Chevron Left
Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries に戻る

ケープタウン大学(University of Cape Town) による Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
235件の評価
74件のレビュー

コースについて

This course challenges you to consider how one might lift societies out of poverty while also mitigating greenhouse gas emissions. We explore the inherent complexity of developing country governments wanting to grow their economies in a climate friendly way. You will be introduced to an approach with which to address this challenge. The approach consists of a facilitated process whereby academic researchers and high-level influential actors within society co-produce knowledge. You will track this process in four Latin American countries - Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru, and South Africa. You will hear from various professionals about their contexts and the different challenges and opportunities the process includes. This course will cover topics such as facilitation process techniques, energy modeling, scenario building, innovation and policy making. You will have the opportunity to respond to these topics with ideas and reflection from your own context. Whether you are a climate change practitioner, work in development or are simply curious about how climate mitigation is understood, this course will give you insights into the complexity of how countries from the South pursue development goals while addressing climate mitigation. The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion, which you become eligible for if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

人気のレビュー

MG

Oct 04, 2016

Super-awesome course that taught me about the super-wicked problem of our time and how to effectively achieve climate change mitigation and development objectives from developing countries context

CO

Nov 10, 2017

The course has been very insightful to me as a climate change scientist. It has been very detailed and it has given me input that from a perspective that i had not thought of before. Thank you.

フィルター:

Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries: 51 - 71 / 71 レビュー

by Anderson L C

Jul 16, 2019

Excellent course. The study of the methodologies for the evaluation of scenarios and their use in the policy of reducing the emission of greenhouse gases is a very positive point.

Certainly the content of this course will make a difference in the professionals who work in the area and especially in the population, who is the initial actor of measures to reduce global warming.

by Ruchi S

Aug 28, 2019

VERY GOOD COURSE. gOT TO LEARN A LOT.

by Emmanuel J I

Aug 31, 2019

Course was very thorough and exhaustive. Widened my understanding of climate change from a different perspective that’s unique

by Natanael O F B

Sep 02, 2019

Hands-on course! The structure is based on a real case give a clear understanding of the topic.

by Vincentius K M

Sep 16, 2019

The course was well organized and provided hands on practical experiences of different countries in the developing world. I commend the organizers for a job well done and I recommend the course to anyone that is a climate change enthusiast

by Josaia U

Apr 01, 2019

This course puts into perspective the correlation between the co-production of knowledge, innovation, technology, community towards the development and establishment of a country's policy towards climate change and its effect on developments. I definitely have learnt a lot from other context especially other developing countries.

by Tomasz K

Jan 08, 2018

Great course, well organized and highly interesting. Some talks could be more up to the point and presented more clearly, but the international nature of the exchanges and the multicultural background of speakers explains those factors. I am giving 4 stars because I enjoyed the course a lot, but I think it could be more detailed and factual. Thank you for making this content available.

by Hiba J J J

Jul 14, 2016

It explains the issue of how developing countries are facing climate change and on that aspect it presents the information not only the way they deal with it but the obstacles they encounter in the process. It also introduced very interesting concepts that could be used outside of this course.

by Martins O

Jun 06, 2017

It bridged the gap between conceptions about adverse effect of climate change and practical mitigation.

by legakwa

Jun 18, 2016

g

by Yotam F

Dec 12, 2016

A course that provides an overview of the challenges faced by sustainable development efforts, and the processes the MAPS programme practices to effectively tackle them. I wish I could have access to the detailed "models" that were a main topic to more deeply understand the kind of effort that goes into creating and adjusting them, and how they then translate into affecting policies.

by Edyth M

Feb 16, 2018

G

by Carlos E M R

Jul 05, 2017

Es un gran curso para comprender los retos que enfrentamos para lograr mitigar el cambio climático, así mismo brinda una visión de las herramientas necesarias para lograr una mayor divulgación de conocimientos relacionados con el tema.

by Sroeurng L

Jun 14, 2016

If people can mitigation a climate change the world will be solve the problems . I hope this course can make me clear about climate change in the world . why's climate change ? what's the problems ?

by Fébé P

Jul 21, 2019

Course very useful for an introduction to climate change issues and policy.

by Sreelatha V

Sep 03, 2019

Very practical course that explains the ground-level reality about climate change and how research organizations cope with government, society and industries to get policies implemented.

by Madhulika S

Mar 19, 2019

It was good experience doing this course, but theoretical base was missing in this course. Showcasing MAPS work from different countries was the best part of this course to get realist example.

by Erik S

Apr 18, 2017

A nice course about the MAPS approach and the typical difficulties of natural scientists and mechanical engineers when approaching the political arena and dialoguing with stakeholders. I would like to suggest:

1) to change the name in order to make clear that it is about the specific MAPS approach and not about "climate change mitigation in developing countries" in general terms.

2) to integrate development professionals and some policy analysis / political decision making experts in the revision of the course but also in the MAPS approach in order to make it more effective or relevant for climate governance.

3) to include (more) content about low carbon development and climate change mitigation strategies in some key sectors in the development context in order to increase the benefits for students interested in mitigation.

4) to reduce the parte about the own difficulties of scientists and engineers when interacting with politics and stakeholders.

5) to try to simplify the MAPS approach to make it more accesible to governments and regions in more poor countries.

I hope the feedback is useful. Kind regards and thanks very much.

by Grace A M

Feb 15, 2016

Sugiero que las clases sean mas visuales, es decir que puedan tener mayor contenido visual, ya que es bueno escuchar las experiencias, pero hay escasas presentaciones y videos, lo cual haría mas ameno el curso

by Allyson D

Feb 14, 2018

I enjoyed the lecturers of this course, but it was not what I expected in terms of content. I was hoping for more applied topics and addressing methods of mitigation, whereas I feel that the course focused on how to develop strategies for mitigation.

by Katherine S

May 30, 2017

Not reall a course in climate change mitigation, more a presentation of the MAPs programme.