Chevron Left
Measuring Causal Effects in the Social Sciences に戻る

Measuring Causal Effects in the Social Sciences, コペンハーゲン大学(University of Copenhagen)

4.2
109件の評価
30件のレビュー

このコースについて

How can we know if the differences in wages between men and women are caused by discrimination or differences in background characteristics? In this PhD-level course we look at causal effects as opposed to spurious relationships. We will discuss how they can be identified in the social sciences using quantitative data, and describe how this can help us understand social mechanisms....

人気のレビュー

by NB

Feb 02, 2019

This is a great course for people working in evaluating different social projects. Improved my insights a lot!

by OA

Jan 06, 2019

I found it enlightening. It surely clarifies the concept of causality.

フィルター:

30件のレビュー

by Junxiong Yin

Feb 16, 2019

Quite fundamental and basic stuff for causal inference, but it is a good start.

by Jie Feng

Feb 13, 2019

Very good short time course, highly recommended.

by niladri sekhar bagchi

Feb 02, 2019

This is a great course for people working in evaluating different social projects. Improved my insights a lot!

by Sixtus Aguree

Jan 31, 2019

Very useful course for people doing measurements in social sciences.

by Dursun Demir

Jan 21, 2019

Very fast and standard way of sharing knowledge. Easy to understand but diffcicult to digest.

by Olawoyin Gregory Adedigba

Jan 06, 2019

I found it enlightening. It surely clarifies the concept of causality.

by Vidya Bharathi R

Jan 01, 2019

Great material to review causal inference concepts.

by Sophie Wei

Dec 27, 2018

The Professor has interpreted the course very detailed and thoroughly in terms of key methodologies and formulas. He also gave concrete examples and database to help me understand the theoretical knowledge. The quiz after each course are very helpful to understand new concepts and data implications in the examples. The only flaw might be too fast and not clear pronunciation of the instructor. Also, this is the only course about Impact Evaluation (i.e. RCT, IV, Diff-in-Diff) provided in Coursera. I hope there will be other similar courses available in Coursera!

by Rohit Vishal Kumar

Dec 13, 2018

Good course with good explanation. But request please use a whiteboard instead of chalkboard in the background as the chalkboard becomes difficult to read on mobile devices. Some explanations can be augmented with additional reading

by Tomasz Jankowski

Dec 05, 2018

This course makes clear distinction between different approaches to causality with nice graphics. That's good. But my feeling is that it uses explanation methods which are easy to understand only for those... who are already familiar with IV & DID. It's easy to find on the web more straight forward explanations on the web, yet still statistically rigorous.

While explanation level is always something very personal and can ba argued upon, there are clear flaws in the tests: 1) the way how questions are being asked suggest answer to the questions asked above. 2) questions are sometimes not precise enough, e.g. in module 5:

"What is the average test score for students who were in special education during 1st grade?"

should be

"What is the average test score for students AFTER KINDERGARTEN who were in special education during 1st grade?"