Chevron Left
Communication in the 21st Century Workplace に戻る

カリフォルニア大学アーバイン校(University of California, Irvine) による Communication in the 21st Century Workplace の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.1
936件の評価
172件のレビュー

コースについて

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

人気のレビュー

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

MM

Feb 01, 2016

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective. I specially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you may be have a great time"

フィルター:

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace: 1 - 25 / 179 レビュー

by Lena L

Nov 11, 2017

The information is very good. However, the course is poorly put together.

Every week has a number of required reading links, some of which are broken or behind paywalls. Quizzes pull from those broken/paywalled links. The quiz questions themselves are poorly written, with it being unclear what answer is expected, and when you get the answers wrong, you get no feedback on what material to review to learn the answers. This is especially frustrating because it's one of those courses that gives you only one chance every 8 hours.

To make things worse, there are no discussion boards where you can get help, which I've never seen on Coursera.

If this course were better put together, I would give it five stars. As-is, it's extremely frustrating, which sucks because the rest of the specialization so far has been fantastic.

by Elaine W

Sep 25, 2018

This course is extremely content light, with quizzes that pick out very small points that frankly, don't make a lot of sense. Most of it was a waste of time.

by Tony S

Apr 22, 2016

Margaret Meloni was constantly looking down to read directly from a poorly-rehearsed script while trying to stumble through phrasing and lecture points. Considering this is a course about communication, this was very disappointing. The quizzes were vague and either didn't have clear correct answers or didn't feel applicable to the module to which it was assigned. After reviewing the material, I had to complete the quizzes by trial-and-error since the answers were not reflected in the lectures.

by Wesley K

Apr 19, 2016

Overly-remedial information, but that is not what earns this course such a poor evaluation from me. The poor evaluation comes from the composition of the review quizzes: The end-of-section quizzes ask questions to which there can be more than one correct answer, yet only a single response will receive credit.

Example: "A recommended solution to a problem is valued by an executive because..." Followed by four possible answers: One of which is clearly incorrect while one makes an awful assumption. These two choices can be eliminated easily. However, the final two options are BOTH UNARGUABLY CORRECT, but only one was briefly mentioned in the material (reading or video), and thus only that one receives credit.

Unfortunately, this demonstrates the course creators' desire to value a student's memorization of the instructor's own unique words over the student's assimilation of the course content and ideas.

Course-takers beware, this course seems more tailored to stroking Ms. Bravo's ego than to you actually learning anything of commercial value.

by James O

Jul 11, 2019

It is very difficult to download the videos. Why?

by Finn O

Jul 02, 2019

While the information in the course was extremely helpful, and the examples were solid and very memorable, the quizzes were absolutely atrocious. Many times I selected answers that I had been informed by the course instructor during the course, as a correect answer, and got told it was incorrect, because a "more correct" option was present (despite each option being equally correct!). Rather than being representative of how I understood the coursework, and giving me opportunity to use and challenge that understanding, the quizzes depended too much on knowing what precisely the instructor was thinking -- which reduced passing down to interative guesswork.

The content was worth it, and I have reams of notes. I just can't recommmend this course, because of the quizzes.

by Kaab A

Jun 22, 2019

Very simple course that can be done even in a busy routine.

by Kuan S

Jun 21, 2019

Contents are not very organized and not in-depth. For example, many readings in "communicate with manager" section are general communication tips. Also, some outside readings requires membership of the websites.

by S. M G M A

Jun 12, 2019

Nice course.

by Shalynn E

Jun 04, 2019

The course is very basic. It covers topics like maintaining eye contact and aligning verbal and non-verbal communication. The portion about how to communicate with your manager was somewhat helpful. The readings are incredibly outdated and most are no longer relevant. The quizzes focus on memor

by Asmita M

Jun 04, 2019

Amazing course

by Nguyen D S

May 29, 2019

Study materials are not really useful because of links to many other sites and courses

by Luidgi S

May 27, 2019

Simple and easy practical tips that we can apply in our routine.

by Sarah R M

May 16, 2019

Excellent class!

by Andrew C K B

Apr 10, 2019

Readings are practical and very detailed

by Dalton S

Mar 29, 2019

Very nice skills to have and I am happy to have gone through it as, what may seem like an obvious subject, few people understand and actually use the skills. This could definitely get you more of an edge if you are looking to advance in your career. Rated 4 of 5 stars due to the fact that it is more of a surface level course then something to really dive into in itself. Otherwise, really great.

by Chandan P

Mar 28, 2019

Great course to understand Professional communication techniques

by Duncan E O O

Mar 08, 2019

Skill sharpener

by Nguyễn H C

Mar 07, 2019

Excellent course.

by Barbara S

Mar 06, 2019

The study material is great and the extra reading material very useful, in general a great course. In my opinion some of the answers in the quiz tests are debatable.

by Jill J

Mar 06, 2019

Thank you for providing useful tips

by Nikii M

Feb 28, 2019

Great course with relevant concepts. Would have given 5 stars, but there were some sites i could not access without paying extra for a subscription.

by Charudatta G

Feb 14, 2019

Excellent course. short and to the point and very practical. Thanks a lot.

by David T B R

Feb 13, 2019

Explanations were too wordy, lecture slides didn't not contain much of the information discussed and the presentation had very little visual reinforcement.

by Mita k

Feb 09, 2019

Thanks for gives me opportunity to acquire the valuable communication way through this course