Chevron Left
The City and You: Find Your Best Place に戻る

トロント大学(University of Toronto) による The City and You: Find Your Best Place の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
119件の評価
37件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to The City and You: Find Your Best Place. I'm excited to have you in the class and look forward to your contributions to the other learners in our community. This free course will provide the knowledge and the tools needed to understand what cities do, why they matter, the forces shaping the greatest wave of urbanization in history, and how to pick the right place for you. The course will also help you develop critical thinking skills. We'll accomplish this by providing evidence of the importance of cities, and why and how they matter to you. Then we’ll ask you to apply what you’ve learned in an exercise which will help you assess your own community and find your best place. This course is accessible and open to anyone who is interested in learning more about cities and the ways they affect our lives. It is organized around five key modules: (1) Why Cities Matter, (2) A World of Cities, (3) The Creative City, (4) The Divided City and the New Urban Crisis, and (5) How to Find the Best Place for You. After completing the course, you will be able to: (1) Identify why cities are the drivers of economic prosperity; (2) Explain the drivers and implications of fast-growing urbanization worldwide; (3) Outline the key characteristics of a creative and innovative city; (4) Describe the social divides and challenges facing cities and the solutions cities are using to address them; and (5) Recognize the trade-offs of staying in your current city versus moving, and identify the best place for you and your family to live. Of course the world has changed a great deal since I developed this course. The Global COVID-19 Pandemic is affecting cities, businesses and people around the world. It is something I have been writing about and working with mayors, city managers, economic developers, urban leaders and communities across the globe. I have put together a new module on Cities and the Coronavirus to help you better understand the ways in which the Covid-19 crisis is impacting cities and how you can best understand and deal with that. I’d like to wish each and every one of you good luck as you get started on this journey. I hope you enjoy the course!...

人気のレビュー

RS

2017年11月1日

Great course for gaining a better understanding on what makes cities successful, what their challenges are, and how to compare them from an objective viewpoint.

TD

2017年11月4日

Thanks Prof. Florida, you really opened my eyes to possibility of relocation as a serious endeavour for my future success and happiness!

フィルター:

The City and You: Find Your Best Place: 26 - 37 / 37 レビュー

by Alessandra T A

2021年7月1日

good and interesting

by sakshi s

2022年5月31日

awesome course

by Zakharchenko A

2021年5月16日

I love this

by Ashutosh M

2021年4月10日

Best course

by Karen K

2022年6月8日

Richard Florida and his topics / content is very interesting. I really enjoyed the reading materials as well as the lectures, however; not all of the links were available (i.e.: articles in the Atlantic and the Globe and Mail had been archived) and some of the resources required subscriptions or purchases, but over all, very interesting topics and research. I very much liked applying the tools and resources to what I valued to determine the best place for me to live, or to critically start thinking about the politicans and their visions/influences on shaping the cities and how that aligns with my values and not only the kind of place that I want to live in, but how they can influence/contribute to my country's economy and the creative and diverse people that we want to attract to further grow our cities and country.

by Judy D

2022年3月19日

I found this course to be totally enjoyable and interesting. It is the first course that I have taken that deal with cities and their urban and economic growth and I hope to follow up in the future with some more courses in this field as they become available. I now find that that workings of my city make a lot more sense to me and the local news covering my city's urban planning and ecomony hold a new interestt as well. Many thanks to Richard Florida for making this topic so interesting!

by Brenda S

2018年6月18日

Enjoyable and insightful, with lots of good readings. I would recommend it.

by Pratiksha D

2019年6月18日

Learn a lot from sessions.

by Giannis R

2018年3月26日

I really enjoyed the course. There were really interesting concepts to learn about and it also forced you to reflect more seriously on which city you should choose for yourself. Professor Florida is also really good at explaining and presenting. Where there is space for improvement. The readings could be more comprehensive. Some were articles that really didn't offer that much. And secondly I think the course could really go deeper into the topics presented. I felt that it was more of an general overview.

Still a valuable course to do if you are thinking about cities. It is worth the time.

by yaroslav

2018年2月22日

The topic is interesting, though slightly misleading - the answer about your search about the place in city is not very clear. A lot of factual information - the course is very thourough. The tone is rather pessimistic and almost all readings are by the same author. Minor technical issue - I listened to the course in headphones and the sound was not very loud. All in all - a lot of interesting info, issues and problems about big megacities, no more, no less.

by Rahul B

2020年7月25日

Well Presented with good example. this course was a great for helping me to understand the various elements of projects i'm currently involved in. after completing this project i'm much more confident than the past in case of project handling. it is a great learning, one can understand the project management basic in the simplest possible way. what i liked in this course was that there were lots of examples given by professor

by JEREMY O L

2022年3月11日

Is it just me or I didn't found any certificate in this course?