Chevron Left
Communication in the 21st Century Workplace に戻る

カリフォルニア大学アーバイン校(University of California, Irvine) による Communication in the 21st Century Workplace の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.2
1,497件の評価
309件のレビュー

コースについて

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

人気のレビュー

UK

Apr 27, 2020

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective which iincluded joint discussions. . I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

フィルター:

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace: 1 - 25 / 309 レビュー

by Lena L

Nov 11, 2017

The information is very good. However, the course is poorly put together.

Every week has a number of required reading links, some of which are broken or behind paywalls. Quizzes pull from those broken/paywalled links. The quiz questions themselves are poorly written, with it being unclear what answer is expected, and when you get the answers wrong, you get no feedback on what material to review to learn the answers. This is especially frustrating because it's one of those courses that gives you only one chance every 8 hours.

To make things worse, there are no discussion boards where you can get help, which I've never seen on Coursera.

If this course were better put together, I would give it five stars. As-is, it's extremely frustrating, which sucks because the rest of the specialization so far has been fantastic.

by Wesley K

Apr 19, 2016

Overly-remedial information, but that is not what earns this course such a poor evaluation from me. The poor evaluation comes from the composition of the review quizzes: The end-of-section quizzes ask questions to which there can be more than one correct answer, yet only a single response will receive credit.

Example: "A recommended solution to a problem is valued by an executive because..." Followed by four possible answers: One of which is clearly incorrect while one makes an awful assumption. These two choices can be eliminated easily. However, the final two options are BOTH UNARGUABLY CORRECT, but only one was briefly mentioned in the material (reading or video), and thus only that one receives credit.

Unfortunately, this demonstrates the course creators' desire to value a student's memorization of the instructor's own unique words over the student's assimilation of the course content and ideas.

Course-takers beware, this course seems more tailored to stroking Ms. Bravo's ego than to you actually learning anything of commercial value.

by Tony S

Apr 22, 2016

Margaret Meloni was constantly looking down to read directly from a poorly-rehearsed script while trying to stumble through phrasing and lecture points. Considering this is a course about communication, this was very disappointing. The quizzes were vague and either didn't have clear correct answers or didn't feel applicable to the module to which it was assigned. After reviewing the material, I had to complete the quizzes by trial-and-error since the answers were not reflected in the lectures.

by Alexander F

Aug 23, 2019

Not as good as the other Coursera courses I've taken. Very uneven presentation (two different instructors, plus guest speakers, with no explanation of why), required reading assignments that linked to articles behind subscription paywalls, and very poorly-worded quizzes made for a frustrating learning experience.

by Patrick

Mar 04, 2020

lots of required reading on other websites that want you to create an account and log in. for me it seems to takes away from this sites credibility

by Muntasir

Feb 01, 2016

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective. I specially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you may be have a great time"

by Eric B

Oct 25, 2019

Most of the course content is on external website articles. I can get that for free.

by Agung B A

Apr 12, 2020

This online course is superb. I had the opportunity to explore 4 communication techniques which will be useful to enhance the way of my communication either verbal or virtual. I am so delighted and enthusiast to practice and try in the real situation with my executive, manager, peers and direct reports. AWESOME !

by PAMARTHI K

Jun 10, 2020

I learn Communication skills very well and speakers also teach in specific order to enhance their skills thank for providing Such a wonderful Lecture series.

by Elaine W

Sep 25, 2018

This course is extremely content light, with quizzes that pick out very small points that frankly, don't make a lot of sense. Most of it was a waste of time.

by Susan J C

May 06, 2020

This course was excellent. It was my first experience with Coursera and the Univ of Cal, Irvine. The lessons were through. The resources were appropriate and helpful. I really enjoyed the mix of videos and readings. As an employee of an international company, I believe the lessons were 100% applicable, helpful and will continue to refer back to my notes and resources prov

by GLADSON V C

Apr 03, 2020

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at the workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager. The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective. I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

by Stacy R

Apr 04, 2018

Phenomenal quick and efficient class! It was great how the style intentionally had us focused on her non verbal and verbal cue, and had little note taking and PowerPoint slides. The diversity in research, quizzes, videos, and added comedy really has me honed in on get the ,last out of this course! Quick class, completed in 1 full day.

by Chutikarn N

May 22, 2020

This course can give me a knowledge of communication in the 21st Century Workplace. I think it is very beneficial for people who are work in the organization. To make me know how to use effective communication, how to use verbal and non-verbal, how to work with other people in the team, and etc. Thank you so much

by M. N R K

May 08, 2020

The content of course is awesome and it was a great learning process. Lectures delivered by the instructors are so effective and make me learn excellent communication skills. The videos are nicely crafted with thorough content. Overall a great learning experience and I stupendously enjoyed the course.

by Edina P

May 14, 2020

I have learnt communication in the past but those were always too general. What I liked the most in this course is that it specified situations and levels in the organization - as the customized communication will lead to the most effective collaboration and leading.

by Akash S

Jun 29, 2020

This course help me a lot to get a basic knowledge and value of communication in our day to day life. it taught me how to make them impressive and effective that also help to polish our personality and behaviour. this course is very good n I love it while doing it.

by LIM Z C

Apr 20, 2020

It was a great course came with combination of video and text. Concise, meaningful, and relevant information was delivered smoothly and clearly. Different communication techniques can be learned from this course. Thank you so much.

by Stephen R

Oct 08, 2015

So I went into this not so sure about it but it's actually a fun little course. The instructor is actually really entertaining and makes what could be a very dry and boring topic interesting to hear about.

by UMESH K

Apr 27, 2020

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective which iincluded joint discussions. . I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

by Noor A

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

by Mario J R M

Mar 31, 2017

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace

Congratulations on the platform

Congratulations on the administrative order of the course

Congratulations on the Success of the Course

by Aditya B

Apr 10, 2020

this course really good and very much interactive teachers are very good and their method of teaching is very good and student can understand easily

by Dejan P

Feb 21, 2016

Really well designed course, with lot of examples from world-class games. This course was very useful for my work, as I work in gaming industry.

by Oluwadara R F

May 11, 2018

I never knew there was so much more to learn in communication, I'm excited about my new knowledge and can't wait to share it with my trainees!