Chevron Left
Communication in the 21st Century Workplace に戻る

カリフォルニア大学アーバイン校(University of California, Irvine) による Communication in the 21st Century Workplace の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
1,625件の評価
330件のレビュー

コースについて

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

人気のレビュー

UK

Apr 27, 2020

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective which iincluded joint discussions. . I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

フィルター:

Communication in the 21st Century Workplace: 301 - 325 / 329 レビュー

by Mark L

Jul 02, 2020

Failed to practice what it preached. The course was interesting and pleasantly presented, but failed to apply many of the techniques it promoted. For example guest speakers waffled, in one case 5 minutes of a 9 minute speech was about themselves, and they failed to provide any purposeful techniques applicable in most circumstances. The book reviews did not provide clear takeaways what the student would learn should they read it; several of the reading links did not work or required the student to create an account to access; the estimated reading time was way underestimated; there were no details in the overview how the additional readings added to the course.

by Christian

Jan 11, 2016

I think the teacher was very welcoming, but the content was less than enough to answer the quizzes. In the quizzes, every answer choice was correct and there wasn't any possible way to discern. What the teacher said and complemented with the lectures didn't match with the question answers. So, my score is "2".

by Shalynn S

Jun 04, 2019

The course is very basic. It covers topics like maintaining eye contact and aligning verbal and non-verbal communication. The portion about how to communicate with your manager was somewhat helpful. The readings are incredibly outdated and most are no longer relevant. The quizzes focus on memor

by Audric C

Oct 16, 2015

I expected much more information in videos. Instead of that, videos are very short and provide only few information and don't allow us to pass the exams at the end of each module. There are some link to websites where you can learn much more and which are not even written by the professor.

by Víctor H V V

Feb 24, 2016

The idea of having support with the videos does not work with this course. Also, the exams do not match at all with the information provided. The anwers to the exams are so relative or subjective, and that's a problem for those who does not domain English very well, just like me.

by Isabel O

Jan 18, 2018

While the course content was easy to understand and to follow, the quizzes were somehow odd.

I had the feeling they were more designed to make you fail (especially as a non native speaker) than to test if you worked through the course content.

by Alojzy G

Feb 03, 2016

A lot of reading material is unavailable (link does not work or it is behind paywall).

I also found the videos lacking. For example, there were 5 important tips and only one was given, before jumping at next topic.

by Evane G

Dec 21, 2015

There wasn't a lot of information inside the video and the test's questions hade multiple possible answer.

However, the links to ressources such as HarvardReview or Inc.com were pretty good and usefull.

by Shravan V

Jul 14, 2020

the course material, videos etc. were not really compelling - I found myself wandering off in between. I came away with some good information, but I've been left dissatisfied overall.

by Sana A

Sep 28, 2015

a nice "entry level" course lacking a forum discussion... was not even able to report some issue with videos and no explanation provided with quizzes results :/

by David T B R

Feb 13, 2019

Explanations were too wordy, lecture slides didn't not contain much of the information discussed and the presentation had very little visual reinforcement.

by ARUN S

May 26, 2020

this course is not fulfilled my expectation. Study material or PPT is not help me to learn. No big techniques are explained. Overall disappointment .

by Dee S

Aug 26, 2015

The value of this course is the collection of reading materials that can be found in the same place. The lectures don't add much to the course.

by Sam E

Aug 30, 2015

The material was well delivered but I found it distracting to go between the video lecture and the additional material.

by VIDA L F

Oct 24, 2016

Cheesy. If you mess up in your delivery, press the little button and start over! Needs some judicious editing.

by Haoming H

Jan 12, 2016

Brief, high-level ideas. Could use more specific examples.

by Natalia S

Sep 24, 2015

Tiny lectures and no readings from professional books

by Omodiaogbe S

May 08, 2016

I did not meet my expectations from the course

by Lester D

Mar 20, 2018

Some concepts are explained poorly.

by Hany I

Nov 07, 2016

thanks it just needs more time

by Edith S

Apr 11, 2016

I thought it was going to be good. Did the first week videos and Lectures. But I feel cheated because it will not let me take the quiz to move on without paying for the course. No where did I ever see anything that said ahead you had to pay -- if you didn't want a certificate or to do the whole specialization. Coursera used to be a platform I used and recommended. No more.

by ahmed h

Dec 27, 2015

Cannot believe UCI have just very short course, compared to san diegi/Duke/Virginia/Copnehagan who have courses worthing thousands of dollars for free as compared to this one. UCI have exception course in objective C which is worth the money to be paid, but this series, are extremely below the expected standard

by Laura S

Aug 14, 2015

It very short and brief. I was thinking it will also emphasise and help us to grow our communication skills for the 21st century communication, but it's just a brief explanation of some changes and nothing more.

by Ritika D R

Feb 08, 2016

Way too much reading material. Not enough video lectures/ explanations. The professor also needs to speak a little slower for people to follow.

by Yung T C

May 13, 2017

disappointed material, too much "information" and extension reading, spend too many time to digust and very few effeciency