Chevron Left
Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court に戻る

ローザンヌ大学(University of Lausanne) による Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
346件の評価
104件のレビュー

コースについて

The aim of this course is to promote critical thinking with regard to forensic science. Today, in general, most people are dazzled by the technical possibilities offered by forensic science. They somewhat live in the illusion that forensic evidence is fool proof and brings factual findings with 100% certainty. This course – given by specialists in the field – goes beyond the conventional image that is promoted through TV series such as CSI. It alerts (without alarming) the public on the limits of the techniques in order to promote a sound administration of forensic science in the criminal justice system.  It allows participants to understand the importance of probabilistic reasoning in forensic science, because uncertainty is a constitutive part of forensic science. The course is constructed as a series of causes célèbres that could or have led to miscarriages of justice. Some of these cases have been part of case reviews carried out at the School of Criminal Justice of the University of Lausanne....

人気のレビュー

AM
2021年2月20日

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

JR
2020年5月26日

The instructors are very helpful and accessible. The course is enlightening and very important in the effective interpretation of forensic science. Thank you for preparing this course!

フィルター:

Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court: 1 - 25 / 104 レビュー

by Abhishek U A

2020年4月29日

It helps your analytical thinking and logical reasoning.

by Caroline

2019年1月21日

This course is a great introduction into the hierarchy of propositions and our duty to the court as expert witnesses. It discusses in length the importance of reporting two alternate hypothesis in a balanced and transparent manner. It also drills home the risks involved, and uses several real life case studies to demonstrate what happens when science isn't followed or communicated correctly – that is, the associated dangers of misrepresentation and misinterpretation of results by both practitioner and judiciary. If you're skeptical and still questioning the importance of improving current state reporting and testimony (particularly within the pattern matching disciplines), then watch the interviews of victims affected by high profile erroneous fingerprint identifications (McKie/Mayfield). It not only humanizes what we do, but reminds us that we have a duty to the court, to the science and to public safety. It was a great privilege to be taught by leading forensic practitioners! Their collective wealth of knowledge is evident and I admire the large amount of behind-the-scenes work that would have been put into producing this course. I highly recommend this to people interested in strengthening forensic science, and I look forward to the next installment.

by Jan D K

2019年1月30日

Well done Christophe, Alex, Tacha and Franco. The explanation regarding the different cases was very interesting to read. I wasn’t aware of all the impact and only know part of the stories behind the forensics.

This course is also very interesting to non-scientists and I am curious to see if the prosecutors understand the concepts of it. In our common previous experience, I was very disappointed in our attempt to explane the ENFSI guideline to Eurojust.

I look forward to see more of the same stuff here on coursera. Take care, Jan DE KINDER

by sandro s

2019年12月3日

The course is excellent. The teachers are very competent and teach in a friendly manner. I am a teacher of Criminal Law in Brazil and I also indicated the course to my students. Congratulations!

by Courtney B

2020年4月4日

An excellent course; particularly for law students with an interest in pursuing criminal law and broadening their understanding of the applications of forensic evidence in the field.

by Gowtham A

2020年5月9日

This course helped me in various aspects of forensic science with interesting case law and overall i made use of quarantine Productively

Thank you

by BZD E

2019年1月12日

Cours vraiment intéressant, qui a un intérêt autant pour les scientifiques que les magistrats, et permet de mieux comprendre l'interprétation des données scientifiques en forensique. La forme du cours est idéale : des vidéos courtes et qui reprennent plusieurs fois les notions importantes. Merci aux créateurs (des pointures du domaine forensique) du cours et vous qui hésitez encore, lancez-vous !

by Coreen S

2019年4月13日

Great Course, learned a lot on evaluative report writing and how forensic science should speak to the course. However, it would have been interesting to see how offender profiling in a expert witness context should speak to courts.

by Merisa C

2019年1月3日

Beautifully designed course, interesting and on point lectures, creative and motivating lecturers. Loved included real cases. I enjoyed very much taking the course. Thank you for such constructive and helpful course!

by Cobus-Henry S

2020年4月29日

Excellent content offered by pioneers in the field of scientific experts and how evidence is to be presented in courtrooms worldwide.

by Bill P

2019年3月21日

Terrific course. Excellent instructors with essential guest participation and interviews. I'd very much like to see followup courses.

by Victoria D

2019年10月6日

Gives you a strong framework about what considerations a forensic expert has to consider with respect to the evidence vs the court.

by Gaston P

2019年1月11日

Excellent Course, The transcripts should also be translated to other languages for the sake of non english speaking participants.

by Nkosingiphile T

2019年9月1日

Nice and interesting course indeed!. Lot of skills I have acquired and I will be aware of mistakes that we normally do.

by Jenny O

2019年8月12日

Very interestin and well presented course.

by Flavio L R

2019年5月24日

Great course with much useful information.

by ABHIJIT R

2020年4月19日

Excellent Course

by Alexis M C

2019年1月7日

It is a course to pay close attention because of the type of information taught. Forensic Statistics was difficult for me. I did learn a lot and believe I could use this information in my own Criminal Cases here in Yucatan, Mexico.

by Maria C F L

2020年8月26日

Difficult but interesting course. Topic (but then its math) is still a little abstract. Discussion could be clearer.

by ADAMS M

2021年2月21日

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

by LYNELLE T W Q

2020年7月11日

One of the most well-structured online courses I have taken so far! The objectives and learning points are clearly emphasised every lecture and overall this was a great course.

by lelievre

2019年11月14日

cours très pédagogiques, formats adaptés, contenu adapté à la pratique, à conseiller! et à appliquer en pratique!

by Massimiliano S

2019年1月2日

I found in this course all the things that one forensic scientist must be aware about! Thank You

by Dan C

2020年3月24日

excellent. I learned a few things that I was unaware of. Good teaching and excellent examples.

by Felix K O A

2020年11月17日

VERY HELP AND I WILL RECOMMEND TO ALL, ESPECIALLY THOSE IN THE FIELD OF INVESTIGATIONS.