Chevron Left
Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court に戻る

ローザンヌ大学(University of Lausanne) による Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
355件の評価
105件のレビュー

コースについて

The aim of this course is to promote critical thinking with regard to forensic science. Today, in general, most people are dazzled by the technical possibilities offered by forensic science. They somewhat live in the illusion that forensic evidence is fool proof and brings factual findings with 100% certainty. This course – given by specialists in the field – goes beyond the conventional image that is promoted through TV series such as CSI. It alerts (without alarming) the public on the limits of the techniques in order to promote a sound administration of forensic science in the criminal justice system.  It allows participants to understand the importance of probabilistic reasoning in forensic science, because uncertainty is a constitutive part of forensic science. The course is constructed as a series of causes célèbres that could or have led to miscarriages of justice. Some of these cases have been part of case reviews carried out at the School of Criminal Justice of the University of Lausanne....

人気のレビュー

AM
2021年2月20日

Very interesting course developing an understanding of forensic science and its use in various criminal cases as well as highlighting the limitations and challenges associated with its use in court.

JR
2020年5月26日

The instructors are very helpful and accessible. The course is enlightening and very important in the effective interpretation of forensic science. Thank you for preparing this course!

フィルター:

Challenging Forensic Science: How Science Should Speak to Court: 26 - 50 / 105 レビュー

by Aarushi

2020年4月11日

the teaching methods and articles provided a lot of help! It'a course worth doing.

by Germán E C H

2021年8月26日

Very important course to clean and use an appropriate language in court.

by Clene A O

2020年4月12日

Very educative and eye opening course.

I enjoyed it thoroughly.

by Diego N A

2019年10月14日

Excellent course

by Yohana S

2019年1月3日

Very nice course

by MURTAZA M

2019年9月11日

Great

by Mauro M M

2020年10月31日

The course is excellent to understand how forensic science should NOT speak to the Court. This is because, in my opinion, great emphasis was given to mistakes in Forensic Science. In this perspective, one should think that the errors are more frequent than the correct interpretation of evidences by forensic scientists. Nonetheless, I agree that even the correct findings could be fragile in terms of logical conclusions. This is a particular discipline that should have more attention in the training of forensic science practitioners. Thanks for all and congratulations to open community eyes to the better forensic science.

by MICHAEL K B

2020年7月18日

This course has opened my mind. It has challenged my training as a fingerprint examiner. I do not want to take away anything from the presenters. I think they gave their best however the presentations of the lectures can be explained more clearly. I struggled to understand the quizzes.

by Pragati B

2020年9月15日

A very helpful course, to understand how forensic results should be interpreted concerning the case presented before. Also helps in knowing how the results shouldn't be trusted blindly as there is always room for discrepancies.

by Clemente A P S

2020年11月29日

It's an excellent course with important information for us, forensic scientists, and also for lawyers and judges. It helps us to write better reports and to giver better answers written or in the court.

by Sally P

2020年11月10日

Learnt a lot and really enjoyed the course and the way it was presented.

by Crystal S

2020年5月29日

Some of the translating needed work - but an enjoyable course!

by Marvin J D V

2020年7月27日

I would like to congratulate the teachers and the University of Lausanne for making their knowledge available to the world. As a Latin American, there remains a feeling of uncertainty because "the fallacy of the prosecutor" and the "fallacy of authority" are what serve to base a judicial decision, ignoring the fact that there is a universe of probabilities that must be studied, included and evaluated in a case.

I think that if in this region we deepen in the way you evaluate and make "speak" Forensic Science, much of the scientific literature that we still use will have to be examined and rewritten.

Thank you very much for this excellent experience. Congratulations to the teachers and all the team who worked to connect our senses to the "new world" of Forensic Sciences.

by Melissa E

2021年5月2日

I have studied forensic science for several years, but this one course definitely confronted some of the more disputed aspects of forensic testimony including what is expected (the 'CSI effect'), the importance of statistics, proper reporting, and even humility. While virtually learning from the forensic campus building, the course covers several real cases and has very special interviews. The course addresses mistakes made in the past, so in the future, miscarriages of justice will be less likely. I appreciate learning online especially during this pandemic.

by Lenett Y H

2020年10月18日

Very informative and a great help to how a testify in court in the future. I did have a little problems to understand the “language” sometimes, and I don’t mean language literally, just that the wording was a bit confusing to me and sometimes I noticed the translation to English might have been a bit off. But regardless, I was very impressed with the content and it really made me think about how we here in the US testify. I will definitely explore more on line courses from the University of Lausanne. Thank you!

by kamozut

2021年11月1日

T​his is a great course that provides excellent insights to actual workings of science, human flaws and statistics. It is also very easy to follow and provides lots of additional material if one wants to study further. I have no education in forensic science or law. Even though the course would be most useful to those with such occupations I think it should reach a much wider audience. If you ever enjoyed reading a good popular science book you should try this course.

by Teresa C

2020年10月7日

The course provides an interesting perspective in marrying forensic science with judicial system. As a layperson to forensic science, certain concepts and techniques such as analysing DNA seems too difficult for me to grasp, but learning the recommended practice and framework of evaluative reporting of forensic science have enhanced my knowledge and crushed my entrenched belief that forensic evidence is certainty!

by Mark T

2021年4月7日

I cannot recommend this course highly enough. The lectures were by specialists, but understandable to a non-scientist. They outlined individual cases of interest, and explained how miscarriages of justice might occur. They introduced the student to the appropriate ENFSI guidelines, and how forensic scientists should explain their conclusions to the court. Thanks to all involved.

by Vaishnavi C R

2020年7月4日

Very well explained. well organised videos. It was great to have the interviews watched with the people directly linked to the cases, to know their point of view. Forensic science is infallible is a myth and care has to be taken to combat the wrong doings in the analysis and evaluation.Well presented and can be recommended. Thank you so much

by Linda

2021年4月8日

The course was interesting and challenging. The laboratory courses were a nice change from the theoretical part. The theoretical part was sometimes too much read and I find the theory could have been explained more. It would have helped if we had the slides in a document (pdf). Professors had a very high standard.

by Devika E

2020年6月25日

Before I was learning this I thought that , forensic evidence is the ultimate certainty that a person committed a particular crime but now I am aware of what are the things that can go wrong and how to analyse a forensic report.

Thank you so much for such an initiative to enlighten students from all over the world

by Chain F

2021年7月15日

Nice focus on bayessian ideas, although there was no real explanation of any math. Really good overview of different forensic techniques's precisions. But this course concentrates on physical evidence, if you wan't to know something about how to use witnesses, you need to find some forensic psychology course.

by Becky H

2020年12月21日

By far the most organized and professionally produced course MOOC. It got a bit technical at points but they bring you back in the section reviews. And, of course, “technical” is my own subjective analysis. I quite enjoyed this course and the discourse on forensic science was useful for my area of work.

by Vivienne H

2020年5月21日

This has been an extremely enlightening and interesting course. Well constructed and delivered, so everyone can learn at their own pace, within a structured environment and supported by experts who were accessible if you needed further help or clarification. I would definitely recommend it!

by Madhur T

2020年8月8日

wonderful platform to gain knowledge with certification. learnt about the value of evidences when it comes in the form of interpretation to deal with probabilities and uncertainty. learnt about the ethics of how science should speak in court with forensic evaluation.