Chevron Left
The Truth About Cats and Dogs に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による The Truth About Cats and Dogs の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,254件の評価
376件のレビュー

コースについて

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

人気のレビュー

HR

Mar 27, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

JJ

May 02, 2020

I have had a variety of animal companions throughout my life, but this course has taught me that I could always benefit by staying up-to-date on the latest information related to animal welfare.

フィルター:

The Truth About Cats and Dogs: 1 - 25 / 372 レビュー

by E. J L

Sep 03, 2017

This course was well produced but very simple and repetitive. I was hoping for a much more in depth exploration of behaviour and maybe something that was new or exciting. I felt it was way too basic.

by Mihika G

Jul 29, 2019

Solid basis and introductory information for learning about cat and dog behavior. However, I felt it was a bit shallow and repetitive at times, and I found myself wanting more information within the course and not just provided in additional resources. I enjoyed the parts of lessons most when the instructors went into depth about a particular behavior with examples and videos, and especially when research studies were cited to explain behavior. To me this felt like a good first unit of a 101 course, and I found myself wanting 200-level course information.

by bronwyn

Jul 11, 2017

Pretty basic stuff. Not sure that its relevant to cover cats and dogs in one course as the nature of the course is for animal owners to learn about their pet. i for one have no interest in cats so skipped those sections and thus had to guess on the quizzes. Not sure i learned anything much, this is a very beginner pet owner level. The instructors were good though.

by Corrina S

Jul 18, 2019

I must say, I agree that there is more information on dogs than there is on cats in this course. However, I understand why. Dogs have been domesticated and studied for longer. So of course we have more information about them than cats. I myself am more of a cat person and I still think this course thoroughly covers information about cats as well. I think this course is essential for anyone who is caring for or wants to care for a cat or a dog in the future, and is a great course to start with if you're interested in working with animals as well. Overall, I have nothing but good things to say about this course.

by Bright B

Feb 18, 2018

Great information, really thorough explanations. And I was able to apply most (if not all) of my new learnings in real life situations. I work at a cat and dog boarding/training facility and it helps massively to understand cat & dog body language. Obviously the goal is to provide the animals lodging with a safe and intuitive environment, their needs come first.

by Adriana P

Oct 31, 2017

Este curso, en conjunto con el curso "Animal behaviour and Welfare" de la Universidad de Edimburgo han sido de los cursos más completos, didácticos, dinámicos y "bonitos" que he tomado en Cousera.

Se agradece profundamente a todos los involucrados en su realización. Y la generosidad al compartir su tiempo, experiencia y conocimientos.

by Antonia A B

Feb 17, 2019

I loved this course! It's my favourite MOOC I've done on here so far! Very engaging and enjoyable, lovely instructors and the other students have been really nice on the forums! The content was excellent, I would absolutely recommend this to anyone interested in the area or even just a pet owner or animal lover :) Amazing course!

by Shannon S

Jul 06, 2018

This course was a great refresher on what I have already been taught and also full of new information to help me in my profession as an animal behaviour consultant and trainer. I was really impressed with the content and the professors were excellent. I am very impressed and hope they offer more MOOC's like this one.

by Jeannette J

May 02, 2020

I have had a variety of animal companions throughout my life, but this course has taught me that I could always benefit by staying up-to-date on the latest information related to animal welfare.

by Ana B d F

Mar 19, 2019

Very nice course for people who have or plan on having a cat or dog. I wish everyone had to take this course before owning pets.

by Tammy P

Nov 14, 2018

I enjoyed this course. If I had any suggestions, it would be to have separate courses for Cats and Dogs as I think all of the topics covered can go into grave more detail. Especially behavioral traits. Ie) Why when you play fetch the dog hides with the ball or stick after retrieving it? Why does dogs like being crated? Why do some dogs have tails that are up in the air and some that never move and hang down? A class in First Aid and/or CPR would be great. Why do some dogs have allergies to chicken or turkey? Why do dogs eat less and/or tend to loose weight as they grown older. Is there any benefit to vitamins or Glucosamine Sulfate? Etc and etc. Anyhow, thank you for what you have provided.

by Kellie S

Jun 21, 2018

The audio levels vary greatly between videos. Some are so quiet that I have to put the subtitles on while others are way too loud. Some of the transcripts are written up nicely with correct time stamps and others are just a wall of text. Other than these technical issues the actual course content is interesting and covers all aspects from commonly known information to more professional levels.This is a great course and would recommend it to those who are interested in animal behaviour in our daily lives.

by Douglas M

Jan 10, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much. It was very informative and I learned a great deal about how both cats and dogs behave and I have applied much of what I learned successfully to the way I handle my pet cat. Excellent and informative instructors.

by Piratat W

Apr 22, 2020

VERY GOOD COURSE! THANKYOU

I run into dilemma i work in contryside here and adopted injured cute cat last year, she was at age of 6 months few years ago. She's now doing well here at my workplace which consists of wide area, green fields , gardens, farm, hillsides, some residency houses and small flats. She get on well with old granny cat despite a battle during first few months and now almost everyone here know her . Now another black cat come to join us too. I have a plan for my master degree and get higher salary jobs, so I be in two minds, take her along or let her stay. if I take her to new environment that surely be much more small space in small flats nearby the university or new company I may deposit her at my mum's grocery but last time i heard about that place is mum's old cat be eaten cruelty by the stray dogs pack Or I better let her enjoy life here as usual and come to visit sometimes? until I have a big house... I must miss her surely.

by Julie S

May 19, 2020

This course is excellent, I recommend it to anyone thinking of adopting a dog or a cat, those who already have one, and those who work with cats or dogs professionally. I have been a professional pet sitter/dog walker for 5 + years and found this course a great refresher on my knowledge and experience. I also really appreciated the 'Ask the Experts' bits of the course. There's always something new to learn about these fascinating creatures! All the instructors are excellent. I would love to see the same team create another MOOC on the topic of cats and/or dogs or other domestic pets. The more we know, the better their lives can be. Many thanks.

by Nurse R

Jun 27, 2020

I enjoy exploring this course very much. The lessons in each week are so much interesting and the teachers do have the deep knowledge about what they teach. They always explain everything calmly and clearly. I have received a lot of new knowledge and techniques from this course, some data surprised me such as dogs don't have dominance hierarchy, cats can be trained to do many things, and old dogs and cats have cognitive dysfunction like Alzheimer's or Dementia in humans. The most important thing for me is that I got many useful trick to deal with dogs and cats in each different situation. Thank you very much!

by Lori A D

Jun 21, 2020

I think it is wonderful that people are learning to look out for the welfare of dogs and cats. I wish as much had been done for children years ago. I am glad that people are beginning to see animals as the special creatures they are, and not as human beings. We will never see them if we look at them this way because animals have special needs, and we need to see what they need through their eyes, and understand their world. We need to care that much, and by caring that much, we will love them, and derive much happiness and joy from them. Thank you for this course.

by sherry v

Jun 17, 2020

I've always loved cats and dogs and have been active in dog rescue for years. I have learned so much that just isn't available elsewhere. The instructors are so knowledgeable and offered real, useful ways to improve the lives of animals. We have 2 senior cats who we have had for over 15 years. I have sought advice from vets countless times for behavioural issues- and never received any useful advice. I immediately applied the advice from the course and have seen a great difference in both cats. My sincere thanks for offering such a great course.

by Jade B

Feb 01, 2020

Great insight into cats and dogs and the care required for them. Love the videos and interactivity. Really enjoyable course. The title doesn't really do it justice really! Would be great to have a course just for the care of dogs which people who are considering getting a dog could take (cover puppies/dogs and rescue dogs). Just the basics and resources for what is actually required for a dog- rather than just running out and getting a puppy because they are cute! "Becoming a dog owner or becoming a better dog owner" Same for cats.

by Rozana T

Mar 31, 2020

This course was very interesting, it gave me an opportunity to learn new things about dogs, which I did not know so much about & see the professionals' view on cats & compare it with my own knowledge & observations. I appreciated the instructors' genuine caring for both species' welfare. I also learned about the organizations, resources & laws governing animal protection in the UK & Scotland. Last but not least I am now most motivated to further study & pursue a more formal academic degree on the subject.

by SHASHANK S

Jun 20, 2018

THIS COURSE IS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE BEHAVIOR OF CATS AND DOG . I DONT HAVE ANY CAT AND DOG YET BUT I TAKE THIS COURSE BECAUSE I LOVE THEM AND NOW I CAME TO KNOW LOTS ABOUT THEM . SO WHEN I TAKE THEM HOME THIS KNOWLEDGE WILL BE VERY HELPFUL. FOR ME.I WAS BITTEN BY A DOG 6 TO 8 YEARS BEFORE THEN I AFRAID FROM THEM BUT NOW I LOVE THEN.SO VERY THANKS TO EDX AND THE UNIVERSITY FOR SUCH A COURSE COME AGAIN WITH SOMETHING NEW. THANK YOU VERY MUCH ONCE AGAIN.

by Samantha M

Feb 25, 2019

This course is especially helpful to anyone who is new to pet ownership, or even those who think they are experienced. It is full of the most up to date info on Cat and Dog behaviour and how we can help them live a good life with us. Although we love them, we might not always realize that what we are doing is perhaps not the best for them and could be done better - this course will make you think about this and find ways to improve their life with you.

by Linda M

Jun 14, 2018

I learned some really interesting things about the way cats and dogs see their world. I have a difficult dog so I have spent quite a bit of time learning how to handle her and much of the information here was familiar to me. But, the information about cats was almost entirely new to me. I have been telling everyone I know who has a cat all about it. !!! Loved the course, people teaching it seemed so kind and focused on the well being of our pets.

by Aileen S

Apr 05, 2020

A fantastic course which I thoroughly enjoyed. I learned so much more about my own cat and how to look after her welfare better and to understand her more. I would really recommend this course to any pet owner or even someone considering buying a cat or dog. The videos were excellent and helped to communicate the course information in a very good way. Thanks for letting me complete it!

by Jan M

Jun 28, 2019

Great course. I feel a real achievement finishing the course. It was a very professional course. I learnt some key concepts and facts about cats and dogs. I recommend this course if you want to care for your pets better. Thanks to the teachers at University of Edinburgh. You've improved my knowledge and now the animals around me will be happier!