Chevron Left
Chicken Behaviour and Welfare に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Chicken Behaviour and Welfare の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
409件の評価
156件のレビュー

コースについて

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

人気のレビュー

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

フィルター:

Chicken Behaviour and Welfare: 1 - 25 / 152 レビュー

by Aminullah

Feb 17, 2019

this course is very gainful for any person who is involved in any type of poultry production system directly or indirectly i would instigate all to involve and complete this course.

by Muhammad B c

Nov 29, 2018

very informative.....

by Muhammad I

Feb 15, 2019

An informative course for backyard and commercial poultry farmers to improve welfare aspects in the process of chicken production whether its for meat or egg production.

by Simon V d b

Jan 25, 2019

The course consisted of a smart alternation between lecture videos, demonstrative videos, interviews and documents. The instructor spoke clearly and at a thoughtful pace and I appreciate how the videos were filmed on-site. The course also provided tips for anyone keeping chickens in a backyard coop.

by Carolina M B

Mar 25, 2019

Very well designed!

by Susan E

Mar 26, 2019

Excellent course, very informative & well presented

by Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent technical information!

by Fernando J p d

Jan 21, 2019

I'm about to start a small breeding project for laying hens naturally and it has been very important to know such an important topic.

by Saira T

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course. Course video's and reading information was very interesting.

by Gipsi T

Sep 04, 2018

Great course for increasing awareness of a bird that is so useful to much of humanity.

by Lawrence m

Oct 16, 2018

I have what I needed to know now but I need the link to pay for this certificate or account

by Monique H

Oct 07, 2018

I learned a lot from this course: what is normal and necessary behavior for chickens, what they require for welfare, EU regulations, how modern farming methods may fall short of providing true welfare, the challenges of transport, what is required for humane culling and slaughter, and how selective breeding based on human convenience can lead to welfare issues for the birds. Most important: I learned a lot about what my two backyard girls need to be happy.

by Bitney M

Nov 03, 2018

Well balanced course. Presented in a structured way. Providing excellent information and good perspective.

by Laura W

Nov 05, 2018

I loved this course. This course covers everything from the fields of study used for behavior to end-of-life situations, including slaughter. I couldn’t bring myself to watch the videos in the last week, as I don’t care to learn how to slaughter these wonderful birds. Well worth the money if you want the certificate. I most appreciated the discussion of incorporating natural behaviors into the commercial raising of chickens and how studies of such behaviors led to the changing of laws.

by ZAHIRULLAH

Nov 07, 2018

so informative course for me as a pakistani student

by Cynthia B

Jan 08, 2018

I learned a lot! I only wish that there is a section that focuses solely on keeping chickens in the backyard (comparison of breeds, examples of coops, types of feeds, etc.), although I'm not sure if that would fall under chicken behavior and welfare :) Thank you!

by Ruben E B

Jun 28, 2016

Great!!

by Joao L W

Jun 11, 2017

Very educational and honest.

by Anas S

Jan 10, 2017

perfectly organised and set on many short videos which makes learning much easier and simplified and i found all the topics very interesting and very well explained by the professor

by Aynsley S

Jun 09, 2016

I found this course to be very informative for those who are beginning to learn about chickens or would like to expand their knowledge to improve conditions for their backyard flock.

by Maia R

Jun 18, 2017

Very informative and accessible. This course is a must for all chicken-lovers.

by Scarlet C

Feb 25, 2017

I love this course! So super informative.

by Misty K

Dec 02, 2016

Loving this course!!!!! When I was a teenager we lived on a farm and raised chickens I even had several for pets!!

by Katharina H

May 07, 2017

Great for everyone who is interested in chickens or has to do with them!

by Quantina B

Aug 16, 2016

I have learned so much from this course that I hadn't even considered before attempting to raise layers. I especially appreciate the tips for rearing free ranged birds in an urban or small yard environment; expressly the difference in approach for broilers opposed to the layers. I will most definitely incorporate the tip about liming into our routine. I've used it in the past as it sweetens the soil and helps for a healthier lawn, but now I know it can help lessen events of worms. Couldn't be happier about the decision to take this class.