the concept clearly.

by Naveen K

Aug 25, 2018

This is an excellent introduction to Cancer Biology. Occasionally you do need to clarify a term from the Internet, but that is not a big issue.

by Marcos H N A

Mar 03, 2020

Excelente. Contribuiu para minha formação e para nova disciplina que irei minstrar esta semana: CITOPATOLOGIA ONCÓTICA. Obrigado!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by JAYENDRA V

Sep 26, 2019

it was most amazing way of studying and I thank you Prof. K Pienta and all my teachers for making this course the most unique and informative.

by Natasha D S

Aug 25, 2018

Good course to give an over all view of cancer. Talks about how cancer cells are formed, how they spread, how cancer is diagnosed and treated.

by Ximena T V

May 26, 2020

Es un excelente curso en donde se puede tener conceptos claros de cada tema que se revisa, los profesores son muy claros en las explicaciones

by Dario M

Apr 22, 2019

really nice. every doctor should talk slowly as mr Pienza does because some of us are foreigners and it would be easier for us to understand.